We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tradition” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tradition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Little River Inn has been my annual birthday escape for over fifteen years. It has also been that "GO TO" place whenever a short break is required for mental health or emotional reajustment. This time we just went there because we wanted to, We always stay across the road from the main lodge one of the Van Damme units - big deck overlooking the ocean with whirlpool baths, king size beds, fireplace, flat screen TV, a book case filled with light reading...and, that seagull who always comes to visit and beg for food. Whatever the weather, rain, fog, wind or, more often than not, just plain beautiful sunshine and glorious sunsets. And then there is the bar with a view of the ocean and just plain wonderful people. We are so lucky to only have a three hour drive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    150
    29
    13
    4
See reviews for
98
451
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, grounds are pretty and clean!
Rooms nice, clean!
Dinner at the Inn Restaurant was delicious we had the lamb shank and had breakfast next day! Service was great! The bar had a wonderful view of the ocean! Bartender Sue was really friendly!! We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Californiabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

The old adage that pictures do not do it justice applies here. The hotel is not fancy but very comfortable. The room was clean and spacious enough for the family. The view from our room was absurdly picturesque. We arrived in the evening, grabbed a glass of wine from the bar and enjoyed the sunset. The bartender recommeded a couple of places to eat in Mendicino. We tried the Cafe. It was great. When we came back to the Inn around 10:30 PM, we sat on the veranda outside our room and stared at the millions of stars while listening to the surf crash below us.
In the morning, we ate in the dining room. The setting is stunning. It is surrounded by glass with a beautiful garden. The food was really good. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

For the price, our room's view was AMAZING!! We stayed in room 116 and our room overlooked the water. The only negative was that construction/caltran workers were working on the road directly in front of us until it got dark so we could not sit on the patio and enjoy the ocean sounds. The room was average but very outdated and old. Bathroom was very small and also old. we ordered room service for dinner and it was average but expensive. Overall, for the price, it was definitely worth it since the view was so great!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peehshinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My weekend getaway was just as I had hoped. Spring & Fall are my favorite times to visit the Northern California Coast (because of the summertime fog) and the people and facilities at Little River Inn know exactly how to make you feel appreciated, relaxed, and well fed! My facial with Laurie Hill was outstanding, shopping in nearby Mendocino was wonderful, and my dinner at the Little Inn Restaurant at a window table was heavenly. Traveling single this weekend, I felt safe and had an abundance of things to do and time to just relax on my deck.

Room Tip: My room had a fireplace and deck. Pet friendly rooms are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallady511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level Contributor
298 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Many of the nice hotels in this area are across Highway 1, so you don't know that you will have a view. Here, you select your room and ensure the view. Ours had 2 rocking chairs outside, so we could sit and enjoy the view, which was excellent. The room was large and comfortable with a gas log - at first we were bummed, but it warmed the room nicely and still provided that atmosphere. We enjoyed dinner at Ole's Whale Watch, the bar here, which has a better view than the restaurant, but all the same food. Great food, great view. If you need something to do, they have a spa, a golf course, tennis courts, a private trail down to Van Damme beach and even a selection of DVDs to play in your room. We saw "Same Time, Next Year," and mourned the passing of Heritage House. This place is a delight; quiet, comfortable and nicely located. If you don't want to eat at their place, go across the street to Wild Fish. Everything was classy, comfortable and well designed.

Room Tip: Go online and pick it that way based on what matters to you. We had unit 130 which was on the end an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Note that I say cottage - we paid extra to stay in the Van Damne South room #242 (across the road and down a little on the right - you'd want to drive from the hotel to your room) and what an amazing stay it was. Large bedrrom with sitting area, table with 2 chairs, fireplace, TV, small refrigerator and the most spectactular view imaginable. On the huge deck there were two rocking chairs and table along with a fantastic hot tub with 100% privacy for some romantic skimpy dipping - no one could see into your tub, relax and enjoy a glass of wine.....heaven.

Our bathroom was a little outdated but had a jacuzzi tub we didn't use, the room was clean although dated but absolutely fabulous - comfortable bed, great fireplace and windows that you could open to let in the sound of the ocean and the crisp breeze.....other than the faint ringing of a buoy bell, it was a quiet as can be.

This room was less than $100 additional from a standard - I saw the standard view and standard view fireplace rooms and they were'nt much to write home about, although the view was fantastic and each room had a patio or balcony with rocking chairs - so just depends on your budget and how much time you want to spend in your room relaxing!

The restaurant serves an amazing breakfast as well and the staff is SO friendly and accommodating, we can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room down by the cottages - we had the Van Damne, an end unit next to the free standing 2 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Pets2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.3 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
9.9 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.4 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Little River Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing