We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing get-away.”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Little River Inn has a wonderful staff, beautiful ocean view, nice 9-hole golf course, in-room service, cute restaurant, beach hiking - a recipe for a very relaxing break. The town of Mendocino is just a few minutes north for shopping, and Fort Bragg is about a 10-minute drive north for heading out to do some whale watching or wandering the piers. Perfect for our 2-day get-away to celebrate our anniversary!

Room Tip: Get a fireplace room in the winter -- it makes it very cosy when the fog rolls in.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHL V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Little River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 716 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have been going to The Little River Inn for the past 15 years for our anniversary and every year our visit is as good as the first. The service is outstanding from everyone that works there. The surroundings are beautiful, quiet and relaxing. The golf course is beautiful and the bar is a wonderful place to hang out in the evenings. Their bartendar Sue is spectacular and makes you feel like family from the moment you walk in. There is a lot to do nearby in Mendocino or Fort Bragg; shopping, hiking, walking the beach and wonderful restaurants. There is a local winery just past Fort Bragg called Pacific Star Winery which is a must stop for wine tasting. We love it at Little River so much, we have added additional weekends throughout the year since once a year just doesn't seem like it's enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our one-night stay here and wish we had another night. The room was clean and nice, with a comfortable bed and a fantastic ocean view. Sunday brunch at the restaurant was also very nice, with reasonable prices. Van Damme State Park is next door. Would definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tennistraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Old, in and of itself, is not equivalent to charm. This place just felt a little old, tired and musty. Bed was uncomfortable. Price on the high end for what it offers. We did have a nice view of the ocean, but room was laid out in such a way that it was hard to enjoy it. Next time, we would skip staying in Mendocino all together, as there were much nicer, quainter places in smaller towns along the coast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FlowerchildMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband Bill and I have just completed our second stay at Little River Inn. We're Arizona desert dwellers and head for the Pacific Coast periodically. Mendocino Coast never disappoints, and Little River Inn is a big part of that. Its rooms overlooking the ocean, its fine cuisine but informal atmosphere, its spa, its friendly staff all help guests to unwind and relax. Being so near the Mendocino headlands trails, the coastal wineries, and state parks (Van Damme, Navarro, Hendly), and having a nine hole golf course, the inn provides guests with lots of activities to enjoy, and after full, fun days - comfortable accommodations for restful sleep. Little River Inn does not lack for anything.

Room Tip: Can't beat the ocean side units!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been coming here on-an-off for over 30 years. Lovely remodeled rooms overlooking the ocean beach at Van Damme State Park. Sit on the porch rockers and view the waves! The restaurant is as good or better than anything else in Mendocino and is reasonably priced. The fresh seafood was excellent. The wine list is good, with nice selections by the glass. Good, friendly service. The only fault we found was a drop-off in the quality of their breakfasts. In former years the breakfasts were elegant and superb--better than anywhere else I have eaten. Over the past two years the breakfasts have fallen off in quality: no butter, minimal jam, great globs of eggs, oatmeal, ect. with no finesse. Too bad. We would still recommend this place highly for anyone visiting Mendocino.

Room Tip: Choose room 134, on top and at the end.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I loved this place the first time we stayed 2 years ago. I wanted to come back and am so glad that I did. I must warn that the rooms themselves are not all modern and such, but the ambiance makes up for it. We had a view of the ocean and could hear the waves crashing. The bed was cozy. The deck had Adirondack rocking chairs to watch the tide go in and out.

We had our dog with us and We got an entire bag just for her of towels, cookies, dog dish and such.

There is a bar and restaurant on location and room service could be ordered. The town of Mendocino is not far away. I want to come back again because there is just more to explore in the area and more to enjoy within the establishment itself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
628 reviews
10.9 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $195 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing