We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing this place already”
Review of Little River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little River Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Missing this place already”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived late one evening and ran into the restaurant where they were holding a table for us. Dinner was very good, I had oysters on the half shell with a small salad. That night we lit a fire and played cards in the comfortable room with ocean (or fog) view and porch. The next morning we pealed ourselves our of bed after a great sleep and sat watching the fog over the ocean. A little romantic place, just out of the way. Clean, comfortable and inviting. Get the room with a fireplace and deck to enjoy morning coffee. It was such a relaxing stay, just like hitting the reset button.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HB1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    159
    30
    13
    4
See reviews for
103
467
22
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed in the Ocean View Deluxe Room #268 at the Inn July 12, 2012 - July 13, 2012. The reviews I read were unanimous in saying that the rooms had awesome views of the ocean. I was not disappointed. It was really beautiful. We sat on the private porch area, drank wine, and simply relaxed breathing in the amazing ocean air. Initially we were greeted on the porch by a seagull. He stayed there for about an hour waiting for us to feed it. Don't let him intimidate you. Just don't feed it. Other reviews I read prior to our stay stated that the rooms weren't updated, so I was a. little concerned about their condition. However, I actually found the room to be extremely comfortable and spacious. Yes, the tiles in the bathroom were a little dated, but that didn't impede us from enjoying a warm jacuzzi bath before bed. The bathroom was spacious, clean, and the jacuzzi bath worked perfectly. Then we lit the fireplace. It created a warm and cozy ambiance as we ate our dinner which we ordered through room service. The gentleman who delivered our dinner was extremely friendly and accommodating. The only issue we had was that when we initially checked in we picked up a "sample" menu from the front desk and ordered the fish from that menu. However, the fish we received was prepared differently. It was still good, but not what we anticipated. So I think it's important to be aware of that "sample " menu. The bed was xtremely comfortable. Another nice feature of the Inn was that it has a path that leads right into Van Damme State Park. It was a beautiful morning hike/walk, well worth waking up early. Also, wanted to mention that my friend wanted to eat breakfast before our walk, so she ordered her breakfast from the room, and the front desk had it ready for us downstairs before our walk.. The ladies at the front desk were very helpfful answering all our questions. Definitely worth the money!

Room Tip: Room 268 had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biadrmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not sure what reviewer 777CA meant when they referred to the need for updates and modernization. Our bathroom was uber modern, as were the furnishings and decor. Yes it's an older hotel and from outside it doesn't look all that modern. But open the old door to your room and you'll see a very clean, modern, well furnished room with a million dollar view. My wife actually screamed with excitement when she walked in and saw the room and the view. We stayed in Unit 20 July 6 & 7 of 2012. We have no complaints. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the units in the south and south/middle of the property for the best views. The higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very clean updated room. Had a double queen so unfortunately there was a room above us. Beautiful view of the ocean. No road noise at all. Did not eat in the dining room, but had dinner in the whale watch bar...lvery satisfying.

Played golf, excellent course (greens in good shape at least).

As guests they gave us free golf rentals and my daughter got the junior rate ($10).

Would definitely come again but try and get a more private room.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor or one of the separate more private rooms as walls are a bit thin. Usually the cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadafoodiewannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milpitasca
Level 6 Contributor
495 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My sweet husband and I recently spent a week driving and dining around northern California, where we have lived for over 30 years. Needless to say, we have visited many beautiful places over and over. But, this was the first time we spent the extra money to stay in one of the luxury ocean front rooms across the street from the main inn. We rented the Alice Abbott room that had just been refurbished the week before our arrival. Our rocky ocean bluff view was spectacular. We had a private deck and hot tub to enjoy while viewing the 250 vacant, quiet acres of land between our room and the ocean. We could see and hear the sea birds on the huge rocks just off the coast. No road noise at all. We had all of our breakfasts and dinners delivered to our room from the inn. White table linens and a folding table set the stage for our own private dining. All of our meals were 4*'s and arrived hot and perfect per our order. We used the small refrigerator to chill wines from the wineries we had visited on our drive to the inn. The bed was very comfortable and a lovely place from which to watch the sun set. We hardly wanted to leave after 3 perfect, sunny days of romance!

Room Tip: Spring for one of the luxury, seaside rooms. Worth the extra dough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This place could be perfect, but it really needs updating. The carpets, the bathrooms, the bedding, the chair fabric, etc. all needs to be redone because they do not match the beauty of the place. That being said, we had a wonderful time. The food at the restaurant/bar is really very good. No reason to eat anywhere else, which is fun when you want to just relax and walk down for meals. Always ask for a view table. The breakfast was the best. Staff is attentive. The views from the decks are fantastic. Loved the wood burning fireplace. We hiked down to the beach. Took the family canoeing about 4 miles away up a beautiful river. Nice area of the country, but remote, quiet. So bring a good book and don't expect a lot of action. Restful.
But please, update this place! Call a good decorator and get it started.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 777CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been back several times and yes, the place does need a little updating but there is something about the Mendocino Coast that just feels right when you visit this little gem. It's almost always cloudy and the rooms with fireplaces, even in the dead of summer are welcoming. The restaurant always offers good food and if you want to be very casual, you can get bar food in the well stocked and fairly priced bar. The golf course is 9 holes and fun to play even if not terribly challenging.

Room Tip: go for the fireplace rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.4 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
620 reviews
10.0 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
622 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,146 reviews
1.9 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#5 of 25 in Mendocino
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Inn

Property: Little River Inn
Address: 7901 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic coastal resort with spectacular ocean views, scrumptious breakfasts and dinners in the garden-view dining room, lighter fare and libations in the popular Ole's Whale Watch Bar, golf course and tennis courts, inspirational meeting facilities, and pampering in the Day Spa. A tradition of family hospitality since 1939 will make you feel welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Little River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little River Hotel Little River
Little River Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing