We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Romantic Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage House Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Al
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Romantic Resort”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Like many people, our first experience with this place was the movie "Same Time Next Year". This is the most beautiful location for an Inn we have ever seen. The resort is in the middle of a major renovation, but we were in an already renovated room which was over the top beautiful. Again, one of the nicest rooms ever. The grounds of this resort are the most stunning you will ever find. Our deck overlooked the Pacific ocean with large crashing waves; just stunning. I would stay there again without a doubt. This resort is so incredibly romantic, it would be the ideal place for an anniversary or honeymoon. The only area in need of improvement was the restaurant. It has not been renovated yet and so the atmosphere is less than ideal. I suspect that will change soon. And the town has tons of incredible restaurants so you can find great food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    166
    50
    24
    26
See reviews for
54
454
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2014

There are views of the ocean everywhere. Close views not distant views. We had a bathtub overlooking the ocean. We had a fireplace. It's therapeutic just to be there. The food is outstanding. Walking around the grounds is gorgeous. There was construction going on while we were there, which was quite messy, but not enough to ruin the magic. This trip was in the summer but our first time there was mid-winter and we watched a huge rain storm with crashing waves outside our window and a warm fire in the fireplace. It was heaven even in the rain. Definitely going back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0elN0el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2014

This review is long overdue. I happened upon this gem of a hotel back in June and thoroughly enjoyed every facet of my stay. So much so, that I am returning this Friday for another four night stay. The experience starts with a beautiful drive north, up the majestic coast of the Pacific to Mendocino County. The hotel sits on a curve on Highway 1 in Little River and sprawls across multiple acres. The hotel is divided into several buildings, each of which has its own charm and personality. The building we stayed in features four individual suites which have been recently remodeled with all the amenities expected from a five-star property. The bed and couch in the living room were extremely comfortable, while the electric fireplace provided good heat, which we needed with the sliding-glass patio door open. The living-room area looks out over the patio to the shores of the Pacific, about two-hundred yards in front of the unit. The bathroom is a destination in itself, with a huge rainfall shower, double vanity, and another window that looks out over the Pacific. The patio/deck has a side-table, two patio lounge-chairs, and adequate privacy for relaxing while enjoying the views of the ocean. The staff at this property is wonderful, with personal attention paid to the patrons throughout the property. Upon check-in, you are taken to your room in whatever building you are staying in and shown all the features of the room. Very nice! I cannot recommend this property enough. The drive alone makes the trip worth your stay. The beauty and relaxation at the hotel are icing on the cake! Thank you Heritage House; looking forward to seeing you in a few days!

Room Tip: There are many different types of rooms to choose from. Explore their website and study the options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianDeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Stunning location, beautiful views, exquisite scenery. Comfortable rooms. Nice amenities. The service needs work. Nice staff, but they need to up their game, especially in the restaurant. Still, I'd go back in a minute.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank thumbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Beautiful grounds, beautiful room with wonderful views and a spacious balcony facing the cliffs and water, roomy bathroom and shower stall (great shower), very comfy bed and sitting chairs, nice gas fireplace. Very quiet and lovely. It has a private small beach down below (hence the beach nearby rating). The restaurant on the premises was quite good, with interesting and tasty food, great views, and friendly staff. We ate there 2 nights, and had a lighter dinner at the bar on the last night (also lovely, big chairs, fireplace, picture windows to watch the fog rolling in). It was very convenient, but we wouldn't have done it if food were not good. The front desk staff was great, and there for us 24/7. I would only mention that housekeeping removed our towels even though they were hanging (you know the little card to save water, etc), and didn't replace the hand towel or wash cloths. That didn't take from the beautiful experience though. The fact that they show "Same place, next year" on TV 24/7 (it was filmed there) was a nice touch. Would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was 43, and we were told it is one of their most popular ones. It sits on a corner with vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The location and the renovated rooms make this a good place to stay. The personal touch from the hotel manager make time at this resort an exceptional experience. My family has stayed in four different highly-rated Mendocino area hotels over the years as we visit the area often. Each hotel and B&B have their unique charm. You know immediately Heritage House is special when you stroll through the picture perfect headlands within the property itself (many other hotels require you to cross hwy 1 and take a short stroll before you stand against the coast). Our impression after our first night at Heritage House Resort was mixed. We were impressed with our room but service felt incomplete and unpolished. Our check-in experience seemed confused and the guided introduction to our room left us unsure if service at the ‘resort’ was up to par. Our impression about service was completely changed when the hotel manager, Jim, introduced himself at breakfast and proceeded to exceed all expectations through the rest of our stay. It’s not uncommon to receive a friendly greeting from senior hotel staff but it’s quite another thing to get a personal tour of the best rooms on the property. We learned that he recently joined the team and the rough-edges we originally experienced were being polished. We spent our last day in one of the special rooms we were introduced to. We woke up the next morning to a coastal view that you might have thought only existed on a choreographed postcard. Jim completed the missing piece of the puzzle with his personal hospitality. I felt like I was talking to an old friend welcoming us into his home. That’s a strange thing to say but once you learn of the vast experience he has in hospitality and service, it all made sense. I could not remember when I spent a more rewarding and relaxing vacation with the family in a very long time. This is our new favorite Northern California place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 has got to be one of the best, has a postcard view and great outdoor deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdLucero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014

The hotel and grounds are outstanding. The rooms are large with unbelievable views of the ocean from every one, even those high on the bluff. We booked through Expedia and the rates were completely reasonable. The rooms have all (we were told) been totally redone and they are beautiful and gracious. Ours (and I think most or all) had a private deck overlooking the grounds ad the Pacific. The rooms have a microwave, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and, best of all, a gas fireplace. Your are only about 10 minutes south of the hub-bub of Mendocino but feel like a million miles away. The bedding is excellent (though they said they do not have turn down service even though the in room booklet says they do).

But there is a lot of room for improvement. For such a high end hotel room, it is surprising that there was no water in the room (not necessary but would be gracious); no electrical outlets at desk height or on the bedside table or in the lamps (really, in recently renovated rooms in 2014?????), but plenty of outlets on the floor in front of the picture window which are useless; light bulbs that are insufficient for reading at night in the bed or on the sofa (but recessed ceiling lights that appear to have been placed before the furniture arrangement was designed so they don't light the sofa or the bed); a coffee maker installed over the microwave that is too high to fill with water and no outlets near any place where you might want to carry the coffee maker after unplugging it from where it sits (we finally used the small shelf space in the bathroom); automatic light switches that didn't turn on and off as they apparently are supposed to do; and a very posh shower area with controls that are impossibly far from where you need to be to adjust them; and the amenities in the room were not the high end products listed on the hotel webpage, were not replenished every day, and we had no soap at all when we arrived and had to call to ask for it. Overall, we had the impression that the renovations, though quite beautiful when you walk in to the room (truly so) were designed by an architect who never designed for a hotel before and apparently never traveled much him- or herself. The current management acknowledges how weird some aspects of the renovations were - apparently the result of changed ownership and changed and fired architects.

Having said that, however, the hotel is very comfortable (but do ask for bigger bulbs for your room if you read at night on anything other than a tablet or lighted Kindle) and do move the coffee pot to the bathroom for your morning in room coffee. If it weren't for the careless design features, which seem to be permanent, this would be a five star review. You will love the views, the grounds, and the feel -- if not the practicality -- of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
4.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
13.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Resort

Property: Heritage House Resort
Address: 5200 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations embody their surroundings as wonderfully as The Heritage House Resort. One of the most luxurious hotels in Northern California, and one of the rare properties located directly on the Mendocino coast, our unspoiled 37-acre sanctuary is a cliffside haven where the extraordinary happens every day. For nearly a century and a half, guests have come to our sheltered cove to encounter a setting so private, with views so dramatic and an ambiance so enchanting that mind and body achieve complete harmony. Following a meticulous five-year renovation, The Heritage House has re-emerged as the perfect blend of romantic seaside charm and contemporary sophistication. This is, quite simply, the Jewel of the Coast. We welcome you to slip away from the busy, everyday world and disappear into ours. From beautifully remodeled rooms with gas fireplaces, private oceanview decks and handcrafted Duxiana beds to locally sourced, farm-to-fork cuisine at 5200 Restaurant & Lounge, nothing stands between you and an unparalleled Pacific Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritage House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing