We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage House Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The newly remodeled and updated Heritage House is beautiful. Lovely colors, tasteful furnishings & décor, spacious modern bathrooms. Every amenity. After staying at this fabulous property for over 30 years, we were afraid the new owners might spoil it; but no, it is first class all the way.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoAnn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 683 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely place to break the drive south. Beautiful refurb - coast facing room with little deck - and great semi wet room bathroom - Pretty lush all round. My only (pretty tiny) carp was the thermostat was either over complicated or not working so had to sweat it out a little - but I'm sure there'll be a fix for that. Definitely check this out. Yummy risotto in the restaurant - attentive allergy aware staff - and beautiful surroundings. Pretty awesome place. Check it out. The room actually does look like the photos on the website - remarkable :-) Oh and good free wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pirtrosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Great place to unwind and listen to the waves. Beautiful modern renovation of the rooms, nice enough to just sit and enjoy a glass of wine in the room in front of your own private fireplace or on the deck. The little refrigerator was a nice bonus to store picnic items. Staff were very helpful and enjoyed talking to Jason.
We ate a late dinner here the first night and other nights enjoyed the Little River Inn bar, and Wild Fish the last night.
Had fun exploring Mendocino and Mackerricher State Park while there.
It can be foggy in the summer, and definitely on the cool side.
We got a good deal which was why we went and had a great time exploring a new area but it is a windey 3 hour drive from SFO so would consider that before going again.
Hope Heritage House continues on its way to become a great destination resort!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having stayed at the Heritage House during its glory days, then again when it had begun to fall into disrepair, I was eager to see what the new ownership has accomplished.
The good news (as evidenced by the top rating) is that the rooms have been updated and even improved. Ours had an oversized tub placed in front of a picture window overlooking a cove.
We took advantage of the mid-week rates and paid a very reasonable $240 a night. We did look at a larger room with a full ocean view that was $100 more, but liked the top floor privacy of the one we chose instead.
The check-in was effortless and the young, eager staff we dealt with unfailingly pleasant and efficient.
It's great to have the Heritage House back.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Exscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with our two children and their Grandma. Last minute getaway--they were very accommodating-- were surprised they had rooms. Our rooms had great views of the ocean. Staff was fantastic and very helpful. Drove Grandma around on a golf cart so she didn't have to walk too much. Restaurant was excellent. Only issue was that our room didn't seem completely finished yet (recent renovation after being closed for several years). Still, very nice visit. Would definitely return !

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Heritage House Resort has reopened and it is looking quite good. The renovated rooms are
lovely. We were in room 50 which overlooked a picturesque cove. We left the door open at night so we could hear the sounds of the ocean. We enjoyed the fireplace while sipping cocktails.
The bathroom is fantastic, it is quite large, with separate shower, double sinks, and a very large bathtub that looks out at the ocean. The minimum priced room is pretty small although nicely appointed. If you are on a budget and are staying in the smaller room you have the option of going up to the bar area which is very cozy and inviting with a large fireplace and great views. The staff is very helpful. Some of the rooms are still being renovated but we didn't feel as though we were put out by the construction. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food and service were very good. The movie "Same Time Next Year" was filmed at the Heritage House and they run it on the television on a on going basis. It was filmed quite a few years ago but has the Neil Simon humor which never gets dated. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 50 was wonderful. Any of the rooms closer to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveltattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

This property is located overlooking an exceptional section of ocean views. The room nicely appointed with modern furnishings and coordinated colors. Remember your camera and walk the property that exposes beautiful floral and ocean vistas. We visited the restaurant for dinner and totally enjoyed the selection and service. Katie was helpful with a nice choice of a Handley chardonnay paring our dinner selection. In the past we have enjoyed Little River Inn and Hill House Inn,its always nice to have change especially when it's positive change.

Room Tip: LA MAISON #16 was the choice for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tinker t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
13 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
638 reviews
4.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
640 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
499 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
456 reviews
15.3 mi away
Surf & Sand Lodge
Surf & Sand Lodge
#6 of 23 in Fort Bragg
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Resort

Address: 5200 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9509
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range: $158 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations embody their surroundings as wonderfully as The Heritage House Resort. One of the most luxurious hotels in Northern California, and one of the rare properties located directly on the Mendocino coast, our unspoiled 37-acre sanctuary is a cliffside haven where the extraordinary happens every day. For nearly a century and a half, guests have come to our sheltered cove to encounter a setting so private, with views so dramatic and an ambiance so enchanting that mind and body achieve complete harmony. Following a meticulous five-year renovation, The Heritage House has re-emerged as the perfect blend of romantic seaside charm and contemporary sophistication. This is, quite simply, the Jewel of the Coast. We welcome you to slip away from the busy, everyday world and disappear into ours. From beautifully remodeled rooms with gas fireplaces, private oceanview decks and handcrafted Duxiana beds to locally sourced, farm-to-fork cuisine at 5200 Restaurant & Lounge, nothing stands between you and an unparalleled Pacific Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Heritage House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing