We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage House stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage House Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Woodland, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heritage House stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We were finally able to get this one off our bucket list. Truly a magical place. Though renovation has not been completed, all employees were very friendly and accommodating. special cudos to Britney, the receptionist who greeted us and Andrew, the engineer who helped us with the TV. What really impressed us is the enthusiasm of all who work here. We will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beck530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    176
    59
    32
    30
See reviews for
61
476
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here after a 5+ year exile. Our room was excellent, great view, nicely appointed and clean. It was one of the rooms that was refurbished by the last owner, we did not stay in one of the newly refurbed rooms. They is a lot of activity fixing up the accommodations, they are doing a nice job and I think the property is only going to get better.

Really this is one of the nicest spots on the coast!

On the needs to get better list to get 5 stars:
1. The restaurant really needs to improve - this used to be a strong point of the resort but it is not anymore. Stevenswood up the road would be a better choice.
2. Service seems a little inconsistent - rack this up to still settling in at a newly opened resort.

Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Most all have great views, the Carousal rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Returning to Heritage House was like coming home, only better. The 35 plus acres of property are wonderful. I walked our dog all over and loved the scenery from high up to cliff side. Our room was beautiful with an all expansive view of the ocean. It felt like a true sumptuous vacation.
The hotel has a few glitches - but when it is fully open I expect all will be rectified. They may have rushed the opening just a tad.
The dinners were delicious thanks to the Master Chef on premises. The staff did their jobs well, with smiles and took time to be extra courteous.
We are returning mid-March as this will now be our 'go to place' in Mendocino. We look forward to many sojourns to the Heritage House. Loved the heated floor in the bathroom and the rain shower, plus the bed, plus the bamboo flooring plus plus plus.

Room Tip: From what I could tell - all the rooms have an ocean view and are lovely - it just depends on how fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have stayed at Carousal 5 many times over many years and were sorry to see the rustic area go. Wood stove, no TV.....NOW, it's all completely remodeled. Two TVs, coffee maker, frig, microwave, but the downhill side (to us very old people) was the fact that the toilet area had no door, the bathtub was in the direct center between two closets, the shower on one side and the toilet on the other, and, for privacy, two massive doors slid out of the walls to completely seal off the entire area. I(This may be good for young lovers but not too good for us oldsters)
BUT
We found a new facility....Vista 6. This huge "apartment" has a full kitchen, full frig,, 6-burner cooktop, TVs, 2 wood-burning fireplaces and a view that cannot be matched. The sunsets were beyond words...the ocean views went on forever, even from the jacuzzi tub. We nearly decided NO MORE, but whoa!!!! we were shown Vista 6, and NOW.....we look to the future.

Room Tip: Vista 6....the most expensive but certainly worth it. stay and then believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I used to stay at The Heritage House every year, sometimes twice or even a third time with our kids for Thanksgiving. Then it closed and our hearts sank. It reopened but never quite made it. My husband recently took me back for my birthday as we heard it had reopened once again. This is bar none the most beautiful property on earth! Gorgeous historic buildings set on a spectacular Pacific Ocean bluff with beautifully landscaped acreage. Yes, there are a few wrinkles that will need to be ironed out over time, but it was wonderful to return to our favorite romantic getaway. The staff were over-the-top accommodating, friendly, and helpful, especially Stephanie at the front desk. She assisted our kids in getting chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room in honor of my birthday. My daughter said she was amazing on the phone. We felt the same way each time we spoke with her. Our room was lovely, remodeled, with thick robes,
slippers, phone, and flat screen, which were never in rooms before. The bed was luxurious as well, with pillow top mattress the best pillows, and fine linens. We also ate dinner there the second night and loved the experience. I can only highly recommend this wonderful place! Welcome back Heritage House! We've missed you!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Recently spent three nights at the historic Heritage House, found the staff pleasantly welcoming and supportive in all hospitality functions.The restaurant menu is complete with many selections to cover all tastes. The breakfast welcomes each day with many choices for an early feed. The grounds offer beautiful areas above the ocean for strolling and feeling the essance of the moment. The unobstuctive views aound the resort are unique along this coast creating a unforgetable experience for who treasure peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Full view rooms are exceptional, large, great views. Higher floors have good views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This "new" version of a once-famous place is lame.

The buildings are cheaply done. The furniture looks and feel cheap. Cheap looking construction. The public spaces are barren, devoid of character. And, the place is eerie feeling. Wouldn't surprise us if the place closed before construction is completed.

Beware: no cell phone service. Room had no hangers.

Nearby Mendocino is a big zero as well. Shops selling a variety of junk no one would ever by, like stuff from the 1960's---trite hippie stuff.

We couldn't wait to leave. Wouldn't come back even if the hotel paid us.

Room Tip: Best to stay away; then, no choice needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpunkyLosAngeles_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne L, General Manager at Heritage House Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear SpunkyLosAngeles_CA,

Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience at the Heritage House Resort.

We appreciate all reviews submitted by our most valueable guests.

It was especially satisfying to see that our service was rated as high (4 stars) as was the location.

Furthermore, we would love to welcome you back when our renovations are complete late this year or early 2015

Sincerely,

Dwayne Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
4.5 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
4.6 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
623 reviews
12.1 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
619 reviews
2.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
707 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage House Resort

Property: Heritage House Resort
Address: 5200 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few destinations embody their surroundings as wonderfully as The Heritage House Resort. One of the most luxurious hotels in Northern California, and one of the rare properties located directly on the Mendocino coast, our unspoiled 37-acre sanctuary is a cliffside haven where the extraordinary happens every day. For nearly a century and a half, guests have come to our sheltered cove to encounter a setting so private, with views so dramatic and an ambiance so enchanting that mind and body achieve complete harmony. Following a meticulous five-year renovation, The Heritage House has re-emerged as the perfect blend of romantic seaside charm and contemporary sophistication. This is, quite simply, the Jewel of the Coast. We welcome you to slip away from the busy, everyday world and disappear into ours. From beautifully remodeled rooms with gas fireplaces, private oceanview decks and handcrafted Duxiana beds to locally sourced, farm-to-fork cuisine at 5200 Restaurant & Lounge, nothing stands between you and an unparalleled Pacific Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritage House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing