We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always worth a stop”

Little River Inn Dining Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Little River Inn Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Little River Airport Road
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“always worth a stop”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We always stop and have a great meal at the Little River Inn while traveling up the coast. Our first night, we sat at the bar, had great drinks, looked out at the view of Pacific Ocean and the beautiful cove that is at Little River. We met a wonderful couple from Redding and spent 1 hour chatting with them. We were late for our dinner reservation, but the restaurant didn't mind, as long as we kept them informed. A delightful meal with good service; that's what we expected!
Breakfast at the Little River Inn the next morning? Sure.. Good food along with good service.
This is how we like to start a trip up north, with everything being 'just perfect!'

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    115
    53
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK food, Poor service”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had dinner on a Thursday night after a long drive into town. The dining room wasn't completely full but was there was still a 10-15 minute wait for a table. We approached the host to put our name in for a table and were told someone would seat us after the group ahead of us- the host would not take our name. That group was seated and we waited to be called up. The host made some inappropriate comment along the lines of "don't stand back so far, I don't bite hard". (Um, eww?) He took our name and told us it would be a few minutes. We were seated at a table squished in the corner. It was very difficult for 3 of the people in our group to get to their chairs.

One person in our group left the table to wash her hands and the host returned to recite the specials. I had to ask him to return when she was there so she could hear the specials too.

The food was good. Their vegetable bisque was fantastic. Everyone enjoyed their meals, but it was only just ok. For $25+ per plate you expect a little more when it comes to food quality, and much more when it comes to customer service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank singandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Every table was filled with (mostly) happy diners.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

There was some kind of club gathering that distracted the staff. Regardless, our server made sure we were well taken care of. Well-tended plants out of every window except the bar overlooked the ocean.

We shared the delicious meatloaf special.....and it was special.

Be sure to make a reservation!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BelloSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, BAD service”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just there, 2 hours ago. Seated before dinner rush then Katrina gave us weak, absentminded service apart from basic food sales. The food isn't worth it. For what it's worth, I rarely comment if I don't like a restaurant but with it's rep and prices, Little River Inn has some obligation to meet expectations. I usually tip 20%, went 10% tonight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DryPADave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
549 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“A definite must try”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We ate an early dinner in the bar, where you can order from the bar menu or the dinner menu. The service was friendly and good, considering there was only one waitress and one bartender, and every table and seat was filled. Tuesday is “taco Tuesday” with Mexican specials. When we told our waitress we were from Arizona and our standards for Mexican cuisine were high, she brought us a bowl of chips, pico de gallo and habanero salsa to try, complimentary. We shared the Dungeness crab cakes, which my husband said was the best dish we had on a two-week vacation. They were about $13 for two, but when you live in Arizona and don't get good crabcakes . . . We also shared a burrito, filled with rice and carnitas served with rice, beans, pico de gallo, guacamole and sour cream. The burrito was large enough to share and was very good (though not as good as our local Mexican restaurant). She also brought us ANOTHER bowl of chips and pico de gallo. When a gentleman at the bar got a hamburger, it looked so good everyone craned their neck to get a peek. We returned the next night and had the fish and chips, which were very good as well. Little River Inn is a definite must try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little River Inn Dining Room also viewed

Little River, Mendocino County
Albion, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Little River Inn Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing