We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, don't try to hurry”
Review of Wild Fish

Wild Fish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 100% Local & Organic The culinary team at Wild Fish procure produce locally from farmers, fishermen & women and foragers - the fish is always wild and fresh. Everything is made from scratch and in house.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, don't try to hurry”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Fantastic fresh fish. This place is tiny, great location, and people eating take a LONG time. If you need to be in a hurry this place is not for you. If your okay with that, the enjoy a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jefderosa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    87
    31
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal of our visit to Mendocino!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had dinner at Wild Fish our last night in Mendocino and it was by far the best. Fabulous fish creatively prepared, a delightful setting and the owners are gracious and attentive. Could not recommend more highly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stillmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Two hours no food..”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

8pm reservation for four people, not ready for us, so we went for a drink across the road in the Little River Inn.
8-30pm sit down at our table. We order Wine and 4 mains. Nurse the wine.
9;30 pm after prompting 4 tiny little slices of bread appear.
10pm Get up and leave..No food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvin J, Owner at Wild Fish, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are terribly sorry that you had a disappointing evening at Wild Fish. We did make it clear on booking that it was a busy night and that we would "do our best to accommodate you".

We allow 2 hours per seating, in case a party order 3 courses. If a party orders just an entree, they still go in line after all the other tickets. The chef insists on it.

Unfortunately when your party left the restaurant 3 other parties arrived, and though we phoned the bar twice, no one picked up, so unfortunately your party did get behind others.

We made it clear when you returned that the entrees would be about an hour, which is exactly what happened. We do sometimes get bottlenecks, but we always communicate with our guests.

What we can guarantee is that each order gets undivided attention from the kitchen and the food is prepared individually to order with care, not taking any short cuts. We are sorry that you left just as your food came up so you did not have the opportunity to try our food. We had already given your party 2 vouchers which were left unused, so we do not know what more we could do. We sincerely apologized then and now for not meeting your expectations and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great, new area restaurant”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the first time we visited Wild Fish restaurant in Little River just south of Mendocino. It is a small restaurant located adjacent to the Little River Post Office with great service and wonderful food. We had salad, clam chowder, and the halibut and swordfish. We inquired about the recommendation of fish cooked "sushi" style and they gladly accommodated our request to have it cooked through. Wonderful host husband and wife team. Our only regret is that they were out of the salmon. The menu on their website is only a sample as they say so don't get your heart set on an item there as it may not be in season. Looks a bit "funky" on the outside, but nice, intimate, though a bit crowded inside. A great "date" place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JandR711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly Owners, AMAZING Fish”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had the halibut myself and my girlfriend at the bouillabaisse. They were very well seasoned and extremely fresh. We shared the raw bar spread for appetizers. The raw bar selection was perfect for two (well sized) at the price point. Great Anderson Valley wine selection. The cozy setting took the cake - as it only has 7-10 tables and overlooks the Pacific.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sirrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Fish also viewed

Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Albion, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
Little River, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wild Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing