We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful cottage, but chilly, and price quoted not honored”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage, but chilly, and price quoted not honored”
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We like the Andiron a good deal. We had stayed there once before, when it was the Pacific Mist Inn. We arrived with no reservation and looked at three different rooms, for which we were quoted the prices. We very much enjoyed staying in "Here," and were glad for the extra portable heater, which helped take some of the chill off. It was great to have a fireplace, but the wood was a bit too green to get a good fire going. We loved the hot tub (which had not been working on our previous visit). We understood that the office was not always manned, as very few cottages were occupied. However, we had wanted to discuss our bill with the management prior to leaving, as we had not realized until then that we were not charged the price quoted. Since no one was in the office, we emailed regarding the discrepancy. It was disappointing that the management declined to honor the price quoted and this, regrettably, will cause us to think twice about staying at the Andiron again, as much as we have enjoyed our two stays there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamRiddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foolstwist, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Hi there! We're really glad you were delighted with your cabin, and are so sorry about your disappointment with the price. There were indeed three different prices for the three different cabins you looked at - we checked and double checked and the price for your cabin was the lowest price for your room that we ever offer. I do understand that this response isn't satisfactory, but still hope you'll give us another chance. I've sent you an email invitation to do so!

There are just a few times in the middle of the week in the winter when our office isn't staffed - but not too often, so we hope to say hello in person next time! Until then, please accept our sincere apologies and best wishes too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Truly loved everything about this place... Very close to town, lots of privacy, and an excellent value! No ocean view, but that didn't bother us a bit...we had our own little deck, and we BBQ'd all our dinners, which was lovely. The decor was unique and fun, and we loved the fact that we could just take a little walk over to the main office and find board games, dvd's, and good conversation with the lovely owners. Will definitely return ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelseajanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
foolstwist, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Hey THANKS! We love your review and are so glad you had a swell time. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, la
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and I were on our honeymoon traveling though Northern California and were going to Mendocino for a few days. We weren't sure where to stay and luckily happened to find the newly renovated Andiron on the internet. We called and made a reservation and were so pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived. The hospitable owner greeted us with a happy hour filled with fondue, local spirits and a fire. He warmed our hearts with edibles and his story of how he came to own this gem. Each room is uniquely decorated with a meticulous eye for travel and vintage memorabilia. Interesting local bath products were also a nice touch. To top it off there is a secluded hot tub in the middle of the forest with a lit path. I couldn't pass it up. We stayed in the travelers cabin and I felt like it fit our personality to a tee. Can't say what the rest of the rooms look like, but there is no doubt they must be glorious. Wish we cold have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afolse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The one regret we had is that we couldn't stay longer to fully enjoy our cabin. We visited Ft. Bragg for a weekend wedding so activities were full-on from Friday thru Sunday when we had to leave. Most memorable was the fantastic "Toast" breakfasts in the office provided by the manager. The best breads ever for toast and jams and homemade applebutter, and the delicious fresh fruit - not the tasteless kind found in supermarkets, and coffee/tea/hot choc. Sad to say, we were not available to attend Happy Hour at 5 pm. We stayed in the "Play" room and would have loved to have had the time to enjoy playing all the different games provided. Our room was wonderful, cosy, romantic, had a comfortable bed and had everything we needed. We would LOVE to go there again - a bargain compared to other places to stay in the area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed in "Here" for our 56th wedding anniversary. Scott and Madeline knew this and had a bottle of wine with four glasses waiting for us when we arrived. Our friends stayed in "There" and brought us a bottle of Champaigne. And since it was a Saturday, there was wine and hors d'oeuvre up at the office. So we had a splendid beginning for our weekend. We were given more than enough choices where we could go for our anniversary dinner, Scott even printed out a map with the location and hours for Sunday morning church. Our place had glass doors that look out on the surroundings and we were far enough away so no one's noise could ever bother us. Anything you could wish for was found, even a microwave. Complete kitchen if you wanted to stay a week. We happened to leave something behind, but it was delivered to us the next week in Berkeley. Lovely restful place, and things to do abound. We went to the Botanical gardens nearby. Who could ask for anything more.
Thanks Scott and Madeline for a lovely weekend. Bob & Lolly Kelleher

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobnLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I recently surprised my boyfriend with a trip to the Mendocino area. Because we are both students, I wanted to find a place that would allow us to stay for only one night, which proved to be very difficult. I searched and searched, and came upon The Andiron which couldn't have been more perfect. It was exactly what I was looking for! Great location, great hospitality, great views, quiet, extremely comfortable bed, cute interior... When I first read about the "themed" rooms, to be honest, I was a little concerned it would be a little too "kitchy" for my taste. However, I found our room to be extremely tasteful and warm. I was very close to booking a room at the Mendocino Hotel, and after visiting it for lunch one afternoon, I was so glad I chose a more laid-back, natural environment for my taste.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracietiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I took the whole family for a getaway up in Mendocino and had the unbelievable luck of staying at this wonderful place. Scott & Madeline were so welcoming! I am already thinking about the next time I can make it up to stay there again. The clan stayed in two rooms - Curious & Curiouser. Very low - key, unpretentious, and relaxing!
* Loved their wine & cheese / appetizer "happy hour" - we got to know the other guests and chat with the proprietors.
* Centrally located, just a few minutes from downtown mendocino.
* Warm atmosphere, they even allow dogs (we brought our pom who got a complimentary care package w/ treats).
* Great that we had a kitchen to cook in which is a must for family traveling with small children (picky eaters).
* Amazing hot tub that is nicely lit.
* VERY comfortable beds / we liked their faux fireplaces.
* TV and FREE Classic movies.
They did everything RIGHT and should also be in the "hotel" category because they would be #1 there too.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Property: The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing