We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little cabins!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little cabins!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our road trip from Seattle to Las Vegas and it was great! The staff was super nice and the cabin was adorable. We stayed in the curious cabin which had the most comfortable bed, an awesome fireplace and a deck where we sat out and enjoyed some wine and the stars. They also have a wonderful hot tub in the woods. I would highly recommend it and will definitely be back for another stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a two week holiday, staying in around 5 different hotels/inns/b&b's but by far the Andiron was the best placed we stayed. Our room (read room) was beautifully presented, small but so cosy with a lovely wood burner which we definitely made the most of. It had a small kitchen where we could make our own dinners, had coffee beans to grind and small table to eat at. The owners have thought of everything to make this place as beautiful and warm as it is and they were so friendly and helpful. We read about the Andiron in the lonely planet and I would highly recommend people staying here. A short walk away is a private beach and a short drive away is Mendocino which has lovely shops, beautiful views and a good beach.

Before we left we explained that we wanted to go wine tasting and the owner gave us his personal recommendations but also some other winery's that he knew good things about. Just so helpful.


Well worth a night or two in this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in early September - booked because it looked fun and was a great location for our road-trip from San Francisco up to Seattle.

Definitely one of the best places we stayed. Beautiful location, lovely room.
Great base to visit the surrounding areas and Mendoccino.

Really nice vibe at the place, which was beautifully quiet and the proximity of the main road at the bottom wasn't a problem as some other reviewers may have suggested. We were visited each night by some beautiful Elk feeding in the evening sun.

Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family of 3 stayed in Read/ Write and ZOMG it was awesome. Super comfy beds, nice hot tub, fun decor ( and not that awful pseudo- victorian crap), sense of humor and quiet. We got food from the store and had a great breakfast when we wanted to! AND they left us with coffee beans to grind. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The rooms are nice, clean, host was very helpful and fun to talk to. The "toast and jam" breakfast was a great experience. The two goats on the property were fun for the kids to see.
However, the "meadow" the website mentions is just dead, dry closely mowed grass. But, a good place for the price.

Room Tip: This is just a down-home type place with no frills. But a good value for the money. Most rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The grounds were lovely, the rooms were nice, and accommodation was great for our dogs.
Just make sure you stay in a room that is furthest from the freeway, since a fast dog can easily run into the road since there are no fences to stop them.

We loved the deck and my husband said the whole unit was nice, novel, and relaxing! The staff is very thoughtful and proivded sheets so dogs can sleep on the bed. Wow.. the dogs were in heaven and we'd go back again. Only reason for not 5 stars is that it's less than 50 yards for most units to the busy road, and it's expensive. But this whole area is quite expensive so relatively speaking, it's reasonably priced. We rented both adjoining units since each unit has one bed only. It was about $560 for both units but my child was in HEAVEN!!! feeling independent having his own unit and a little t.v... he even became poetic in the "write" room, which was charming w/ a typewritter and a wall that is all chalkboard : )

In this area, it's very difficult to find a place where you can "walk" to anything. Andiron was similar, you cannot walk to anything but you can do a small hike, almost a 1/4 mile hike up a road in the back where homes are nestled in the forest.. was really interesting to see people living in such remote areas!

My dogs, small and relatively not that fast, and listens to us somewhat... were able to go leash free and it was really nice to have that freedom.. so if yours are like this.. this place would be 5 stars for you!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway if you have a pet.. read and write rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValueSeekingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross Ca.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very clean and comfortable cabins. The prices were just fine compared to all of the other Inns in this heavenly traveled area. On can cook in some of the cabins.the check in process was easy and efficient. Nice stay on the way home to Pt. Reyes.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JdogRossCa.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
634 reviews
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
708 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Property: The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing