We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Santa Fe NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible Hosts”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

After reading the reviews on The Andiron, I thought this place may be a bit too quirky for my husband and I. Rooms get scarce on the Mendocino coast on weekends so I grabbed the cabin " PLAY" , while I could. Talk about adorable, with the classic games stacked all over the room chalkboard wall and word game wallpaper. I need to know where the sheets came from they were sooooo soft and comfortable. My only disappointment was the gum machine filled with puzzle pieces and lil toys was not working (I left my quarter behind).. Happy hour was on the house with wine beer fondue and local tasty mustard . Fun conversation with the other guests and the doggies. Would like to have stayed longer and will return. Thanks Scott and Madeline!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonitagranville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here in early September and encountered near perfect weather to compliment our experience at The Andiron. In case you haven't read about this place yet, each of their 11 rooms has a different theme. We stayed in a 1 bedroom with the "Make" theme which was outfitted with retro craft supplies, paints, catalogs, etc. Guests are encouraged to make art projects (according to their information packet), and supposedly the wall is paint by number which you are encouraged to add to. Our room was clean, cozy, and looked well-maintained. There were 2 chairs out on the deck as well as a charcoal bbq. It was incredibly peaceful to sit outside and listen to the breeze rustle through the leaves on the surrounding trees. There is an outdoor hot tub "in the woods" with a lighted path for night use - brilliant. You can also borrow board games and movies from the office - they have a huge selection. On Saturday, we enjoyed complimentary local beers, wine, and delicious homemade sangria during their happy hour. They also made quesadillas on this particular day. The owners, Scott and Madeline, are very personable, hospitable, and made our stay very memorable. We actually ran into them at a local restaurant while getting dinner during our stay, and they went out of their way to ensure that the staff got us seated quickly. Who are these people??!! To round out our experience, there were 2 cute greyhounds (Cotton and Scout) in the office/ bar and 2 goats (Peanut Butter and Jelly) that you can pet outside! This is the kind of place you stay at and have fond memories of for years to come.

Room Tip: Check out their website for descriptions and pictures of the rooms (it also tells you which rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Looking for a place near Mendocino to get away without spending a bundle? The Andiron fits the bill, with its tastefully decorated cabins each with a different theme. Like to travel? Try Cabin 4, aka "There" - it's appointed with maps, travel books, a 3D Viewmaster and slides, a glowing globe and travel-related games. Other cabins have similar themed decor, most of it either from yard sales or Urban Ore in Berkeley, a great place to pick up values.
The hosts Scott and Madeleine clearly enjoyed what they had going on at the Andiron, and their enjoyment was infectious. A 5 pm Happy Hour with Anderson Valley wines and Fort Bragg beers helped cut the ice among guests, and a morning toast and coffee bar helped round out the experience. Price is not cheap but not pricey, but the human experience is... priceless.

The only drawback is that it's not for everybody; if you're looking for luxury and a pampered experience, this isn't it. But the rest of us (the 99%) can enjoy the Andiron for what it is.

Room Tip: The grassy hill landscape isn't too inspiring, and the views of the Pacific somewhat distant, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesktopAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely devistated to find what we did on arriving at Andiron and only having booked one night!! We absolutely loved our Cabins ("Here" for us and "There" for the kids) and could have happily stayed for a week or more. Scott and Madeleine were wonderful, warm and welcoming hosts, and are building a beautiful peaceful place to retreat to. Plenty to do and explore in the area and this the most perfect base to do so from. Will definitely be back......

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirgrumpymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Traveling with kids often feels like a choice between what you want (character, charm and romantic potential), what they want (activities, games, TV) and what you both want (a wall in between you). The Andiron is that rarest of experiences: a totally fun, family-friendly place to stay that you would also be thrilled to stay in without the kids.

We spent two nights at the Andiron in July 2012, staying in the William & Mildred Suite. (Full disclosure: we discovered the Andiron because we know Madeleine, one of the owners, from a couple of conferences we'd attended together.) It was a fantastic stay -- here's why:

ROOM

I was worried that "hip" might be a euphemism for not-very-modern...but our room was modern in all the ways I care about (read: very nice, stone-tiled bathrooms with new fixtures).

We stayed in 3 different suites over the course of a two-week vacation, and the Andiron's suite was by far the most comfortable, charming and family-friendly place we stayed -- way better set up than the two big-city suites we stayed in elsewhere. (Unlike those other suites, the Andiron thoughtfully had the sofa-bed open and made-up for our kids.)

The suite has two rooms:
1) Living/dining: Features a large dining table and chairs, sofa-bed, fireplace, an en suite bath with jacuzzi tub, and a very functional kitchenette (virtually a full kitchen -- fridge/freezer, sink, burners, microwave).
2) Bedroom: Beautiful bed right under a picture window, seating area with 2 chairs + fireplace, en suite bath with lovely tiled shower.

In addition, our cabin had a full-width deck with bbq and adirondack chairs.

Best of all! The suite is located immediately next to the hot tub, so in most cases you could leave your kids in the room (with a baby monitor or walkie talkies) and have a hot tub after bedtime. Yippee!!

LODGE/ACTIVITIES

If you've read other Andiron reviews, you know that what makes weekends special are the happy hours (drinks! quesadillas! best of all, super interesting people to meet and chat with!) and the morning toast bar (key highlight: lemon buttery spread stuff. yum.)

That may not sound like kid stuff but....did we mention the lodge has an epic collection of vintage board games? Our kids were so busy trying out Sorry, Operation and Careers that they didn't watch a single one of the hundreds of DVDs the Andiron had available, including lots of kid-friendly choices.

And...goats! What kid doesn't like goats?

LOCATION

In case you're wondering, Little River is very close to Mendocino...less than a 10-minute drive. We popped back into Mendocino to pick up dinner on our first night, and on the second night, found all the makings of a great meal in the very nearby (2-min drive) store, which had a remarkable variety of gourmet options and prepared meals for a small town store. Great wine/liquor selection, too.

Mendocino itself is the most charming small town I've seen on the west coast. So many very sweet old houses and shops! We spent a lovely morning tide pooling just north of Mendocino, and an afternoon strolling through town. Awesome.

...all of which adds up to a great family weekend.

But I'll be honest. After hearing about all the other non-suite rooms at the Andiron, I'm dying to go back *without* the kids so we work our way through the other rooms, too!

Visited July 27-29, 2012.

Room Tip: William & Mildred Suite is perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank awsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great themed cabins on the coast. Our cabin was the write cabin and was festooned with literary props. The cabin had a deck with cut flowers put out and we enjoyed sitting in the sun on the deck. Great value in a unique setting. If you go say hello to peanut butter and jelly the goats by the office

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My sister and I were sending our parent's to this place for their 60th wedding anniversary for a few well derserved day's away. The problem was first, they never let me know about any cancelation fee's if you cancel. They charged us $50.00. They said that even if you call 5 minutes after you make the reservations if cancelled they will not return the full amount to your card, they will charge you $50.00.

For reason's that I would not like to post we had to cancel these reservation's and until we received the credit card statement in which it showed that this company returned all but $50.00. When I called they stated that this was in the reservation notice that they sent online. However when we look at the documents that they emailed there was nothing stating this.

I would never reccomend this place to anyone, EVER.

Room Tip: Never ever stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Laurar1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hi there - We're so sorry your folks can't make their trip here. We're certain they would have enjoyed it.

Running a small business is a challenge, it's true. When we booked the cabin for your family, we sent all the cancellation info to your sister. We then took the cabin off the books and stopped marketing it. When you cancelled, we had to put it back up and try to sell it. It's not easy! That's why we have cancellation fees - to discourage booking a cabin you're not going to use.

Tell you what though: we're going to do two things. First, we'll credit you half the cancellation fee off the bat. Second, we'll do our best to sell the cabin you had booked. If we can, we'll refund all your money. I'm hoping we can.

Oh, and of course anyone can cancel same day without any fees or problems! Saying otherwise...that's just silly.

Best wishes on your future travel.

Scott and Madeline
Owners/Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
3.9 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
11.5 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#3 of 23 in Fort Bragg
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins

Property: The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins
Address: 6051 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9510
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andiron is 11 one- and two-room cabins perfectly situated on five acres of meadow and woods on Highway 1 in Little River, California. Minutes away from everything - beaches, wineries, diving, hikes, Mendocino, breweries, good food - but quiet, relaxing, and fun, our housekeeping cabins and rooms are each entirely unique and reflect our love of everything vintage, salvage, rehabbed, and recycled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn And Cabins
The Andiron -- Seaside Inn & Cabins Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing