We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience, exactly as advertised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayak Mendocino

Kayak Mendocino
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unique experience, exactly as advertised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Steve provided the kayak, wetsuit, jacket, water shoes, life vest, guidance to fascinating places, and answers for all the questions we threw at him. The feelings can't be described of paddling through the kelp beds, through sea caves with pulsing swell, and close to the lounging harbor seals. We literally picked up a starfish, a sunfish star, and a large (dead) jelly. Steve picked a little of his favorite kelp and passed it around for tasting. Strangely, no one was as fond of it as he was. Even those of us in the grandparent generation didn't get worn out from paddling. Kayak Mendocino earned their fee, and Steve earned his tip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    7
    2
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family has kayaked before, but are definitely not experienced. This was a great opportunity to kayak the ocean without very many waves. Our 9 yr old was a little overwhelmed in the caves, but loved the blow hole and the harbor seals. There were great views of star fish, muscles, and kelp. Would highly recommend as a family excursion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best $50 Spent Recently”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great experience. Craig is a laid back guide, patient with novice kayakers and very knowledgeable. Scenery and wildlife beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHAMBEAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great fun,
Van Damme beach is sheltered so no huge waves. They supply you with all the gear. Just turn up with swim wear : you will get splashed a little and wet if you choose to go close to the blow hole...which is a laugh.
Loads of sea life to be seen including up close to the seals.
All in all a great couple of hours fun for everyone, even if you are not a kayak type person.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Do not miss this experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a great way to explore the coast and and be up close to nature. My wife and I both felt this was one of the best vacation things to do we have ever done. Our guide Steve was very friendly, funny, knowledgeable and patient. Kayak Mendocino provides everything you need and Steve gave us a quick five minute or so lesson on balance and paddling forward and backwards which was really all we needed to know. The caves were filled with starfish and sea urchins which I didn't see the first time through because I was worried about conquering the swell that seamed to be battling my kayak's progress. My wife however was very quick to inform me that I missed out on some really cool stuff so I'd better look down next time through, which I did btw. Paddling along the shoreline gave you a great view of the rock formations as well as the wildlife. The birds and harbor seals were great to sea up close and in their natural habitat. On the way back we were able to watch a seal that had submerged and come up with an octopus for a meal. As it shook it above the surface and proceeded to eat, we all slowed our kayaks and just watched, knowing that it's not everyday you could actually see such an event. Really cool. We are looking for opportunities to do this at home and will definitely put this on our things to do again list when back in the area. The charge was only $50 per and very worth the hour and a half experience. Definitely a must and a great operation to do it with.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdshro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayak Mendocino also viewed

Fort Bragg, Mendocino County
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 
Mendocino, Mendocino County
 

Been to Kayak Mendocino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing