We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded Beuty and Splendor at Glendeven Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Ranked #1 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
TravelManSF
1 review
“Secluded Beuty and Splendor at Glendeven Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

From the time we arrived until we left our experience was great. Breakfast brought to your room in a old fashioned picnic basket and all the food was hot , and well wrapped in ramikins-excellent food and fresh juice each mornning!
The property was well gromed and maintained and the hosts were gracious and informitive regarding the region. Incredible room The Bay Loft with stunning Ocean Views and a great fireplace.
Highly recomend!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank TravelManSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
517
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had not considered Mendocino as our wedding destination until we found Glendeven Inn on purpleroofs.com. However, once we spoke with John at Glendeven, everything began to fall sweetly into place. Neither of us can ever recall a more beautiful week. From the fabulous staff, the simply scrumptious homemade dishes for breakfast, (delivered every morning to our room), always lovely wine and cheese tastings every evening, enjoying the beautifully landscaped grounds, and soaking up the history of the Inn - to mingling with the llamas and feeding the chicks, the entire experience is now our benchmark for our future travels. We thank John and his staff again for really the most perfect week of our lives.

Kim and Cheryl
Tulsa, Oklahoma

  • Liked — every single thing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank golfgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

My husband and I were taking a two day trip after a long time and we wanted this trip to be very special. We drove by Glendeven Inn and just had to stop to admire the beautiful building and the garden area. We stayed for one night and enjoyed every second of it.
The staff were great, the breakfast was amazingly delicious. Our room was magnificant. We enjoyed the hiking trail just across the road and spent sometime by the ocean.
We highly recommand Glendeven Inn and can't wait to get up there again. Oh by the way there are Llumas and chickens that one can enjoy watching as well. We absolutely LOVED IT.

  • Liked — Our room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jananeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prague
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Hello,
we, a family of four, spent 2 nights in Sept.2008 in Little River and had booked Pinewood and East Farmington rooms.

Pinewood is the most spacious room I have ever had in any B&B in the US and also East Farmington was quite large as well. Everything was super and we enjoyed staying there much.

Glendeven thought of everything to make our stay very comfortable and I could experience a very tranquile atmosphere, just what one needs in these busy times. I admired the well-kept garden, surrounding the Glendeven houses and it added a lot to the beauty of this place.

We loved the breakfast and it was delight to look forward to the next day.
This is the first B&B that I honestly like to recommend and also to return to again. It was great!

HS from Europe

  • Liked — the spacious rooms
  • Disliked — can't thing of any
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malasarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

The Glendeven Inn is the PERFECT getaway. You feel absolutely pampered, yet have the freedom of feeling as if the house is yours. John and all of the staff are the perfect hosts. The llamas are a fun addition to the property and give moments of enjoyment in watching their antics. My husband and I love the top room( the Garrett). The views are beautiful and we feel like we are tucked away in our own little world. The Inn is perfectly located for taking day hikes, kayaking and going into Mendocino to stroll around. The breakfasts are spectacular and are the perfect start to your day at the Glendeven. My husband and I like to get deli meals some nights after being out kayaking all day, and John keeps a microwave and fridge for guests to use so you don't have to go out for dinner if you choose to stay in. The living room always has great cookies for dessert or a little snack. The Glendeven is definitley a must stay. It's elegant without being stuffy.

  • Liked — Elegant but comfortable and not at all stuffy
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceankayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2008

We stayed at the Glendeven Inn for two nights and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Briar Rose room and it was lovely with a wood burning fireplace and a view of the ocean. It is set in a back building and was very quiet. It was a large comfortable room and we enjoyed a cocktail in the evening looking out at the ocean. The breakfast was delicious and it was pleasant having it in the room while reading the paper. We met John and he was very friendly and showed us his new wine bar area and reception which looks lovely. We loved feeding the chickens and watching the llamas. It is a very unique property and we have stayed in many different inns along the Mendocino coast. We had to leave very early on Friday morning and they left a light breakfast in the refrigerator downstairs for us. Ashley and Ann were both friendly and helpful. I am sure we will plan another trip to Mendocino and stay at Glendeven.
Barbara & Jim O'Neill
Petaluma, CA

  • Liked — Large comfortable room with a view.
  • Disliked — No coffee maker in the room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingle Springs, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at Glendeven Inn last weekend. We were in the Garret room which is on the top floor. It was very cozy. We had a view of the ocean out of the dormer windows. The grounds are beautiful, it faces the ocean as well. Watching the llamas in their yard was fun. We loved having breakfast brought to our room, it made us feel very catered to. The staff were all very helpful. There was a fireplace in the main room downstairs that had a fire all ready to be lit, so of course I did. We loved the atmosphere of the Inn. We will definitely return one day.

  • Liked — Cozy, friendly, good location
  • Disliked — Would have liked breakfast and coffee earlier, we are early risers
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.0 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendeven Inn Mendocino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Property: Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Address: 8205 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9518
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn Mendocino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This stylish inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glendeven Inn Mendocino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing