We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Elegant B&B outside of Mendicino, CA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Ranked #1 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Napa, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Elegant B&B outside of Mendicino, CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

A very quaint and elegant Inn 3-miles south of Medocino, California with luxury accommodations. Probably 12 rooms spread through 3 buildings. We stayed in Etta's Suite across from the main Inn. Two rooms with fireplace and drawing room. Nicely furnished. Great view of the Pacific wild northern coast and a field of llamas. Nice sheets and quilt although a double bed to fit. Small bathroom with shower. Wine and canapés at 5:30 PM. Large downstairs Great Room shared by the 3-rooms in our building. Very nice organic breakfast included. We would certainly return the Glendeven Inn and we heartily recommend this Inn as a great place to stay when you visit the Mendocino Coast.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Etta's Suite building we stayed at seemed quieter and possibly nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRouatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
514
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California, USA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This "barn" and "old house" have style and class- not your normal B & B. Every detail has been thought through including food, decor, layout and common areas and service. There are unique looking chickens, llamas, gardens and even a curated book for sale table. Breakfast is gourmet and ample. Wine hour is accompanied with a lovely appetizer (ours was a tomato bisque soup.). We were there on a Tuesday when they don't serve dinner but I hear its not to be missed. We will be back.

We stayed in the Garret room which was more affordable. It is the third floor overlooking the llamas with a peek-a-boo view if the rocks, water and coast. In addition to a queen bed, it had two sitting chairs and a dresser. We thought it was plenty big for a night or two and really appreciated the views.

John, the proprietor, was very helpful and exceeds expectations in terms of service and attention to detail. I recommend this Inn highly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi-ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We can only speak for our room which was the carrage house (it is upstairs over their gallery). A beautiful room maintained as a "tight ship." Shower was elegantly designed, the furnishings are outstanding, the TV completely functional, the electronically operated fireplace great and easy, the bed very comfortable, the parking easy, the breakfast delivered to the room, and the entire grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Everying was exceptional.

Room Tip: if you can get our room it was great.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank owenandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed in Glendeven Inn this summer when we were travelling from Seattle to San Francisco and it was the best place that we stayed during this trip. All staff is very professionell, the room (the garrett) in the top of the main building was gorgeous with view on the sea and the entire grounds are beautiful.
The owner, John, recommended us two amazing trails; one in the nearby national park and one at the coast line. If it is up to us, we will certainly come again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Böhnli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the weekend, along with my sister and brother-in-law and we all enjoyed our stay immensely! We really enjoyed the Bay Loft, with the magnificant view of the ocean, the wood burning fireplace. The Eastlin room had a charming "secret" bookcase door. We enjoyed our delicious breakfasts brought to us each morning. The grounds are beautiful, so many plants and flowers to enjoy. We had fun feeding the chickens with the little bags of feed left in our rooms. Can't say enough about this beautiful inn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Bay Loft room was absolutely gorgeous, with a sloped ceiling, a picture window looking at the ocean, a fireplace, a super-soft bed. Breakfast was delivered hot to our room in a picnic basket -- the egg dish was delicious. The grounds were beautiful -- we loved watching the llamas. We partook of the exceptional farm-to-table fixed-price dinner. Best of all was the service provided by the owner, John, who chatted with us about our experience and even gave us a ride down the road. (We were hiking "inn to inn," and had a few transportation snafus, but John was there to help us out!) I would definitely recommend the Glendeven Inn and look forward to a future visit myself!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3OccasionalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The owners of this property do an excellent job of making your stay wonderful! They bring a warm breakfast to your room. The rooms are spacious and the beds quiet comfortable. The property is fabulous. You can feed the chickens -- some of which are quite unusual and beautiful, you can walk the grounds covered with flowers, you can sit and watch the ocean, you can purchase wine, cheese, and salami, you can pet the llamas, and you can just relax and feel very well taken care of!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbeverage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.0 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
10.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendeven Inn Mendocino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Property: Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Address: 8205 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9518
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn Mendocino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This stylish inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Glendeven Inn Mendocino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing