We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over the top service and amenities.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Ranked #1 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Over the top service and amenities.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We hadn't booked our one night stay in Mendocino until we arrived, wanting to check places out personally. We were referred by another Inn and were really impressed with the Glendeven operation. Upon arriving on a weekday, innkeeper John took the time to show us the room options, something we usually never experience at other inns. I casually mentioned it was our wedding anniversary. Not expecting anything, we were surprised and impressed when a little time later a staff person arrived at our room with a complimentary bottle of champagne. There is a fireplace in the rooms, already prepped to light (matches provided of course). My wife thought the sheets were THE MOST comfortable. "Like sleeping on a cloud." You really get all the little extras at Glendeven from excellent wine tastings after you arrive to gourmet breakfast in your room. One of their multiple buildings is a gathering room where complimentary homemade baked goods and coffee is available a any time. The main building boasts fine artwork for sale on the wall. Wine, olive oil and local honey are all available. We will refer our friends to Glendeven and when we're in the Mendocino area again, will plan on staying there. Glendeven's attention to detail and cleaniness is impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveshapson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
40
514
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Fran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The entire Glendeven experience is exceptional. From the entire charming staff to the private, cozy suites to the location right next to one of the best parks on the North Coast -- there is just no where around that can beat it!

We've been coming to Glendeven for a couple of years, first to celebrate our engagement, then for a brief mini-moon, and this year for our anniversary. Every time the reception, owners, and other crew make us feel incredibly welcome. But my favorite part has to be breakfast delivered to your room in a picnic basket!

Could not recommend Glendeven more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caryht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent a lovely two nights in the Pinewood Room at Glendeven--a perfect setting for our visit to Mendocino. The location was convenient to town, the rivers and ocean, Van Damme State Park, and all the other coastal scenic areas.
The 3-course breakfast delivered to our room was delicious, nutritious, and very impressive with its organic egg dishes, out-of-this-world scones, fresh fruit, fresh squeezed organic orange juice, and two pots of coffee (decaf and regular). The grounds were beautifully maintained and full of flowers, and the llamas were a unique attraction. The wine bar and always available cookies and beverages were welcoming and tasty, as well.
Next time we plan to stay when the farm dinner is available, as we expect it to be as amazing as the other offerings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scavall0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestville, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Descriptions really can’t do justice to this property, it encompasses so many delightful aspects that one needs to experience them firsthand. Not far south of Mendocino Village, located across Hwy. 1 from the ocean (and next door to scenic Van Damme State Park) Glendeven Inn’s 8 bucolic acres contain llama pastures (home to 6 llamas), organic gardens filled with veggies and ornamental plantings, 50 or so chickens in coops as well as free ranging, 2 sociable cats, and 11 very individualistic lodging accommodations ranging from comfortable country-style rooms to luxurious suites to a 2 floor/3 bedroom vacation rental. The varied accommodations are housed in 3 distinctive buildings: the Barn (which also contains the reception area, lounge, art gallery, wine tasting bar and wine shop), the circa 1867 Farmhouse, and the contemporary but attractively rustic looking Stevenscroft building.

The amenities provided at Glendeven entice you to stay for multiple days (altho’ we had only one to spend): Wine tastings with wonderful house-made appetizers, 3 kinds of cookies including a biscotti (delicious--I ate far too many), 24 hr. coffee and tea, evening sherry, 3-course breakfast delivered to your room, 4-course dinner available by reservation on Wed., Thurs. and Sat. (alas, we stayed on a Mon. night), spa services by reservation, kitchenettes (which included a sink, microwave, full-size refrigerator with icemaker, and complimentary bottled water) located in both the Farmhouse and the Stevenscroft buildings, guest computer and printer, and trail access into Van Damme State Park (take the Fern Canyon Trail) as well as ocean bluff and beach trails.

We arrived about an hour after the specified 3 p.m. check-in time (per written instructions, no early check-in is allowed and late checkouts are strictly verboten). A parking space with a sign having my name on it was a welcoming gesture! The check-in process was smooth, friendly and efficient and we felt well taken care of by the Inn’s staff from that point on.

Our room was the Bay View, a corner room on the 2nd floor of the Farmhouse building. It provided a very comfortable space with wall-to-wall carpet and a nice floorplan that included a sitting room with woodburning fireplace and a separate area with a Queen bed. I loved having six openable windows that provided light, airiness and wonderful views out to the llama pasture, rustic buildings, a colorful bed of “Naked Ladies” (Belladonna Lilies) and the deep blue ocean beyond. Our long balcony with wooden chairs provided us with the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine and savor sunset as well as sunrise!

There was a personal “welcome note” in our room, as well as brownies, a vase of pretty flowers and a little linen pouch of chicken feed--sweet touch! In-room amenities also included: Wine glasses, Wi-fi, iPod dock/CD player/clock radio, and a hairdryer. There was no separate closet and the armoire was a tight space with (2) bathrobes, iron/ironing board, ice bucket and even an emergency fire escape ladder packed into it--not much room was left for hanging clothes. Only one luggage rack was provided, but there was a bureau chest with 3 drawers.

Furniture was good quality with several antique pieces. There was a slip-covered loveseat, 2 armchairs, an occasional table and a small coffee table in the sitting area. A little table and 2 chairs were situated in the area between the sitting room and bedroom. Our Queen bed had a feather topper and altho’ it didn’t look or feel terribly comfortable, it passed the true test with flying colors--no sore back the next morning!

Room decor was done in neutral/natural hues, mostly beiges, white and wood accents. The artwork was an eclectic mix with a number of attractive, bright abstracts.

We enjoyed having the fireplace going in the evening and first thing in the morning, and plenty of wood and kindling were provided on the wide, tiled hearth. The fire started with little effort. There was a wall thermostat with baseboard heater, but we didn’t need to make any temperature adjustments as the room remained comfortable.

Lighting fixtures consisted of a floor lamp, table lamp and ceiling light in the sitting area. There was enough illumination for me to read at night. Wall sconces on both sides of the bed and a small lamp on the bureau provided adequate lighting in the bedroom area--altho’ not quite bright enough to read in bed. Electrical outlets were limited in number, but at least they were accessible.

Our bath had a good size shower with tiled surround, but no tub. Temperature control was fine and the water flow adequate. The shower had 2 wall-mounted soap dispensers, but since they weren’t labeled, I was left wondering if one might have been shampoo and the other body wash. An additional towel rack would have been welcomed. Counterspace was quite limited--just the area around the sink (which had a small circumference but was nice and deep). The toilet required multiple flushes every time--the one negative about our room. Bathroom lighting was OK, but I would have liked something a bit brighter. The ventilation was good with an openable window and a ceiling vent with fan.

Throughout our stay it was blissfully quiet with nary a sound heard from other rooms. Perfect.

One needs to be on a leisurely schedule--or no schedule at all--to thoroughly enjoy the Glendeven experience. Altho’ the newspaper arrived at 7:30 a.m. and coffee was always available in the common room downstairs, it must be said that the 9 a.m. delivery of breakfast encouraged a late stay in bed. Breakfast arrived at the designated time and was a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach: Freshly squeezed OJ, melons in honey lime syrup, creamy yogurt with honey and toasted almonds, and baked eggs (courtesy of the resident hens) with a generous piece of sliced ham tucked into the individual casseroles. In retrospect I should have thought to ask if the egg dish contained meat since I’m not a carnivore--but fortunately, I was able to gently pull the ham out of the eggs.

As much as we liked our room, walking thru Glendeven’s pastures and gardens was a true delight. We photographed the 6 resident llamas from every vantage point as they calmly observed us. We dispensed with 3 little pouches of chicken feed--enthusiastically received by the flocks of energetic hens!

We greatly enjoyed our time at Glendeven and wished that we could have stayed at least a second night. The property is so beautiful and calming that one could simply sit or walk, taking in the picturesque views and be perfectly content for days. But I also would have loved to have had dinner there and to have done more wine tasting--and purchasing. They have a good selection of Mendocino County wines as well as other local products. I came home with a jar of La Mar’s Mendocino Nori Sea Salt and a bottle of 2007 Rivino Sedulous Red Blend. They will be savored, along with my experience at Glendeven Inn!

Room Tip: Ask questions if you have any preferences since each room/suite has its own unique characteristics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forestvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Glendeven for a short stay, 3 of the last 4 years. Each time we stay we notice new ammenities and additions to the property. We also have stayed in a different room each time, and each room has had its perfect qualities.
The breakfasts continue to be amazing. delicious, nutritious.
The beds are better than mine at home (sigh) and wonderfully comfortable.
The room with fireplaces are also a strong attractions, for the cool nights and cool monrings.
john is the best inn-keeper , and he and his staff are very hospital and friendly.

The grounds are beautifully kept- with gorgeous blooms and manicured yards.
I highly recommend this Inn- for even just a night---

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gadecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

You can't miss with this lovely inn in Mendocino just steps from wonderful shoreline and redwood walks. Inkeepers John and Mike have created a wonderful retreat - visit the llamas and chickens while you are there or check out the beautiful flower and vegetable gardens. The wine bar[n] was a perfect place to relax after the day. We found the room appointments and amenities to be immaculate and super comfortable. You'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in Mendocino.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The services was perfect. Unobtrusive, but immediately helpful. We received great reccomnendations for restarurants and activities. Lovely wine bar which sells by the bottle to take with you to your room or to enjoy on the stunning grounds replete with chicken coops, flower gardens, vegetable garden and of course the llamas. John and his staff were welcoming and let us know the entire property was at our disposal with no area of the grounds off limits. Nice touches like a pouch of chicken feed in the room and amazing in-room breakfast with everything gourmet and fresh. You are able to walk out the back of the property through a gorgeous trail which leads into Van Damme State Park where you can hike along a small river on the fern trail and visit the pygmy forest. My only regret is that we didn't have more time to spend at the Inn. WIll defintely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.0 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
2.0 mi away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
10.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#4 of 22 in Fort Bragg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 24 in Mendocino
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendeven Inn Mendocino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendeven Inn Mendocino

Property: Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Address: 8205 N Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456-9518
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glendeven Inn Mendocino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'One of the 10 best inns in America'. This stylish inn with its blend of fine antiques and contemporary art, offers wood burning fireplaces, ocean views, full in-room gourmet breakfasts, private baths, secluded patios & decks, featherbeds, plush robes, a wine and hors deouvres hour, and free-Wi-Fi. Glendeven is a Select Registry inn built on a serene eight-acre farmstead around an 1867 country estate situated on a headland meadow with grazing llamas, just minutes south of historic Mendocino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Glendeven Inn Mendocino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendeven Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing