We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #3 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Didn't know what to expect, but we were very happy once we got there. The cottages are in excellent condition, clean, and updated. Location is just perfect. Close enough to drive to Mendocino, but far enough not to have to deal with traffic and people. Our room had a great view of the cove as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_MinoCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We just got back from our stay at Cottages at Little River. The grounds are very well maintained and very charming. This is the perfect place if you are traveling with your dog or with children--very family oriented, but it would also be nice for anyone looking for a relaxing get-away to the Mendocino area. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sactotraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I had a great weekend stay @ the Albion Cottage here. Great little property...perfectly located near Van Damme state park. Comfortable room with a full kitchen and fireplace, fantastic view of the ocean and the Cove. Our friends were camping at Van Damme and we could easily walk down to join them. The property has an outdoor fire pit and BBQ which we will take advantage of in the future. They can arrange for meals and massages if you want them. Great Place...we're coming back for sure.

Room Tip: Casper room has the hot tub....all rooms have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We came up for an extended weekend over Presidents' Day and really enjoyed our visit. It's not a cottage like you would expect -- it's bigger and roomier and cozier, but I can't think of a better word for it either. The views over-looking the courtyard park and the ocean were incredible, and we spent a lot of time in the adirondack chairs just relaxing and slowing down. We don't have kids or a dog, but this would be a great place to bring both, I imagine. The staff was super-friendly and accommodating, and we really enjoyed our breakfast at the nearby restaurant -- amazing weekend. Conde Nast was right about this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is part of a continuing series of my impressions and experiences staying at various hotels and resorts while traveling to attend concerts worldwide. This stay was during my recent trip to Mendocino in October 2013. This review is for Cottages at Little River Cover in Little River, California.

Property: Cottages at Little River Cove
Location: Little River, California (near Mendocino)
Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone: (707) 937-5339
Website: www.cottagesatlittlerivercove.com
Room Type/Class: Jenner Cottage
Date: October 22 - October 24, 2013
Booking Source: Direct
Overall Rating: 4.5/5 [Note: Score is totally subjective based on price, location, and comparison to "like" properties within same area and price range]

I love the coastal area of Northern California, near Mendocino, and Cottages at Little River Cove is my favorite place to stay (with a big benefit being that they are dog friendly/pet friendly).

It is especially great for those who travel with their dogs, as each of the cottages are detached/free standing, and there is a lot of space around the property to walk your dog.

Each of the nine cottages are a bit different (with a lot of character) and a few of them are two stories.

I have stayed here many times over the years, and I keep coming back, so that probably says it all.

With this most recent two night stay, I shared the Jenner Cottage with my parents and my medium-sized dog. As it only features one bed, I slept on the pull out sofa bed, which was unfortunately extremely uncomfortable. It was not much better than you might expect soft cardboard on top of springs. We did talk with management about this the following day, and to their credit they did replace the fold out mattress, but that was not better. Sleeping directly on the couch itself was actually more comfortable. But just be aware if you plan to double up that the couch bed is not comfortable at all - an air mattress would probably be better.

Other than that, it was another really nice stay.

Each cottage features a full kitchen with pretty much everything you might need to stay in and cook for yourself.

The adjacent sister property, Little River Inn, has a bar and nice restaurant, and they also provide room service to Cottages at Little River Cove.

Each property features decking looking out at the ocean, and there are nice common area amenities as well.

It is certainly a unique property, and I have enjoyed coming here for many years.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rock-Subculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a cottage just before Christmas with our 2 kids ages 7 & 9. The cottage was new and well-maintained with a well-stocked kitchen and gorgeous views. The fireplace was cozy and we got the cottage with the outdoor hot tub which was awesome (though no views from the hot tub). The kids loved the free movie rental offered by the front office and they were happy on the pull out couch. During the day we walked the cliffs in Mendocino, hiked around the lighthouse, visited the Botanical gardens, went out for breakfast with views, and went wine tasting in Anderson Valley. We watched the sun set over the Pacific ocean, and the outdoor fire pit was usually going at this hour. I was slightly concerned that there would be a pet smell in the cottage since they are dog friendly but there was zero smell and it was nice getting to know the dogs in the other cottages.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjhawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in Dillon Cottage last weekend. Being the weekend before Christmas it was very quiet and we were the only guests on Friday night! By Saturday two or three other cottages were occupied. The views are awesome, every cottage has an ocean view. The one drawback to Dillon is no tv in the bedroom. Other than that, we had not one complaint. It was very clean and super comfy. Bed was great and there is a pullout couch in the living room. Nice full kitchen, including coffee and cream, which was a nice touch. Our little pug loved the place and they are very dog friendly, even providing a nice bed for him and water and food bowls. The huge lawn in the center of the cottages is perfect for dogs. We had trouble lighting the outdoor fireplace but once my husband read the directions it started right up! there is a laminated direction sheet that is a must have to get it going, its a bit tricky but it does work once you figure it out. The sunsets were amazing and the ocean view was so pretty. One tip for the owners, cut that rosemary hedge around the fireplace! it does obstruct the view a bit from the chairs out there when sitting down! We highly recommend eating directly across the street at Wild Fish. Yum. Also breakfast next door at Little River Inn is super good. One final note, there is NO cell phone reception whatsoever at this place. Wifi works great but no phone calls or texting until you get into Mendocino...Great place to unwind and enjoy the view! looking forward to visiting again in the summer.

Room Tip: The cottages are in a U shape...We loved Dillon, its second from the end and has a nice view. All co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#4 of 7 in Little River
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
618 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 7 in Little River
172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 7 in Little River
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Property: Cottages at Little River Cove
Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing