We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dog Friendly Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #4 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is part of a continuing series of my impressions and experiences staying at various hotels and resorts while traveling to attend concerts worldwide. This stay was during my recent trip to Mendocino in October 2013. This review is for Cottages at Little River Cover in Little River, California.

Property: Cottages at Little River Cove
Location: Little River, California (near Mendocino)
Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone: (707) 937-5339
Website: www.cottagesatlittlerivercove.com
Room Type/Class: Jenner Cottage
Date: October 22 - October 24, 2013
Booking Source: Direct
Overall Rating: 4.5/5 [Note: Score is totally subjective based on price, location, and comparison to "like" properties within same area and price range]

I love the coastal area of Northern California, near Mendocino, and Cottages at Little River Cove is my favorite place to stay (with a big benefit being that they are dog friendly/pet friendly).

It is especially great for those who travel with their dogs, as each of the cottages are detached/free standing, and there is a lot of space around the property to walk your dog.

Each of the nine cottages are a bit different (with a lot of character) and a few of them are two stories.

I have stayed here many times over the years, and I keep coming back, so that probably says it all.

With this most recent two night stay, I shared the Jenner Cottage with my parents and my medium-sized dog. As it only features one bed, I slept on the pull out sofa bed, which was unfortunately extremely uncomfortable. It was not much better than you might expect soft cardboard on top of springs. We did talk with management about this the following day, and to their credit they did replace the fold out mattress, but that was not better. Sleeping directly on the couch itself was actually more comfortable. But just be aware if you plan to double up that the couch bed is not comfortable at all - an air mattress would probably be better.

Other than that, it was another really nice stay.

Each cottage features a full kitchen with pretty much everything you might need to stay in and cook for yourself.

The adjacent sister property, Little River Inn, has a bar and nice restaurant, and they also provide room service to Cottages at Little River Cove.

Each property features decking looking out at the ocean, and there are nice common area amenities as well.

It is certainly a unique property, and I have enjoyed coming here for many years.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rock-Subculture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 257 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a cottage just before Christmas with our 2 kids ages 7 & 9. The cottage was new and well-maintained with a well-stocked kitchen and gorgeous views. The fireplace was cozy and we got the cottage with the outdoor hot tub which was awesome (though no views from the hot tub). The kids loved the free movie rental offered by the front office and they were happy on the pull out couch. During the day we walked the cliffs in Mendocino, hiked around the lighthouse, visited the Botanical gardens, went out for breakfast with views, and went wine tasting in Anderson Valley. We watched the sun set over the Pacific ocean, and the outdoor fire pit was usually going at this hour. I was slightly concerned that there would be a pet smell in the cottage since they are dog friendly but there was zero smell and it was nice getting to know the dogs in the other cottages.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcjhawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in Dillon Cottage last weekend. Being the weekend before Christmas it was very quiet and we were the only guests on Friday night! By Saturday two or three other cottages were occupied. The views are awesome, every cottage has an ocean view. The one drawback to Dillon is no tv in the bedroom. Other than that, we had not one complaint. It was very clean and super comfy. Bed was great and there is a pullout couch in the living room. Nice full kitchen, including coffee and cream, which was a nice touch. Our little pug loved the place and they are very dog friendly, even providing a nice bed for him and water and food bowls. The huge lawn in the center of the cottages is perfect for dogs. We had trouble lighting the outdoor fireplace but once my husband read the directions it started right up! there is a laminated direction sheet that is a must have to get it going, its a bit tricky but it does work once you figure it out. The sunsets were amazing and the ocean view was so pretty. One tip for the owners, cut that rosemary hedge around the fireplace! it does obstruct the view a bit from the chairs out there when sitting down! We highly recommend eating directly across the street at Wild Fish. Yum. Also breakfast next door at Little River Inn is super good. One final note, there is NO cell phone reception whatsoever at this place. Wifi works great but no phone calls or texting until you get into Mendocino...Great place to unwind and enjoy the view! looking forward to visiting again in the summer.

Room Tip: The cottages are in a U shape...We loved Dillon, its second from the end and has a nice view. All co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kobesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The vew from the cottages is great. For the price this place should use fitted sheets on the beds. There was a sloppy sheet across the mattress that was so small it could not even be tucked under. The outside fire is gas which is nice except that it did not work. I was told that someone would get it started and come get me. This never happened. If you have to leave early in the morning, be careful, all of the steps are not lit. The sloppiness mentioned here is unacceptabe for the prices that they charge. A Motel 6 provides fitted sheets!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laraingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We travel with another couple every Thanksgiving and this year selected Mendocino. We each had our own little cottage. The property has about 8 cottages total. Each re a bit different. Ours was called the Humboldt. It had an adequate bathroom, smallish but fine bedroom and nice open, spacious living room/kitchen/dining area. They feel "rustic"…each heated by thermostat controlled fireplace. And the view of the Pacific Ocean was amazing from our front porch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recently my daughter and I found a great get away at Cottages. What a great way to get away and relax. My daughter is gong through some medical problems and we wanted to go somewhere to just relax and this was the perfect place. We stayed in the Mendicino and it was perfect. The viee fro the cottage was awesome and the furnishings were beautifully decorated and clean. The best part was the full kitchen as she really didn't want to go out much. We did go to the Inn at Schoolhouse Inn for Breakfast at Circa 62 and the was a food lovers delight. Home made saugage, muffins and a real treat, has brown waffle. The staff at the Cottages were great and treated us like family. It was just what we needed and we certainly will be back.

Room Tip: All the cottages have a great view, it all depends on how many people are sharing the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

These cottages are colorful, modern and comfortable. Not on the ocean, but our second floor cottage (Ignacio) had a nice view. It was unusal to have a nice place for our dog to do her business and nice to have a room that wasn't a smoking room in a hotel. We went for walks, relaxed by the fire, wandered around Mendocino and had a great, relaxing time. The dog bed, the frisbee were fun. And Annie especially recommends the doggie treats. It was interesting for her to see the dog in the cottage across from us, but she didn't bark. And the staff was very nice and helpful with suggestions about where to go. We will be back (Annie wants more treats).

Room Tip: Choose a second floor cottage so you can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
0.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
298 reviews
2 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,182 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range: $126 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing