We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quaint and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #4 of 7 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“quaint and comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in Dillon Cottage last weekend. Being the weekend before Christmas it was very quiet and we were the only guests on Friday night! By Saturday two or three other cottages were occupied. The views are awesome, every cottage has an ocean view. The one drawback to Dillon is no tv in the bedroom. Other than that, we had not one complaint. It was very clean and super comfy. Bed was great and there is a pullout couch in the living room. Nice full kitchen, including coffee and cream, which was a nice touch. Our little pug loved the place and they are very dog friendly, even providing a nice bed for him and water and food bowls. The huge lawn in the center of the cottages is perfect for dogs. We had trouble lighting the outdoor fireplace but once my husband read the directions it started right up! there is a laminated direction sheet that is a must have to get it going, its a bit tricky but it does work once you figure it out. The sunsets were amazing and the ocean view was so pretty. One tip for the owners, cut that rosemary hedge around the fireplace! it does obstruct the view a bit from the chairs out there when sitting down! We highly recommend eating directly across the street at Wild Fish. Yum. Also breakfast next door at Little River Inn is super good. One final note, there is NO cell phone reception whatsoever at this place. Wifi works great but no phone calls or texting until you get into Mendocino...Great place to unwind and enjoy the view! looking forward to visiting again in the summer.

Room Tip: The cottages are in a U shape...We loved Dillon, its second from the end and has a nice view. All co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
125
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laraingles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The vew from the cottages is great. For the price this place should use fitted sheets on the beds. There was a sloppy sheet across the mattress that was so small it could not even be tucked under. The outside fire is gas which is nice except that it did not work. I was told that someone would get it started and come get me. This never happened. If you have to leave early in the morning, be careful, all of the steps are not lit. The sloppiness mentioned here is unacceptabe for the prices that they charge. A Motel 6 provides fitted sheets!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laraingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We travel with another couple every Thanksgiving and this year selected Mendocino. We each had our own little cottage. The property has about 8 cottages total. Each re a bit different. Ours was called the Humboldt. It had an adequate bathroom, smallish but fine bedroom and nice open, spacious living room/kitchen/dining area. They feel "rustic"…each heated by thermostat controlled fireplace. And the view of the Pacific Ocean was amazing from our front porch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Recently my daughter and I found a great get away at Cottages. What a great way to get away and relax. My daughter is gong through some medical problems and we wanted to go somewhere to just relax and this was the perfect place. We stayed in the Mendicino and it was perfect. The viee fro the cottage was awesome and the furnishings were beautifully decorated and clean. The best part was the full kitchen as she really didn't want to go out much. We did go to the Inn at Schoolhouse Inn for Breakfast at Circa 62 and the was a food lovers delight. Home made saugage, muffins and a real treat, has brown waffle. The staff at the Cottages were great and treated us like family. It was just what we needed and we certainly will be back.

Room Tip: All the cottages have a great view, it all depends on how many people are sharing the cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

These cottages are colorful, modern and comfortable. Not on the ocean, but our second floor cottage (Ignacio) had a nice view. It was unusal to have a nice place for our dog to do her business and nice to have a room that wasn't a smoking room in a hotel. We went for walks, relaxed by the fire, wandered around Mendocino and had a great, relaxing time. The dog bed, the frisbee were fun. And Annie especially recommends the doggie treats. It was interesting for her to see the dog in the cottage across from us, but she didn't bark. And the staff was very nice and helpful with suggestions about where to go. We will be back (Annie wants more treats).

Room Tip: Choose a second floor cottage so you can see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Had a beautiful weekend!! The moment I arrived i was soothed by all the natural beauty around me. The service was outstanding, thank you Toby and Kyra!!! The cottage was charming, the view from the living room was spectacular. The nearby binoculars were a plus. The fireplace was very nice, kept us toasty. The bathroom is spacious, loved the bin shelves to put my things. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the amenities of your kitchen plus some. The place was clean and ready when we got there, received excellent care by all the staff. Oh and loved the room service, the steamer clams are delicious!! Got great recommendations from Toby and Kyra on where to eat and visit. A wonderful way to spend my birthday!! My favorite was sitting on the back porch off the bedroom listening to the ocean and a far off bell blowing in the breeze..I will definitely be coming back to Little River Cove

Room Tip: Elk has a fantastic view of the ocean and trees. outside cottages have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been fortunate enough to travel widely and stay at some of the finest Inns that this country has to offer, but the Cottages at Little River Cove is, without a doubt, our new favorite, and we will be back soon.

Everything about our stay was incredibly wonderful, from the spectacular property itself, which encompasses beautiful grounds and gardens with an outrageous ocean view, to the very clean, comfortable contemporary cottages with...yes!...the same ocean views, to the friendly and ultra accommodating staff. Nothing could have been done better. It was absolutely perfect.

Our cottage, the Mendocino, sits near the top of the property, but we did explore the grounds quite thoroughly, and the views from every cottage is equally breathtaking as the waves roll into the cove at Little River.

The cottage was very clean and extremely well maintained. No expense has been spared in outfitting and furnishing the cottages. Everything was in perfect working order, and everything we needed was already in our cottage when we arrived, from extra blankets to specific kitchen utensils. The gas fireplace was a breeze to set and forget, coming on at the temperature we specified. It was such a treat to cozy up to the fire in the evenings while enjoying the panorama of fantastic sunsets.

We did not travel with our pup on this trip, but when you hear that this establishment is Dog Friendly, believe it! In fact, while having breakfast at this establishment's sister property, The Inn at Schoolhouse Creek, (that experience should have its own review, since the breakfast we had at Circa-62, the on site restaurant at the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek was a true gastronomic delight, only better...it was beyond fabulous) we even saw a couple eating at a table on the deck of the restaurant with their very well behaved dog laying quietly at their feet. The pet owners were all very mindful to ensure that their pets were quiet and there were no pet messes evident at any time.

There are several activities, galleries, walks and hikes nearby to check out. There are excellent restaurants very close, and the staff at the Cottages are more than willing to make any kind of reservations that you may need, from dinner, to kayaking, horseback riding, to dog sitting.

Tobie was very patient and kind from when I first called to inquire about the area, through booking, and throughout our stay. We really appreciated the time he spent making us reservations for dinner, suggesting outings close by, and responding immediately when we requested extra towels (seriously, we used 8 or more towels a day between showers, the beach, whatever) and marshmallow roasting sticks to take down to the beach with us. He really went above and beyond, and I'm really not the easiest person to deal with. Thank you.

We can't begin to scratch the surface at the delights that await you there, so please, give yourself a real treat and check it out for yourselves. We are SO glad we did.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wheremysauconytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
10.2 mi away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#1 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Property: Cottages at Little River Cove
Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing