We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottages at Little River Cove
Nearby Hotels
Little River Inn(Little River)
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage House Resort(Little River)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Buckhorn Cove(Little River)(Great Value!)
$146
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mendocino Inn & Spa(Little River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
215
31
8
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
215
31
8
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfull kitchenelk cottagefire pitliving roompoop bagsbbq areakitchen utensilsocean viewtwo storylawn areadog friendly cottagemendocino coastget awayshort drivea great place to staysister property
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 261 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this place as an alternative to our usual VRBO rental on the Mendocino coast. It was myself and my two kids, along with my friend and her daughter. We rented the Little River cottage, which was supposed to be equipped with "all the amenities" we would need on our stay.
Oh. My. God.
The cottage needed renovating - about 10 years ago. Now it is shabby, musty, insect infected and filthy. The paint is peeling from the walls in the bathroom. The kitchen counter is literally a few pieces of formica that have been glued into place...with NOWHERE to cook. There are no bedrooms - it's a "main room" concept with beds built into the walls. The beds are old mattresses that left all of us in pain by the end of the second night. By the end of the week, we needed Motrin just to walk in the morning. There were bugs in the sheets - I think they were either ants or spiders. I think.
The spa on the deck had GREEN water in it when we checked in. When we brought this to the attention of the office manager, she said that they "checked the spa levels each day" and assured us it was fine. The kids got in and they had bumps all over them!! The spa had yellow and orange foam floating in it that is definitely NOT normal. The kids didn't get in again.

Location is lovely, and the grill was a nice addition to the week to avoid cooking in the ridiculously small kitchen. For the price, skip it. Book a VRBO for the same (or a little more) and get a clean, lovely stay in somewhere you're not afraid of getting Hepatitis from the spa.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KilaProperties, Owner at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank-you for taking the time to write about the Little River Cottage, we always appreciate feedback from our guests!
Dear future guests, we let some time pass before responding to this review because we have been trying to reach the reviewer personally. We are confused by the dichotomy of this review and our personal interactions with the guest. Another reason for the delay was the review of the very next guest to stay at Little River Cottage. It would seem that it illustrates the old adage “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.”
The moment our guest questioned the condition of the hot tub our engineer responded immediately and re-tested the water. Finding the condition of the water to be clear and sanitary our Innkeeper spoke with the guest and all was fine.
A note about Little River Cottage; built in the 30’s the cottage is a very unique structure with a great-room floor plan and built in beds – the renovations we began early this year have been a lot of fun to do, but they have been primarily of the “white cotton underwear” kind – basic, important but mostly out of sight. We are very excited about getting into the design and acquisition of the cottages’ new, upgraded décor, fixtures, cabinets and furniture.
We’re sorry this guest had such a wildly different experience with us than what our guests are accustomed and we appreciate the feedback as it will only make us better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The cottages are very clean, and the staff is super nice. We stayed in the Caspar cottage, which was a dog friendly cottage. You would never know that dogs had been there before. No smell or hair anywhere! We had two small dogs with us, and they provided a dog bed, dog towels and two doggie bowls. Very sweet!! They had a very low pet fee of $25/night. Our cottage also had a lovely view, and we booked it because it also had a spa on the back deck. The spa was meticulously clean, and nice and hot. What a great way to end a long day of hiking with the dogs! There were a few negatives about the place to be aware of: 1) This is a family friendly place, which is normally not a negative. But, there were 5 kids staying in the cabin next to ours, and their parents let them run around and scream like wild creatures for hours on the shared lawn next to all the cottages. Not very relaxing for the rest of us. I'm not sure how much the owners/managers could do about this... maybe ask them to tone it down a bit? 2) The spa in the Caspar cottage has a loose jet, which tumbles around and makes a bit of racket. Since it is right outside the sliding glass door next to your bed, it can be annoying. We let management know, and hopefully, it will get fixed. 3) There was a bit of mold around the shower area, which I smelled when entering the bathroom - it took me a while to find it, because it had been painted over. This should probably be remediated to rid the bathroom of the mildew smell. Thankfully, it was not overwhelming, and we shut the bathroom door.

They also provide a booster for your cell phone so you can get service and have a wi-fi service that worked great. They have a small selection of movies for you to borrow, and books to read. These were very nice touches that added a little extra to make your stay more comfortable. Very much appreciated.

This is a great place to stay, and we would go back. Little River is a very quiet place, and after the kids went to bed, it was so relaxing... to hear the ocean and the buoy bells, with the fog rolling in over the ocean.

Room Tip: Caspar cottage has a private spa and an ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlgrl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

My amazing daughter treated me to a weekend at the Mendocino art
s fair & we stayed in the Elk cottage. So nicely appointed with a lovely ocean view and full kitchen. The grounds were awash with lavender & lush plants. Our stay was filled with artistic inspiration & staying in this beautiful setting made it extra special. More than 5 stars!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plockh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Two of us just stayed here for 3 nights --- lots of space, outstanding wireless connectivity, and within walking distance of a great trail to the blowhole behind the cemetery. The kitchen had all of the tools to prepare a real meal, and any used the barbecue facilities. Also, we had a wonderful view of the trees and the ocean.
Every time we asked for something, they were immediately responsive.

Room Tip: We were in the Gualala, and it had a particularly good view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sewkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in the Gualala cottage which was perfect for us! I'm so glad I ran across the Cottages at Little River when searching for a place to stay. We have two small children and it was just right for us! The cottages have all the amenities, VERY CLEAN which I really appreciated, and such a great alternative to being cooped up in a hotel room. The view was excellent, the grounds and lawn were gorgeously landscaped, and it was only a 2 minute drive to the beach! (Easily within walking distance if we didn't have a two year old.) These cottages are absolute perfect place to stay for a family or anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay, listen to the ocean, and feel at home while away from home.

Room Tip: Our cottage was on the north side of the property, and we had a nice ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany95963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews