We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to "same time next year!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottages at Little River Cove
Ranked #4 of 8 Little River B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Looking forward to "same time next year!"”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was our first time traveling with a pet. I can't imagine a nicer experience than we had here. Pets are genuinely welcomed and catered to. Our old dog is still talking about it ....
Even if I were not a "dog person" I would have been very comfortable. It's not as if you trip over animals all the time.

I think all the cottages are much alike except for size. Immaculate, clean, spare and well-equipped, they manage to hit all the high notes. We were in a smaller cottage but it was very spacious compared to our usual B&B experience. Weve loved the B&Bs for many years, but this place is something special. Views are worth the stay all by themselves, but there's so much more.

We appreciated the privacy of "no housekeeping" for a couple of days. it's nice not to try to plan your day around having someone working in the rooms.

The staff is warm and friendly and eager to please. We plan to see them next time we're in Mendocino.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    31
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
82
126
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had an excellent stay at the cottages at Little River Cove the week before Christmas. The Staff is very concerned about their guest experience and seems to truly love what they do. We loved our cabin and enjoyed the common grassy area where our daughter was able to play with other children staying at the Cabins. Also, it is pet friendly which means a lot to a family enjoying a vacation with their pet. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the benches over looking the ocean with the gas fire pit and a glass of wine. There are some great hikes nearby and the staff is well informed about the things to do in the area, be it hiking, boating, shopping, etc. We look forward to our next visit! A great getaway from the Bay area for a nice weekend away from it all.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The perfect place to stay! This place is simply amazing, the views, the staff, the location, pet friendly (actually more than pet friendly - they are treated like family). The cottages are amazing, each individual cottage has just enough character to be different, but they are all clean, well equipped, quite, and private. Views of the pacific - just trust me on this one, unsurpassed!!! Wonderful landscaping, wildlife, and the fire-pit - lets just say its the perfect cozy place to gaze upon the ocean, read a book, sip wine, visit with friends or grill the perfect meal. The manager Scott Matthews, and staff (Karen - you are a rock-star) were extremely helpful to provide everything we needed and very knowledgeable of the area.

One additional note, the owner recently purchased another beautiful property close-by "The Inn at School House Creek". They are completing a major renovation and should be open very soon. We had the privileged of taking a personal tour of the new property and all I can say is "breath-taking" - we will be staying there next chance we get.

To the Cottages and Little River Cove, the staff, and owner - THANK YOU for a trip of a lifetime!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a great location! Quiet and private with great amenities! Very close to Mendocino Village and Van Damm State Park. The cottage was well kept inviting. Fantastic view from any cottage! Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fun4travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Beginning at the very small driveway, the incline is so steep and abrupt and it presents a traffic hazard. It also grinds the paint off of the bottom of your front bumper. One must come to almost a complete stop to find and negotiate this drive, if coming from the south be aware of the cars behind you and give them plenty of warning that you are slowing way down. If coming from the North, the drive is so steep that it will cause you to hit bottom.
Tip #1; Bring a high clearance pickup truck.
The cabins are pretty and clean inside and out, but that’s where it ends. The living room is sparse providing only a hide-a-bed couch, a chair and a foot locker containing the hide-a-bed materials.
The Kitchen is an ergonomic disaster, nothing in the right place and the counter space is taken up by the oversize coffee maker. The recycle bin cannot be used without totally removing it from the cupboard due to its large size. It then becomes another thing that is in the way in the Kitchen. The condition of the utensils furnished is so very poor that making eggs sunny side up impossible. There are no pan tops that fit the pans supplied. Scramble your eggs to keep your vacation breakfast happy.
Tip #2; bring your own frying pan and spatula.
The bathroom is small and made smaller by a sink so large one could wash a teenager in it. The counter space is non-existent. One poorly installed glass shelf is the only place to put things and this shelf is slanted in a manner to dump anything put on it into the toilet below. It rests on pins apparently only held by the drywall, not the wood studs behind. The shower head is huge but so little water comes out of it that it takes 10 minutes to rinse the shampoo out of your hair. And the crowning highlight of the bathroom is that when you fill the tub, the water is a dirty root beer color. Hot water was frequently non-existent. This could have been caused by a failing water heater.
Tip #3; wash your hair in the sink with bottled water.
The bedroom is completely filled by the bed with little room to move around. The only place for suitcases is the closet which then cannot be used for hanging clothes. The electrical plugs and holes in the wall indicate that a TV used to be there. A sliding glass door in the bedroom opens up onto a wooden deck giving a view of the sparse parking lot. Upon the deck are two old Adirondack style wooden chairs. I wouldn’t sit on them fearing multiple slivers.
There are blank switch plates and plugs everywhere in the cabin indicating that it was once nicely furnished, this is no longer the case.
The gas fireplace is the only source of heat in the main rooms and is controlled by a thermostat that sticks to the point that it gets quite cold before it fires up and then is quite hot before it shuts off. Tapping the wall next to the thermostat will wake it up.
Tip #4; Assign wall tapper duties to someone with a magic touch.
The door keys are mounted on chunk of aluminum big enough to fry eggs on. Too large to be pocketed or pursed by most people. What were they thinking???
Tip #5; Remove the key from the aluminum slab.
The office is so small it hardly accommodates 3 people. It has no chairs for the customer. A very nice free movie folder is offered. Unfortunately there is no table to place it on making the large folder of CD’s very heavy after a few minutes of page turning.
The view of the ocean is beautiful but obstructed by trees. The trees block about 60% of the view.
There is a very handy store and deli across the street and a beautiful hotel to the north. The view from the hotel’s bar is totally unobstructed as is the view from the hotel’s rooms. Give close consideration to the Little River Inn.

Room Tip: The cabin closest to the ocean has the best views. The Inn to the north would be a better choice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Critical V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALRC, Manager at Cottages at Little River Cove, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
I wanted to respond to this post as we take all guests concerns very serious here at the Cottages at Little River Cove. We always try to exceed the expectations of our guests and make sure they have a great experience while on the Mendocino Coast. Direct guest feedback is the best way to make sure guests leave completely satisfied and if not completely satisfied we can learn from their feedback ways to improve the Cottages. We have been improving Cottage infrastructure and amenities and have resolved or improved these issues as needed. We hope you will come to experiance us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We wanted a nice weekend getaway with the dogs so we booked a cottage at Cottages at Little River Cove. We got in late and they had left an envelope for us at the front so it was super convenient. Our cottage was clean and cozy, but most importantly, they had put dog beds, dog dishes, AND dog treats. The pups loved it and we enjoyed the beautiful sunset from the property's lawn and from the large cottage window overlooking the (well trees and) ocean. All in all, it was a very peaceful and convenient weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliciabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This place went above and beyond expectations! We recently got a puppy (not the best timing to say the least) so we had to stick close to home for our honeymoon and find something that was both dog-friendly as well as nice enough to consider for our honeymoon. We stayed in the "Albion" cottage. It was immaculate and had all we needed to stay for 5 days (kitchen, dining, etc.) The view from the living room was spectacular! All of the cottages are geniusly staggered so they each have their own view.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped as well - probably the prettiest place our dog will ever poo!

I think our favorite day in Mendocino, we went to the farmer's market and bought beautiful fresh local veggies and meat and fresh oysters and grilled them out at the communal BBQ, sat in the adirondack chairs eating, playing cards, and drinking a fantastic bottle of wine from nearby Navarro Vineyards while enjoying the sunset over the ocean. Gorgeous!

We ordered room service a couple of times from the Inn next door (they will deliver it from next door to your doorstep!) It was reasonably priced and good (considering it did come in paper containers). We also had drinks at the bar next door at the same Inn that does the room service. Same great view with a local flavor.

We met the Inn keepers who were very friendly and invited us out for a glass of wine at the communal spot where many guests were sitting together enjoying the view.

We were supposed to continue up the coast after our stay at The Cottages was up, but we loved it there so much, we tried to extend our stay! Sadly, our room was already booked so we were "forced" to leave ;)

All in all, this was an AWESOME leg of our honeymoon and we plan to return again - maybe next time with a few other couples.

Room Tip: Albion was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedhella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little River
2.6 mi away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
0.4 mi away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 8 in Little River
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
634 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 8 in Little River
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
Glendeven Inn Mendocino
#1 of 8 in Little River
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Little River Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Little River Cove

Property: Cottages at Little River Cove
Address: 7533 North Highway 1, Little River, CA 95456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Little River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Little River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottages at Little River Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottages at Little River Cove are a haven for travelers who want to enjoy the best that the Northern California Coast has to offer. The unique property is situated high on a bluff, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Comprising 11 stand-alone cottages, the cozy, two-acre property is perfect for travelers who desire private accommodations, fireplaces, modern, full kitchens and baths, comfortable bedrooms and amazing ocean views. While our cottages are luxurious and our views are spectacular, we're still the best value on the Mendocino Coast. Come check us out soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cottages at Little River Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottages At Little River Cove Hotel Little River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing