We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL excellent, casino just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“HOTEL excellent, casino just OK”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

It's really a beautiful thing when a hotel staff recognizes the value of the customer and gives them five star service every day. Everyone, from the valet, bellman, hotel desk, housekeeping and room service, gave us a sincere smile and took time to inquire if there was anything they could do for us. The bellman actually asked us if he could get us a bucket of ice or make us some coffee when he brought our luggage to the room.....that is a first for me! The hotel is very new and everything looks and smells new (absolutely no cigarette smell from the casino!). I only have a couple of issues, the check-in time is very late (4pm) and when we arrived our room was not ready (which seems to be a common occurance). We were given a 10% discount for the inconvenience and had to face the casino crowd and noise before we were really ready. They take a $100 deposit against your credit card for incidentals (in addition to regular room charges) then credit it back in a few days, which is something I have experienced at any other hotel. Unless you can take advantage of the midweek $99 per night rates, the room rates are high. I live in Reno and I have put my friends up in a Peppermill Tuscan Suite for far less (and the suite much more luxurious).

Now, the casino part. They have hundreds and hundreds of slot games, and new ones that I had not seen at any other casino property, but the casino floor is VERY crowded and loud. I'm sure you are saying, well it's a casino, what do you expect? But I have a lot of experience in this area, and believe me, it is louder than any other casino I have spent time in. I really liked the smaller, completely enclosed, non smoking area, which I hope they will expand at some point. This is not a luxurious casino with lovely decor. It is all about how many machines and tables can be squeezed into a large open space (a LOT).

We had dinner in the coffee shop. The service was pretty good, but the food was very mediocre.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltowngalReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    117
    39
    16
    27
See reviews for
100
181
44
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying in many hotels. I like to gamble, and they almost always reciprocate w/a free room stay.

Thunder Valley finally opened it's hotel and spa portion this last year, and I must say - it is beautiful!

As you arrive, the valet greets you with a smile, and, they're always polite (even @ 5 am)!

You then enter the lovely lobby, where you check in with the wonderful folks at the desk.

Mind you, you can request the turn-down service when you check in, where you'll be spoiled w/delicious chocolates, slippers, and sometimes they even put rose petals on your bed. (if you need any other beverages, they're all to happy to accommodate those requests as well)

As you head towards the elevator, don't put your room key away - you'll need it to use the elevator.. w/o it, you can't leave the lobby. You'll notice the Asian influence, when you get into the elevator, and look at the floor numbers - you'll notice some are purposely missing.

You enter your room, and are completely blown away by the spaciousness, and plushness of it all. If you get a room w/a king sized bed, you also get a small sitting area, that includes a loveseat, chair and table.

If you get the 2 queen room, the extra space is taken by the 2nd bed, but they still manage to get the extra chair and small table in there.

And, if you're like me, who sometimes has to work on vacation - all the rooms also feature a desk with FREE we-fi! now, that's aweesome!

The beds are comfy, and the Sony dream machines are nice, so you can plug/charge your ipods and iphones.

All rooms have a nice mini bar, that has a small fridge, and Keurig coffee maker, so you don't have to make a pot of coffee for just 1 cup. They have a nice assortment of flavors, and if you have a favorite, you can ask them to leave you a couple more w/the turn-down service.

The bathroom's beautifully decorated w/granite countertops, hairdryer, make-up/vanity area, and lots of and a separate toilet area. The jacuzzi tub is sooo great for those aches and pains, and I really love the shower that lets you set the water temp on the handle - so you won't have to do the wait-for-the-water-to-get-hot dance.

As a tip, if you want the temp to be hotter than the dial seems to let you - it's got a kid-proof button that you push in the middle, that lets you increase the temp past the non-burn setting. You push it in, then move the dial past to the hotter settings.

Did I forget to mention the huge showerhead and perfect pressure? I could wash my hair all day!

Nice flat screen tvs, and thick carpet make this room so nice.

The only problem with the beautiful rooms are the loud wall units that run your heating and cooling needs. For those light sleepers, it might pose a problem, if it runs constantly.

A trip to the spa is first-class, and, if you're from the area, they give locals a 20% discount on reg. priced treatments.

I'd love to give them 5-stars, but despite the fact this is supposed to be non-smoking hotel (you'll find post-it's on your mirror reminding you there's a $250 fine if they find you smoking in your room) - they now allow smoking in the hallway by the elevator, if there's an ashtray present.

This new rule definitely poses a problem for me, as I relish my clean-air, non-smoking room, after sitting in the casino w/all the smokers. The problem w/letting people smoke by the elevators, is the smoke gets so heavy, that I would open my door (at the end of the hallway) - and, it appeared to be foggy out there. Now that's a lot of smoke! It's disgusting, and if the hotel's supposed to be non-smoking, it should be so in all the areas. I don't like smoke wafting into my room, especially if they might impose a fine because they thought I was in there smoking.

Due to this huge annoyance, along w/a couple of times my requests were not ful-filled, I can't, in full conscience, give them the whole 5 stars.. but, 4's really good I think.

All in all, I've had the pleasure of staying in this luxurious place for free - but, for it's amenities and *usually* first class service, I'd gladly pay $99.00.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hula2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Rooms are fresh, clean and well appointed.

Large soaking tub and separate shower. Double sinks and sitting area in bath.

Bed was extremely comfortable with duvet cover and soft sheets.

Quiet and large room with couch. Large flat screen TV.

Hotel stay includes use of Spa--steam room, dry sauna and tranquility room.

Casino has it's own Starbucks.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympic Penninsula
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

One bartender (in the Fallsbar) and the valet service people were very nice and friendly. The rest, at best, were only business-like. One casino employee peed all over the only handicapped toilet seat and didnt even try to clean it up. A dest man never warned me that I needed to insert my room key to make the elevator work. Since I couldnt read the explanatory card from across the elevator, I did not know why it wouldnt work, had to put all my things on the floor to use 2 hands, and road up and down and up again before figuring it out. for someone allergic to onions and garlic the Food Court is dangerous, my eyes were itching before I got near it. The Thunder Cafe is worse. I ordered potato skins with nothing but cheese and bacon and potato--no sauce, onions, sour cream, garnishes, nothing. They came with some kind of small hot green peppers on the plate. Fearing their juice, but too hungry to wait any longer, I started eating from the opposite side of the plate. The waitress came back, asked if anything was wrong, and when I said I wouldnt eat the skins next to the peppers because I was allergic to them, she just grabbed the plate and refused to let me eat anything. She called the manager who came over and acted like it was my fault. The cook came out and said I should have told them I was allergic. I said, if I said I dont want to eat it, that should be enough to keep it off the plate. They blamed me again so I left.
The casino has limited slot machine types. I counted only 3 machines that were not video poker and not the kind that promote free spins rather than credit winnings.
The room had non-opening windows with a vent that blew icy cold air all night. Very unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Ca
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

It was funny how we started our stay with my wife saying she will never want to stay at this hotel again to everyone saying we can't wait to come back.

After visiting my in laws in Sacramento, we like to stay somewhere overnight in the area for a little R & R before heading back to the San Francisco Bay Area (last two times we stayed at Cache Creek Hotel Casino Resort). And we were looking forward to trying the spanking new Thunder Valley Hotel Casino Resort.

But when we arrived at 4:30, to our dismay, the room was not ready. Before we had gotten our room as early as 11 O'clock at some hotels. We were told it would be another hour or so. My wife became unglued and paced back and forth mumbling and grumbling. I told her to go to play slot machines and that calmed her down a little bit. After a little more haggling and complaining, we got another 20% off our room rate ($89 to $71) and a late check out without any extra charge.

As soon as we saw our room, our sour mood began to change. The room was beautifully appointed, a spacious 535 sq ft with high ceilings, brand new furnitures, huge bathroom, big tub and shower, large flat screen HD TV, a quiet air conditioning unit, a super comfortable bed and bright lights everywhere. The "Do Not Disturb" sign can be turned on by push of a button on the phone. And everything else was working perfectly.

There are plenty of dining options, from fine dining to buffet to food court. For dinner we ordered to go from Villa Pizza at the food court to enjoy them in our room. It was very good . We paid fast food price and got restaurant food. By this time, the fact that we waited for more than an hour for our room was already distant memory. For lunch the next day, we tried Koi Palace, a high end chinese restaurant that was first established in the SF Bay Area. They have an extensive and impressive menu. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. We had 6 potstickers for $7, wonton noodle soup for $9.99 and the lunch special mongolia beef for $8.88.

And we could not ask for a more pleasant, friendly and helpful staff, from the valet, to front desk, casino workers, restaurants servers, all the way down the line. When we called for more towels and paper tissues, they were at the door literally in couple of minutes.

The self park garage is only a short walk to the casino and hotel lobby, so there will no hauling of luggages through long casino floor. If you park your car on higher floor, you will be right next to the elevators. There are huge numbers of slot machines, with many many new ones. And they were not too tight. We didn't use the swimming pool, and it is a pretty good size one. But my wife did use the gym and she said it is a beautiful gym.

So other than we got our room late, we were impressed with all the other aspects of the hotel and casino. The fabulous staff and the gorgeous room have won us over and we will definitely be back. The next visit will be a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is a new hotel. It is attached to a casino. The room was excellent, large, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and big screen tv. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I did not go to the casino, but the room was quite and I did not smell any smoke. They had a great steakhouse downstairs. I ate at the bar and had a great meal. I usually don't rate hotels but this was excellent for the price and I enjoyed my stay. It is the best hotel in the Sacramento area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank af3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The rooms at the new Thunder Valley Resort and Casino are beutiful, modern, yet elegent and extremely comfortable. Bedding is very comfortable. Large bathroom with soaking tub and seperate shower. In room coffee, and refrigerator. Flat screen HDTV with MP3 radio and charger for MP3 devices. Free Wi-Fi. Very impressed with this new hotel and would highly recommend it to adults looking for a nice weekend away. There is also the out-door entertainment venue where we saw Tony Bennett on a beautiful warm evening. Inside the casino there is enough gaming, entertainment and dinning for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlucy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sacramento Roseville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing