We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

Rooms are fresh, clean and well appointed.

Large soaking tub and separate shower. Double sinks and sitting area in bath.

Bed was extremely comfortable with duvet cover and soft sheets.

Quiet and large room with couch. Large flat screen TV.

Hotel stay includes use of Spa--steam room, dry sauna and tranquility room.

Casino has it's own Starbucks.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    99
    37
    13
    23
See reviews for
82
153
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olympic Penninsula
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

One bartender (in the Fallsbar) and the valet service people were very nice and friendly. The rest, at best, were only business-like. One casino employee peed all over the only handicapped toilet seat and didnt even try to clean it up. A dest man never warned me that I needed to insert my room key to make the elevator work. Since I couldnt read the explanatory card from across the elevator, I did not know why it wouldnt work, had to put all my things on the floor to use 2 hands, and road up and down and up again before figuring it out. for someone allergic to onions and garlic the Food Court is dangerous, my eyes were itching before I got near it. The Thunder Cafe is worse. I ordered potato skins with nothing but cheese and bacon and potato--no sauce, onions, sour cream, garnishes, nothing. They came with some kind of small hot green peppers on the plate. Fearing their juice, but too hungry to wait any longer, I started eating from the opposite side of the plate. The waitress came back, asked if anything was wrong, and when I said I wouldnt eat the skins next to the peppers because I was allergic to them, she just grabbed the plate and refused to let me eat anything. She called the manager who came over and acted like it was my fault. The cook came out and said I should have told them I was allergic. I said, if I said I dont want to eat it, that should be enough to keep it off the plate. They blamed me again so I left.
The casino has limited slot machine types. I counted only 3 machines that were not video poker and not the kind that promote free spins rather than credit winnings.
The room had non-opening windows with a vent that blew icy cold air all night. Very unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

It was funny how we started our stay with my wife saying she will never want to stay at this hotel again to everyone saying we can't wait to come back.

After visiting my in laws in Sacramento, we like to stay somewhere overnight in the area for a little R & R before heading back to the San Francisco Bay Area (last two times we stayed at Cache Creek Hotel Casino Resort). And we were looking forward to trying the spanking new Thunder Valley Hotel Casino Resort.

But when we arrived at 4:30, to our dismay, the room was not ready. Before we had gotten our room as early as 11 O'clock at some hotels. We were told it would be another hour or so. My wife became unglued and paced back and forth mumbling and grumbling. I told her to go to play slot machines and that calmed her down a little bit. After a little more haggling and complaining, we got another 20% off our room rate ($89 to $71) and a late check out without any extra charge.

As soon as we saw our room, our sour mood began to change. The room was beautifully appointed, a spacious 535 sq ft with high ceilings, brand new furnitures, huge bathroom, big tub and shower, large flat screen HD TV, a quiet air conditioning unit, a super comfortable bed and bright lights everywhere. The "Do Not Disturb" sign can be turned on by push of a button on the phone. And everything else was working perfectly.

There are plenty of dining options, from fine dining to buffet to food court. For dinner we ordered to go from Villa Pizza at the food court to enjoy them in our room. It was very good . We paid fast food price and got restaurant food. By this time, the fact that we waited for more than an hour for our room was already distant memory. For lunch the next day, we tried Koi Palace, a high end chinese restaurant that was first established in the SF Bay Area. They have an extensive and impressive menu. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. We had 6 potstickers for $7, wonton noodle soup for $9.99 and the lunch special mongolia beef for $8.88.

And we could not ask for a more pleasant, friendly and helpful staff, from the valet, to front desk, casino workers, restaurants servers, all the way down the line. When we called for more towels and paper tissues, they were at the door literally in couple of minutes.

The self park garage is only a short walk to the casino and hotel lobby, so there will no hauling of luggages through long casino floor. If you park your car on higher floor, you will be right next to the elevators. There are huge numbers of slot machines, with many many new ones. And they were not too tight. We didn't use the swimming pool, and it is a pretty good size one. But my wife did use the gym and she said it is a beautiful gym.

So other than we got our room late, we were impressed with all the other aspects of the hotel and casino. The fabulous staff and the gorgeous room have won us over and we will definitely be back. The next visit will be a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

This is a new hotel. It is attached to a casino. The room was excellent, large, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and big screen tv. The staff was very attentive and friendly. I did not go to the casino, but the room was quite and I did not smell any smoke. They had a great steakhouse downstairs. I ate at the bar and had a great meal. I usually don't rate hotels but this was excellent for the price and I enjoyed my stay. It is the best hotel in the Sacramento area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank af3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

The rooms at the new Thunder Valley Resort and Casino are beutiful, modern, yet elegent and extremely comfortable. Bedding is very comfortable. Large bathroom with soaking tub and seperate shower. In room coffee, and refrigerator. Flat screen HDTV with MP3 radio and charger for MP3 devices. Free Wi-Fi. Very impressed with this new hotel and would highly recommend it to adults looking for a nice weekend away. There is also the out-door entertainment venue where we saw Tony Bennett on a beautiful warm evening. Inside the casino there is enough gaming, entertainment and dinning for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlucy599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Overall, this is was a four star stay at Thunder Valley Casino's new hotel, but it wasn't without a few hiccups.

When I made my reservation I asked for a "pool view" and the reservation agent gladly made the note. However, none of the rooms have a pool view. The pool is on the ground floor closer to the casino than to the hotel. My "pool view" turned out to be a nice view of the hotel's air conditioning duct work.

The Housekeeping Staff for this room, 1105, didn't sweat the details before my visit. I found a pair of ice tongs on the floor, just under the bed skirt. Then, later, when I was picking up a newspaper off the floor, I found some small candy balls.

I ordered a movie, Get him to the Greek, and while watching the movie, every so often satellite info tags would appear, distracting from the movie. The hotel does have a nice tv channels available, some hidef. The room had a nice size Panasonic tv that had a variety of inputs if you brought along a portable dvd or could hook your computer to the tv.

The speed of the wired internet was good for a hotel. It is much faster than what the local Marriott's offer. The wireless internet was nearly useless because my Mac did not pick up a strong signal at the work desk. It did pick up a strong signal in the bathroom, but I didn't want to work on my PC in there.

Speaking of which, the tub was very good, the shower, a bit less so because the water temp is capped at 120 degrees, which, to me, is not quite as warm as I like it.

There was no tv in the bathroom like they have at the Venetian/Wynn in Las Vegas.

I didn't have the best night's rest. The mattress was ok, but the pillows were all feather/down, it seemed like. When I return I will have to remember to bring along my contoured pillow.

The workout room is on the 2nd floor, which is kind of like a desert island with minimal signage. You leave the elevators, turn right, go down a corridor, zig right, and the window wall of the fitness room is in front of you. The nearly unmarked door on the left is the entrance, which you need your room key to enter. There are two water fountains and each machine has a towel, with extras easily available. Each of the ellipticals and treadmills have personal tvs, though, the picture quality didn't seem to be DirecTV quality but more like rabbit ears. Also, the ellipticals and treadmills have an ipod cable, so if you have any videos on your ipod, you can watch them on the tv in front of you.Also, insdie the fitness center were two large screen tvs. I could not find the remotes to turn them on. The fitness center is open 24 hours and there is a hotel phone near the entrance.

The hotel charges a resort fee of $15

The elevators require a card key and security was visible and polite.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

My partner and I recently stayed at Thunder Valley. We found it by chance, seeing a billboard on the way up to the Sacramento area. The rate was $99.00 for the night and then we also received a 10% discount for AAA. This is a new hotel which opened in July, 2010.
Rooms are spacious with comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom with walk in shower, double sinks, and large soaking tub. King rooms have a couch, coffee table, refrigerator, coffee maker, and large flat screen TV. Everything was very clean and new.
The pool area is exceptional with comfortable lounge chairs, bar and restaurant service. There are also cabanas to rent if you are so inclined.
There are a number of restaurants in the casino area ranging from food court options, to a cafe, a buffet, up to a high end steak house.
We enjoyed ourselves so much that we stayed on for a second night, and will stay there again when we are in the area, and we are not even gamblers!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstone07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sacramento Roseville
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing