We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Smoke got in our eyes!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smoke got in our eyes!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Parking was free to this attraction and inside provided the usual array of casino games. Gone are the days of free drinks at casinos, but smoking is alive and gasping at this establishment. I am not sure how the stakes compare, but we walked away without winning back the $20 we agreed to spend. It was fun in a way, but definitely needed a clean-up afterward to remove the smoke smell.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CCB2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    87
    32
    11
    20
See reviews for
72
121
30
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Cant win any money there service great clean,hotel no pay out in casino but nice place to relax and enjoy food gamble little pool great shows great play slot won few times but nothing over 10$ nice resturants great rooms quite and very clean place

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank portugessboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

When you think of Lincoln, California, odds are a high value resort hotel doesn't come to mind. But the Thunder Valley Casino Resort will definitely change your mind. The rooms are very clean and spacious with amenities such as coffee and tea included. The rooms are both modern and chic and makes you forget your not in a big town. While at the hotel, we used the pool area that is also very clean, spacious and modern. With a sizeable pool, hot tub and cabanas outfitted with plasma televisions, it is sure to please any taste. The hotel staff are courteous and professional and go out of their way to make you feel welcome and special. We've used the spa in the past, and it's five star quality. There are a number of places to eat, and the food is excellent!!! I would have given it a perfect rating, but the casino primarily allows smoking. The smoke permeates through the facility, and this cost it a valuable mark.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meger07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The pool, the casino, the restaurants, the spa. All great things to do. The pool's DJ is super fun. The spa is tough to get into. Make an appointment upon arrival. The spa products are GREAT! The rooms are very accommodating and quiet. You will not be disappointed with your room. And if you are lucky, your slots will pay for your room like my luck did! Three nights "free"! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors will be away from the casino and pool noise...We overlooked desert area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poblanofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The rooms are very clean and up scale . The bathrooms are spacious with entra large cotton towels . The resturants serve great meals with reasonable prices. Love the security, the only way to use the elevators is if you have a room key. The selection of slot machines is outstanding. They also have a food court with a Star bucks. The whole resort is very beautiful and we go there about every 6 weeks. It's close to shopping which I love! We highly recommend staying! They also have an outdoor theater With popular singers and groups! They have a beautiful Bar and while you are gaming they have waitresses that will serve you free non alcoholic drinks and alcohol drinks for a fee! There is a very nice outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were blown away by the beauty and service at this hotel. From the moment of check-in to check out we were treated like royalty! We enjoyed the lovely pool, cafe, Coconut Bar and fantastic room-service breakfast! Who knew this gem would be located 10 miles from my home? I have traveled all over the world and can honesty say that this is one of the finest hotels in terms of elegance and service I have experienced. My grand boys were in heaven on the 16th floor with an amazing view of the Sacramento Valley! We loved how everyone treated them and us during our short stay. Every staff member we encountered was happy to help in any way possible. We will return soon! You would never know that this lavish resort is located atop of a casino! I love the fact that the entire hotel is smoke free!

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible. We could actually see Sacramento's skyline in the distance f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

What a great stay, my first time staying after hitting the casino last year on a road trip.
I was invited to enjoy a free night, free play and free food, who could resist.
I live about 200 dollars’ worth of gas away unfortunately or I would go back often.
Beautiful resort. I’ll start with the room. Big, open, comfortable. Lots of great pillows, big mushy wonderful pillows. Desk, chair, big closet with soft and LARGE robes to use for your visit and a safe.
Ironing board w/ iron. Bed was good, but the one I had had been slept in on the one side more so there was a slight slant, still I slept like a tired cat. (babies don’t really sleep that great).
Bathroom, very large, place to put on your face with a 3x lighted mirror, god light in bathroom. HUGE tub, take a bath bomb with you. Rain head in the shower. Seperate doored room with toilet. (I know you guys like that from watching HGTV)
They give you the usual non brand shampoo, lotion, conditioner and shower gel, nothing special. THE TOWELS ARE AWAZING. So fluffy and big and soft.
Got a morning newspaper. Cameras everywhere so I felt safe. Note: big peephole, I stuff a piece of paper in it so no one can see in.
TV and radio came with remotes. Bar area has a small coffee (Keurig) machine, coffee and tea and a fridge for your leftovers.

ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN.

Guest have complimentary spa access to the rain shower and quiet room, as well as the makeup area with curling irons (in case you forgot yours) NOTE: make sure to take your ID with you when hitting the spa and pool. Pool has cabanas, big canopied beds, a bubbling Jacuzzi and it’s great for laps. It’s also only about 5 feet at its deepest. Great dipping pool.
Comfy chairs all around and giant blue and white towels available. You can order food and drinks at the pool. Try the beef or turkey sandwich! I loved the piped in music, just wish I could have gotten a play list or bought the CD of what I was listening to. Hint hint!!!

Casino was big and not too crowded. Tones of penny and nickel machines. I had a bit of luck so I was pleased. Only saw one OZ, but they had a few of the newer slots like Clue,Fairies and Pink Ladies.
Didn’t hear anyone win anything substantial the 2 days I was there, but I know someone hit for 800 bucks and I won several 50- 90 payouts.

Thanks for the freebies Thunder Valley, you made my weekend most enjoyable, just wish I lived closer.

Room Tip: I had room 1111, faced the cow pasture, no direct sun. close to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank idrawart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Roseville
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing