We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have a back up plan in place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Have a back up plan in place”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel more than a month in advance as we were traveling from Utah to California to visit some family that lives close to this hotel. I called the hotel that same day to confirm I was ok to check in later in the evening and was assured my room would be held until midnight. Upon arriving at 10:15 pm, I was told the cleaning staff was behind and my two queen bed room was not ready and they took my cell number to call me when it was ready. Twenty minutes later they called me and advised that my room was ready. I went directly to the desk to check in, only to be told that my two queen bed room was no longer available and all they had was one king bed, which did not work for my situation. They "graciously" agreed to waive the cancellation fee and I cancelled my room and was left to find another hotel at 11:00 pm at night in a city not familiar to me. I will never go here again and will tell everyone I know to never go here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dpmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    103
    37
    16
    24
See reviews for
87
168
43
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I needed time to relax even just for a day from the big city and we found this awesome resort just 2 hours drive from San Francisco! We arrived there around 9pm, front desk staff were a little busy but this wonderful concierge guided us to her desk and checked our reservation. The room wasn't ready. I'd be upset having driven for 2 hours and check-in time is at 4pm, but she is so welcoming that i'd let it slide. She held our luggage and told us they will call when it's ready so we walked around the casino. After about 5 mins, someone called and we were checked in by the concierge right away. When we got into the room we were so surprised by its beauty. The bathroom was lovely, there's a walk-in shower and a tub. The amenities even include bath gel, bath salts, makeup wipes, cotton swabs & cotton balls, you name it. Not all hotels provide those little things. And also they have a separate counter top vanity mirror! Isn't that great not having to place your cosmetics on top of the sink? And their price is really cheap compared to other hotels and take note, this one is a 4-Diamond resort. I could never find fault with this place. We will definitely be back! The checkout lady informed us of the place where our kids will have fun around the area, so we're bringing them along too!

Room Tip: For sure all rooms are great. We're on the 15th floor. The elevator is room key operated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EurydicePsyche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Casino Resort with our children and we were a bit concerned. We should not have been. They loved everything about it from the statuary outside, to the "bling" inside, to the Gelato in the food gallery. The Valet service and check-in were a breeze. We were "Thunder Struck" by the large, lovely rooms. The beds were excellent, the maid service was wonderful and the bathroom was to die for! We had an excellent stay. We took turns gambling and staying in the room with the kids at night, but during the day, the concierge helped us find amazing and educational activities to do close by with the family, such as Old Sacramento and the Railroad Museum. One day, we even did a riverboat tour up the Sacramento River. Each time we had to get the rental car out, the Valets were excellent and had the car waiting for us in the shade. I will not stay anywhere else in the Lincoln area, and we visit there at least twice a year!

Room Tip: We stayed facing a large parcel of range/cow pasture, which was beautiful. In the evening, we saw l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Venuevetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Checked into the resort and when asked to initial something about a resort fee of $15 and was told it was part of my room rate of 98.99. When I checked my charge I was charged the fee above in addition to the room rate, called to have it taken off and they refused. The front desk supervisor refused refund the charge even though I explained the situation. They would rather lose all future business from me rather than honor what their staff stated upon check in. The fee is for the internet, pool and paper, which they say is complimentary. With the rapidly growing number of Native American casinos, why stay at a dishonest resort!. I was already planning my next trip to Thunder Valley, but now I will go somewhere else. I will be mailing back my and my wife's players cards. Shame on you Thunder Valley!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to a different casino!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Wrpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applegate, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Thunder Valley Casino started out as an excellent place to go gamble, and eat. Over the years it has gone downhill. It would appear that as soon as they added the hotel and concerts, their slot machines got much tighter, their buffet quality started slipping, and the prices on everything have gone up.
When hotels and casinos in Reno are offering free rooms, free play, food discounts and other comp, and when there are other local casinos that are much better, there is no need to go to Thunder Valley.
I would rather spend my entertainment money on somewhere I can spend the entire day and enjoy myself rather than lose it all in just a few hours. Red Hawk, Atlantis and the Peppermill come to mind as having much better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Thundervalley Hotel . Lovely large rooms, nice toiletries, robes, frig in room. Bathroom is very large and had a shower and tub.The beds were amazing, incredibly comfortable. We had a wonderful massage there and the spa had both a dry and wet sauna. The casino is fun, lots of penny machines. Food was excellent. The buffet is large and everything you could ask for. The Steak house had good choices and excellent food. The pool and cabanas are very surprising. Service and staff is friendly and helpful. My only big complaint is the SMOKING !! I feel that they should stop the smoking in the casino area. They have a small room for non smokers, it should be the opposite. I had to keep going outside to get some fresh air.It would be nice if they had an outside area that was a garden to walk around. but overall a very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNelsonNovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

From inside you would never have guessed that outside was country. Inside you feel like such spoiled royalty! The rooms are so beautiful. Deep tub seperate showers all gorgeous granite they even have room service to draw special baths for you! Who does that?! The beds were so comfortable all overstuffed and white,flat screen TV and even a keurig. They really know how to pamper you. Me and my mom had gotten massages, manicures and pedicures,so relaxing. Were pretty big on casinos and love playing slot machines but I think out of the 3 days 2 nights we were there we only spent 4-5 hours Max in the casino. The spa has a meditation room with snacks and tea. It has a dry sauna and steam room amazing showers fluffy robes and sandals for you to walk around in. The hot tub is really big and the pool has this neat waterfall u can swim under. Definitely will be back soon :) sorry such a long review but there's so much to say about the resort!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stinastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sacramento Roseville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing