We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pampered princess all the way!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

From inside you would never have guessed that outside was country. Inside you feel like such spoiled royalty! The rooms are so beautiful. Deep tub seperate showers all gorgeous granite they even have room service to draw special baths for you! Who does that?! The beds were so comfortable all overstuffed and white,flat screen TV and even a keurig. They really know how to pamper you. Me and my mom had gotten massages, manicures and pedicures,so relaxing. Were pretty big on casinos and love playing slot machines but I think out of the 3 days 2 nights we were there we only spent 4-5 hours Max in the casino. The spa has a meditation room with snacks and tea. It has a dry sauna and steam room amazing showers fluffy robes and sandals for you to walk around in. The hot tub is really big and the pool has this neat waterfall u can swim under. Definitely will be back soon :) sorry such a long review but there's so much to say about the resort!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stinastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 539 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in the hotel on a Friday and Saturday and they were fully booked both nights. The rooms were delightful. Everything you would expect from a four diamond resort. Spacious, well maintained with cozy beds and great toiletries. The casino had a variety of new machines with emphasis on penny machines. Lots of food choices with a food court for quick munches and late night pit stops. Wonderful overall experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanit50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We generally don't stay at casinos, but decided to give this one a try. WOW - having just driven from San Francisco (very pricey rooms, etc) we were amazed at the upscale décor and roominess of our Thunder Valley room. Beautifully furnished, huge bathrooms with marble, granite, etc. It was clean, roomy, new and quiet. An added bonus - an employee told us about the happy hour in their lovely, NON-SMOKING, upscale restaurant, High Steaks where we totally enjoyed their colossal shrimp, tasty cheese platter and delicious wines. The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because video poker wasn't good to us. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: Check out happy hour at High Steaks restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candace k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Lets Start with no king beds
Available. But our Friends who wanted two Queen beds were told they can only have a king bed. Went down to the pool tons of children screaming everywhere. Took an hour to get a drink that was incorrect Took 45 minutes to get a sandwich that was incorrect. I will not be coming back here

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goldengal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Rooms at Thunder Valley are larger than average, beautifully appointed, and spotless. Each has a coffee-maker and small refrigerator, free wifi, a small safe for valuables, and pillowtop beds with good-quality linens. Best of all is the spacious bathroom, which has double sinks, granite countertops, a deep soaking tub, separate shower with rainshower head, a nice selection of toiletries, and even a vanity alcove with stool and makeup mirror. The countertops are a tad high for a short person like me (I'm five-two), but tall people undoubtedly appreciate them. Our only complaint was that, while the bathtub has a safety grab bar, there was none in the shower, which has a slick marble floor. All in all, it's near-luxury quality at a very reasonable price.

On-site amenities include a large swimming pool with cabanas, a spa, health club, an outdoor concert venue, conference facilities, and golf privileges at a nearby course. The complex is served by a big parking garage (free parking) with valet service if desired, along with an outdoor lot for RVs.

We had a minor dispute with the hotel regarding a pay movie charge accidentally billed to our room. When we pointed out the mistake to the desk clerk on check-out, she was very polite and said it was unfortunate, but there was nothing she could do about it. She refused to remove the charge from the bill, saying that the television system at the hotel is run by an independent company and she had no authority to make an adjustment on their behalf, that we'd have to take the matter up with them. This sounded like a cop-out to us, so we asked to speak to a manager. After discussing the error with him, he said the hotel would absorb the charge as a courtesy. To his credit, he didn't let a $14 dispute alienate a good customer.

The casino at Thunder Valley is sizable and has a wide variety of slot machines (including a high-limit room), along with the usual table games and a poker room. It also contains a coffee shop/bakery, food court, several bars, a gift shop, and an upscale restaurant. A serious negative is that the air conditioning system really struggled to deal with the cigarette smoke and odor, and not very successfully when the casino was crowded. There is a non-smoking section, but even this was not free of drifting smoke. Thank goodness the hotel is totally non-smoking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Driving up north of Sacramento, the place is isolated and doesn't look that great. However, the hotel is really nice; spacious rooms and beautiful marble bathrooms. Casino is big and clean with a good selection of restaurants. Outdoor concert venue is pretty basic but gets the job done.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chica77843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our last stay was for 3 days on May 14, 15 &16. Our stay was in the Provence suite and was the 4th 3 day stay. These are great suites with many perks, however these are expected at more than $267.00 per night. The room have a directory, with a pledge that is signed by both the Hotel Operation VP and the General Manager. Do not be fooled by this hollow statement. The listed GM by the name C. J. Graham is no longer. He was the catalyst for this program. On our second visit we had an issue regards the evening turndown service. We were informed by the front desk that we would hear from management but never did. Wrote a letter to the Hotel VP with copy to the GM. We quickly received a reply from the GM who corrected the problem and in fact way exceeded any expectations.
This May was our 4th stay and you know it, same issue once again. Upon our return we received an email for a review of our stay. Well this is a continue of a hollow system. No response even when you rate on segment as unsatisfactory. It is all a smoke screen for feel good. Wrote to the new GM but still no response.. As go the GM so goes the rest of the operation. What else can you expect!
In the past we considered Thunder Valley has outstanding the leader in Casino/Hotel operation but no longer, just like most of the rest. We have documented this experience and our letters.

Room Tip: Do not expect the unexpected or VIP treatment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoeT20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln-Roseville Area
6 mi away
Surestay Plus Hotel By Best Western Rocklin
5 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sacramento Roseville
6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Roseville Galleria Mall/Creekside Ridge Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range: $197 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 500 slot and video machines, 100 table games and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. Thunder Valley includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 408 rooms, 46 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing