We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to get away ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place to get away ...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Being one who do not gamble, I must say this is still a place to enjoy and relax. There is nothing in the vicinity to shop or sightsee. But, it is the place to get away from all the city life and grueling work environment. And I try to go here whenever I just want to wind down.The rooms are large and clean. The bedding is comfortable. My only comments is the 4 PM check-in and 11 AM checkout time and the buffet. The buffet area is under some remodeling/renovation. But, I find the food disorganized. The large lids makes it so messy and awkward to handle. And the food and dessert choices have dwindled to not many choices at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmgegedidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    103
    37
    13
    24
See reviews for
84
162
41
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
312 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Not being a gambler, I would not have a reason to visit or stay here, other than a friend's birthday. We were quite surprised by the georgeous hotel room...complete with a king bed, sitting area, bar and huge bathroom. Lots of granite countertops. Not a lot to do in the surrounding area, so you better have something planned at the hotel/casino. We ate at the High Steaks restaurant, which serves fantastic meals at high prices. The casino was huge, and very crowded (no wonder Reno and Tahoe are hurting).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDBCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Thunder Valley Casino resort is a Casino. BUT they have fantastic rooms. The bed linens are top of the line, great pillows, and comfortable beyond belief.
We came back from dinner and found our robes lied out, rose petals on the bed with chocolates and soft music.
We are not gamblers but I must stay if you are need accommodation in this area it is well worth it. Price was extremely reasonable at $189.00.
Room Service - on time , great food.

Room Tip: Higher floors for us were better - great view. Very peaceful and non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackco7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are local and just wanted to get away for a few days. We loved the hotel right away. The room was gorgeous, however there were a few glitches. The WI FI keep dropping out and the first night we had no heat so they had a tech come up and fix it right away. The next morning at 6:00 am we awoke to water dripping from the ceiling in the bathroom. It seems the room above us had the bathtub overflowing. Not a good way to wake up, especially since we didn't go to bed until 4:30 am. At check out they asked how our stay was and when we told them of our problems he didn't even offer any sort of discount. After much stewing, my husband went back to the desk and they gave us half off one night. The spa was great. I had a facial and my husband and I both had massages. The casino has a good selection of slot machines, however I'd suggest bringing eye drops because of all the smoke.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmix315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent a night here after visiting the Wildlife Preserve in Colusa. I've stayed here since the hotel has opened, and I'm not sure how AAA rated it so highly, especially now with the mandatory resort fee.

They close the pool for the winter, but don't tell guests when making a reservation, and still require the full Resort Fee. I asked the Front Desk Staff what are they going to substitute, and the clerk went into full bureaucrat explanation. My impression of the afternoon Front Desk Staff is they are there not to be helpful, but are their to process guests through like the DMZ.

I provided this same feedback through the Resort's follow-up email, but have not received a response.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

HOTEL- - Reception (Nuri/Lelinani) , housekeeping (especially Judth F is outstanding/great.) and buffet restaurant ( Gloria) are very good . It's winter, why are guests still charged resort fees- - - $15 per room/per day?? Wi-fi reception in hotel room stinks- -connections are dropped. Stronger signals by the door or for extended connection need- - stay in your bathroom-- - - 4bars, better connectivity; EXCELLENT SERVICE- -

Restaurant- - OK, but then one goes to a casino to gamble not eat. Convenient. Buffet menu slightly changed from breakfast to lunch to dinner- - - EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Great location, great service, great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PsalmL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently took advantage of a complimentary overnight stay that they offered to me. In looking at the fine print as I booked the room, I was given to understand that I was still on the hook for the $14.00 resort fee that they tack on. Since they noted this up front, and taken into account the normal cost for a room, I thought that a $14.00 stay was still an excellent value. To my surprise, the front desk charged absolutely nothing, telling me that the entire offer was complimentary.

That's just the icing on the cake. The staff was very courteous, attentive and responsive (as opposed to some hotels where staff are indifferent, careless and complacent). The room was modern, spacious, laid-out nicely and well-appointed. Unfortunately, I could hear the couple next door talking very loudly to each other into the early hours of the morning. I don't blame the soundproofing -- I'm sure if they conversed at a normal speaking level, nothing would be heard. It's just that there a some people who talk loud and are unaware of disturbing the people around them.

The only thing lacking in the room was a mini-bar, but I usually don't use them. I appreciated the mini-fridge under the coffee maker. The bed had excellent pillows and linens. I slept very well on it.

There was enough variety in the casino restaurants and the food court to keep anyone satisfied. The food court consisted of a Peet's Coffee franchise, Panda Express, Pizza Hut, a burger joint (I don't recall the name) and maybe one other. The hotel restaurants include the Feast Buffet, the Red Lantern (Chinese/Asian fare), a coffee shop (diner fare), and a high-end steakhouse. Also available was room service, which I did not use.

Use of the steam room and dry sauna was also included, which I didn't use either. The pool was out of service for the winter season.

I will not comment on their casino except to say I was happy with their selection of slot machines. You don't need to gamble here and instead just enjoy the resort experience. Thunder Valley Resort has reasonable rates compared to similar 4-star resorts and I wouldn't hesitate to return has a paying customer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bay_Arean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sacramento Roseville
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing