We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed at the hotel 2/13/12.The Staff was very helpful and pleasant.The room was very claen with a nice view over the cow pasture.Would not think you were in a casino since the rooms were quiet.Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    117
    39
    16
    27
See reviews for
100
181
44
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I was in this property last June to attend a concert. The show turned out to be just average, but the hotel was a pleasant surprise to me! It looks exactly like the pictures, well maintained and everything seems so fresh and new! All the staff was very helpful and efficient.
The furniture and decoration are perfect. I loved every detail of the room. I've been to many casino hotels, not because I'm a hard player, but I love the entertainment programs offered in those places. This hotel certainly is the best in terms of room quality. Just luxurious!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 499wansui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hayward, ca
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This was our second trip to Thunder Valley a casino resort located off HWY 65 near Sacramento. If anything the great rooms were improved since our last trip. What makes this place unique is the ability to use colors to highlight the season (Chinese New Years). The staff friendly and helpful, the food court restaurants reasonable and the slots some of the newest available. The odds and payoffs not as good as Reno but usually not as crowded either. One complaint is that the non smoking slots are in too small of a room.
The other problem I had was that I couldn't get the WiFi network to function.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to good. The higher the better, although there truthfully in no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctlady0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Thunder Valley Casino is like most modern day casino's ... it is a nice place to leave your money

However ... we recently stayed in their hotel ... and I must say, I was quite impressed. The rooms are quite plush and roomy. There was a sunken bath which was nice, as well as a glass enclosed shower. We found everything quite clean and fresh.

The sleep quality of the bed was nice and comfy ... and the noise level of the room was very quiet.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The casino can be quite smokey (cigarettes) ... but the hotel portion is non-smoking. Depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DennisAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My husband and I came for a company holiday party, and also reserved a room. We were happy we decided to stay the night - the hotel rooms are beyond gorgeous. All of the hotel's rooms are no-smoking, but you always wonder, right? Well, our room definitely did not have a smoke smell at all. Very quite room and decorated in a very tasteful manor.

Our room was a good size. We had a comfortable king size bed with night stands on each side of the bed, a small couch, a chair, desk with WiFi, big flat screen TV, telephone (one in the toilet room as well) and iPod docking station/clock, mini fridge, and a Keurig with tea and coffee (regular and decaf) . Closet had two bathrobes, suitcase holder, safe, ironing board and iron. Bathroom was beyond our expectations.. his and hers sinks, a nice vanity with magnify mirror, real sized hair dryer, Kleenex, lots of complimentary toiletries (i.e., small packages of cotton balls, q-tips and shampoo/conditioner/bath gel & bar soap), toilet room and a digital scale. Not only was there a very nice over-sized glass surround shower with rain shower head, but there was also a separate tub. Never seen such a deep soaking tub.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Loved the free valet parking. Very tech savvy hotel, but simple at that. I thought it was very nice how when you call the front desk (or whatever area in the hotel) with a question and they already know which room you're in and who you are when they answer. Worked out great when we just arrived in our room and discovered we had forgotten a garment bag in the trunk of our car - we called down to the valet, they were able to retrieve the bag and have it sent up to our room... all with in about 5-10 minutes. They rang our door bell to let us know they were at our door. What a nice touch - a door bell for each room.

This is our first visit, but found it so great to know we do not have to travel very far from home (~30 minutes) to experience such a wonderful mini 'stay-cation'. Check-out was a breeze, oh and in the morning a newspaper was left outside our door. We had a great time, we would love to come back.

Pros: Its a resort with a hotel, pool (closed at the time of year we went) and spa. Did not gamble, but there were tons of slots. Two good sized bars right in the center with poker games. There is a food court with Pizza Hunt Express, Panda Express, 24hr Peets Coffee, Beach Hut Deli & Fat Burger, Cafe & Buffet; restaurants - High Steaks Steakhouse, Koi Place. I saw some information on different forms of entertainment - music, guest speakers, comedy, etc. If you're staying in the hotel you can use the spa circuit at no charge (sauna, steam room and Swiss showers!). Security staff makes their rounds around the lobby and as a hotel guest, you also need to use your hotel room card as a key in the elevator key to get to your hotel room floor.

Cons: I guess it can be crowded, but we didn't find it so with the time day or season must have helped. There were a lot of people gambling, but not bad at all. The lobby is near the casino without a door to separate the to so the smoke is noticed, when you check-in & check-out.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hockeylvr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was my first experience at a casino and I am glad it was Thunder Valley. Is is smaller than other casinos from what I understand, which made it not so overwhelming. The smell of smoke minimal. The hotel rooms are gorgeous and marble bath luxurious. We were there for a company holiday party and the staff could not have been more helpful, friendly and respectful. The food was excellent and its reasonable prices was surprising to me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Absolutely everyone I interacted with, maids, casino personnel, spa staff, were some of the friendliest staff I've encountered. The rooms were WOW! My first trip was totally comped, but I would go back in a minute. Appreciate that they gave me the opportunity to test it out. If you go get a spa treatment. Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
4.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Sacramento Roseville
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
3.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Sacramento Roseville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing