We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Faces” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa CA
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Friendly Faces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Absolutely everyone I interacted with, maids, casino personnel, spa staff, were some of the friendliest staff I've encountered. The rooms were WOW! My first trip was totally comped, but I would go back in a minute. Appreciate that they gave me the opportunity to test it out. If you go get a spa treatment. Wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaCAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    97
    36
    12
    23
See reviews for
80
145
36
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Yes, the casino is smokey, however, they do have a smoke-free section which was just fine. The room itself was fabulous. Bathroom spectacular. Great value for the price. Enjoyed the pool - it's a little walk but there are changing facilities available - I was surprised that it closes so early. The buffet was very good we had dinner and brunch. Check out was seamless. Not much negative to say.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

For an indian casino out in the middle of the Sacramento valley region all I can say is "Nice". The hotel lobby is so pretty, the spa is great and the pool is just wonderful. They have done a great job and the rooms are clean, well appointed and nice. We love our times there and feel very lucky to know that we can travel only 30 minutes from home and have a wonderful place to stay. We call Thunder Valley Resort Hotel and Casino a staycation!!

Room Tip: They are all great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debtroha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gridley, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed at the Thunder Valley Casino Resort for a business meeting held on site. The staff was extremely accommodating and the service outstanding. My room was gorgeous--quite large and filled with unexpected amenities. I am a non-smoker, but I did not find the casino as smoky as some other reviewers. I appreciated the smoke-free casino area. We ate in the steak house one night, and the Koi Palace the next. The steak house was superb. From the menu and the wine list to the service, we could not have asked for more. My filet was the best I've had. The Koi Palace, though not on the same 5-star level as the steak house, had very enjoyable food. I have always skipped the local casinos in favor of Reno and LV, but no longer. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Since the hotel has opened, I've probably stayed here four times, with a mix of 50/50 between great to less than four stars.

I stayed one night and was guaranteed a room at 4pm.

I arrived a little early, about 3:30. When I entered the lobby I immediately sensed that something was up - all the couches and chairs in the lobby were filled with sweaty guests and their luggage. The first Front Desk staffer said she would call me at 4pm when my room was ready. I'm guessing that all the people in the lobby were waiting for their rooms, too.

When this happens in Vegas, at places such as the Wynn or Palazzo, someone from the Front Desk calls a waitress over to offer free drinks or water. For some reason, this AAA four star resort didn't think this was necessary.

4pm came and gone, so I went to the Front Desk and encountered second Front Desk staffer. I was told that I would be called when my room was ready. Plus, she insisted that I produce the email I was sent for the lightly discounted rate. Because I didn't want to drive back to San Jose, I went over to the Rewards Center line and asked them to print out the coupon for me.

The "requirement" of a coupon/email is new. When I've stayed here before, it was never required because I used the promo code online or on the phone, and that was it. Emails and coupons have never been required at any Las Vegas casino that I know of.

So, later, I did receive a VM that a room was ready. They upgraded me to a 1 bedroom suite. Nice suite. Lot's of TVs, though the one in the bathroom was broken.

Bose sound system was nice. Hardwired internet connection was in an awkward place, no desk or work chair.

Room Service waitperson, Jennifer, was very polite and friendly. She was the only Thundervalley person who introduced herself to me. The Front Desk staffers don't have a name, just a number, I suppose.

They have instituted a 15.95 Resort Fee, which they hide in the reservation and email screens.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Rooms are beautiful!! Need your room key to get up to room in elevator, the room was very warm and inviting. Our room had a small couch, chair, nice size desk, with WiFi, king size bed, Three telephones, on desk, near bed and in the bathroom. Bathroom was beautiful, they thought of everything, nice vanity with magnify mirror, hair dryer, Along with kleenex included cotton balls and q-tips. Our room even had a scale, huge tub with separate shower, tub would be hard for an elderly person to get in and out of. Room had a doorbell,and in the morning a newspaper was left outside our door. Bathrobes in closet, coffee maker with coffee, decafe and tea for your use. Large safe, would hold your laptop, wet bar think you need a key to open, never tried to see what was inside. Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor 1232 which gave a view of swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deniseherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed one night after a concert. The room was large and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was very similar to the ones in the Ritz Carlton San Francisco, large and luxurious with lots of marble. The bed was comfortable and the linens were good quality. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grapelady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lincoln
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Sacramento Roseville
3.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Rocklin - Roseville Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Sacramento Roseville
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Roseville
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Rocklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunder Valley Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunder Valley Casino Resort

Property: Thunder Valley Casino Resort
Address: 1200 Athens Ave, Lincoln, CA 95648-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thunder Valley Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thunder Valley Casino Resort is a AAA Four Diamond award-winning casino and resort located in Lincoln, California, 30 miles east of Sacramento. It is owned by the United Auburn Indian Community and opened in June 2003. Thunder Valley Casino Resort features a 250,000-square-foot Las Vegas-style casino, offering over 2,500 slot and video machines, 100 table games (including Blackjack, Baccarat, California Craps, Mystery Card Roulette, and Pai Gow) and a live Poker Room which accommodates more than 250 players. The casino regularly holds major promotions and special events including drawings, cash prizes, and tournaments. The expansion completed in June 2010 includes a 17-story luxury hotel with 297 rooms, 40 suites, a full amenity Spa, gift shop and boutique. The resort boasts 14 restaurants and bars, as well as Pano Hall, a large banquet and entertainment center with a capacity of up to 900 guests. The outdoor pool offers a tropical setting with cushioned chaise lounges, private cabanas and Coconut Bar. The highly popular Summer Concert Series outdoor amphitheater seats over 5,000 while attracting major headliners. Additionally, Thunder Valley acquired Whitney Oaks Golf Club, a championship 18-hole course just 15 minutes away in Rocklin. Renovation Underway Construction is currently taking place on our expansion and renovation project! In addition to adding 111 new luxury rooms and suites, we are completely renovating all existing 297 rooms. We expect to complete the project by Fall 2017. We're working hard to minimize the noise and intrusion, with most work taking place during non-peak periods and minimal guest interruption. During this time our windows have had an opaque film placed on them to obscure your view so as to protect your privacy as scaffolding has been erected outside your window to complete work on the exterior of the building. For your safety, please use caution when approaching work zones. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience, and thank you for your understanding. We're excited to show off our "new look" with upgraded technology, including charging ports and our new Guest-Tek interactive entertainment system. Soon, our guests will enjoy more of an unprecedented luxury resort experience than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thunder Valley Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunder Valley Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing