We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet - Excellent Value”
Review of Stonegate Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leggett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stonegate Villas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leggett
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet - Excellent Value”
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We found this place through a google search and did not have any reviews/references prior to staying - we booked on the Inn's website.
We stayed at this inn on the second night of our 2 week roadtrip down the west coast. We were just looking for a decent place to crash for the night as we were on the road for most of the day driving through the Redwoods National Forest.
This place was a cute little inn just at the south end of the National Forest, located just off Hwy 101. The inn keeper was very nice and helpful, giving us advice on the best places to visit in the area. This place is actually located just a 2 minute drive to the Chandelier drive-thru tree, which was so cool.
The place itself is an older building - no frills, but very well kept and clean. The location was really nice, surrounded by nature (trees) and so nice and quiet at night - we slept very well.
We were up very early the next morning to hit the road and once again the inn keeper was very pleasant and helpful. The room even had a kettle and with coffee and tea, which we wouldn't expect from a smaller inn located such in a rural area.
Overall this place is an excellent value, as they have very low rates and provide a solid, no-frills place to stay.
Would definitely return if we are in the area again, and just a note that there are no food places in Leggett... we had to eat in Garberville before we got to the motel and then we waited until the next village more South before we were able to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_princess82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
37
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This is a bare-bones room with just the basics. And it is perfectly adequate if that's all you need.

The property is very nice. All rooms are on the ground level, so you don't have to deal with any noise or footsteps above you. In addition, the building looked like is is well-built with brick walls between the rooms. The person at the desk was very helpful.

My only complaint was the size of the sink in the bathroom. The sink itself was miniature, and there was virtually no counter space. The rest of the bathroom was OK. I did not need air conditioning on my visit, but I did not see an air conditioner in the room. You may want to inquire if you are visiting during peak summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed here with friends in room #2. It was nice that the second bed was in another room, separated by a door. The owners were very nice and greeted us as if we were old friends. Plentiful towels, clean comfortable bed. Great Deal! Board games and books can be borrowed.
Lots of big fat friendly cats outside : )

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

If you need a TV, telephone, and Internet connection, look elsewhere. If you want a clean, quiet room at a great price, you've found it. We paid $55 at the height of the tourist season for a charmingly-decorated room in a quiet setting in the redwoods. The owner-manager is friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely and include a "secret" garden for eating outside or just relaxing. Coffee and tea-making facilities provided in room, no breakfast. But at this rate, you can afford to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ronc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leggett
15.8 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
692 reviews
18.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
20.9 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
68 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
19.3 mi away
The Inn at Newport Ranch
The Inn at Newport Ranch
#3 of 12 in Fort Bragg
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Villas

Property: Stonegate Villas
Address: 65260 Drive Thru Tree Road, Highway 271, Leggett, CA 95585
Location: United States > California > Mendocino County > Leggett
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leggett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing