We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing tree!”

Chandelier Drive-Through Tree
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Leggett
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The bottom of this tremendous redwood tree has been hollowed out so that cars can drive through it.
Shady Shores, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What an amazing tree!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

First time for us to see giant redwoods, wow! Things are big in Texas where I live, but these trees are bigger than any trees that I have ever seen. And the age of them is also amazing to think about. The drive up from San Francisco on 101 is pleasant with many winerys that you can stop at. A great place to stop at for just $5 per car. I would definately recommend this attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    178
    55
    9
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“What is there to say about a tree you can fit a car through?”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

There is a certain amount of novelty in driving your car through a tree, but even my kids were surprised at how anti-climactic it is. There is a small park there with vending machines and a gift shop. You could have a picnic there in the redwoods if you're passing by anyway, but really, you just drive through a big hole in the trunk of a tree for $5. That's about it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A novel experience!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We arrived at 7pm on a Thursday night and didn't think we'd get to see it, but it was still open and we had the place to ourselves to take photos and video. We went through it twice! It's an awesome looking tree even without the drive thru, so well worth the $5 for a novel experience!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SylviaWaddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great site seeing”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Easy to find, great experience, friendly staff and a beautiful park. I enjoyed my brief stay here while getting some great pictures. Even lost a cell phone accessory which was turned into staff, sent them a self addressed envelope and it was promptly returned. I can definitely recommend this stop to any Hwy 101 travelers.

(In the close up shot I've included you can see the smokey grey cell phone case I lost on the ground just to the left of the car.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Drive Through Tree! Fun!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nice little park at the start of the redwood forest. It was fun to drive your car through the tree and certainly made you appreciate how huge these trees are.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandelier Drive-Through Tree also viewed

 
Garberville, Humboldt County
 

Been to Chandelier Drive-Through Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing