We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“an OK place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Lee Vining B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an OK place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the lodge. We enjoyed the location and many things about the place. It was clean and adequate, especially given the small number of choices in the area. It's noisy being directly on the main road through the area. I was not expecting a luxury facility, but $244 for a two night stay is not an insignificant cost and I did expect a few of the following.

The wi fi signal didn't adequately reach our room. It was only usable from the porch by our iPhones and our iPad which was very inconvenient and not as expected when they advertise internet access. My lap top computer did work inside.

Their was no coffee maker in the room. Their restaurant wasn't open so those who need to start the day with coffee beware!

The pillows were flat and needed replacing, and there were no tissues in the room.

We returned to our room one morning at 9:30 AM and couldn't get in to our room without getting wet from the sprinklers. We returned again at 3:30 to sit on our porch. Within 10 minutes the sprinklers were on again and we were forced to go inside. Even once they were off, our chairs were wet and unusable. Disappointing.

Lastly, when we were ready to check out at 8:30 in the morning, their was no staff on the premises. There was a sign saying they were gone for the day with no direction for guests and no one answered the phone. As a guest, I expect a staffed facility.

I would stay here again. If you forget how much you're paying for the room, you'll likely find it just fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dancing d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    43
    23
    32
See reviews for
32
80
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tioga Lodge is very accessible if you are planning to visit Monolake or Yosemite NP. The price was a bit higher than expected. We were 5 of them so paying $180 was ok, but might be higher if there are not many in the group. One can have a very good view of mono lake from the room's windows, but going to the tufas on the lake would be a 20min drive from the hotel.
The hotel has dining facilities but the price is very high and the portions are very small. I would recommend going to the 'Whoa Nellie Deli', a restaurant in the Mobilgas station just after entering Hwy120 West to Yosemite NP.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank karuna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here one night on a road trip from Colorado to California. We wanted to be close to Yosemite for a drive over Tioga Pass the next morning. It was a good location for us and after a long day of driving, it was nice to be able to just walk to the hotel restaurant without having to get in the car again. We sat on the balcony at the restaurant and enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner, staying outside long enough to see the moon rise over the lake. The view of the lake is somewhat obscured by trees, but we were able to see the moon and part of the lake and that was nice. Yes, there is a busy highway right next to the hotel and restaurant, between the buildings and the lake. It can be a bit noisy, but quiets down later on. The noise didn't really bother us during the night. We had a nice dinner at the restaurant and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. Our room was the Kit Carson room, in one of the cabins. The room was simple, but had nice, knotty pine furnishings. There was no phone, or TV, or wifi, but we knew that when we booked it. Wifi was available at the lobby and restaurant, but we found that the signal was pretty weak. We weren't too worried about not having wifi for this one night, but the hotel wouldn't be a good choice if wifi is important. We could see a bit of the lake from the porch of our cabin, but the view was partially obscured by trees. Overall, we found this a pleasant place to stay that was convenient for our travel the next day over Tioga Pass.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was adequate but expensive. There is a view of Mono Lake but the room is right on the highway so I didn't feel like sitting outside and looking at the lake from the room. The highway is loud. The person who checked us in was more interested in making sure we would pay for any damages than in welcoming us. (We are 60 years old. Do we look like we're going to party!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningbluecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The lodge has a great location for those who leave Yosemite at the Eastern Entrance/Exit. Room and food prices are reasonable. They have a family-style, cozy restaurant. Staff is nice and supportive. Our room was simple, but clean and spacious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night and the stay was very pleasant. We had the cottage to ourselves, which was quite compact and cozy. All the stuff inside the cottage were very antique. The air condition didn't work and the bath was really un-comfy to get in and out. Yeah, the bed was extremely small for 2 people. This place is very close (like 10 feet) from the Hwy 395, so it might be noisy for some people. The property has nice little garden and a little creek/falls in the middle. The food in the restaurant is very good, but quite expensive for the quantity. Although this Lodge is very close to the mono lake, it doesn't have any view of the lake. The lake is not even visible from this place. The staff here are bit flexible and she agreed for a late check out (noon). While you are here, its good to go for a visit to the nearby Ghost Town, Bodie (15 miles in the hwy 395 + 15 miles in a county road).

Room Tip: We chose Room # 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Lodge is located in Lee Vining, near the Mono Lake area, and just a few minutes drive to the East entrance of Yosemite. We stayed here one night so as to have an early start in Yosemite on the next day. The cottages are small but sufficient for a short stay. There is no air conditioning, and the ceiling fan was so unbalanced that we were afraid that if we turned it up high enough to cool the room, it would fly off the ceiling. The grounds of the lodge are well kept, and it's nice to sit outside at a picnic table with a view of Mono Lake. The Mono Lake Visitor's Center and the South Tufa area are within a few minutes drive as well. The staff here was a bit indifferent, seeming preferring to lounge in the reception area talking to friends rather than working too much...Sortof a "Here's your key...don't break anything" greeting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Mae Room, which is a cottage in the second row, so not directly on the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
2.7 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 30 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
15.0 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake

Property: Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
Address: 54411 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tioga Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing