We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Lee Vining B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night and the stay was very pleasant. We had the cottage to ourselves, which was quite compact and cozy. All the stuff inside the cottage were very antique. The air condition didn't work and the bath was really un-comfy to get in and out. Yeah, the bed was extremely small for 2 people. This place is very close (like 10 feet) from the Hwy 395, so it might be noisy for some people. The property has nice little garden and a little creek/falls in the middle. The food in the restaurant is very good, but quite expensive for the quantity. Although this Lodge is very close to the mono lake, it doesn't have any view of the lake. The lake is not even visible from this place. The staff here are bit flexible and she agreed for a late check out (noon). While you are here, its good to go for a visit to the nearby Ghost Town, Bodie (15 miles in the hwy 395 + 15 miles in a county road).

Room Tip: We chose Room # 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krishna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    38
    43
    24
    32
See reviews for
32
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Lodge is located in Lee Vining, near the Mono Lake area, and just a few minutes drive to the East entrance of Yosemite. We stayed here one night so as to have an early start in Yosemite on the next day. The cottages are small but sufficient for a short stay. There is no air conditioning, and the ceiling fan was so unbalanced that we were afraid that if we turned it up high enough to cool the room, it would fly off the ceiling. The grounds of the lodge are well kept, and it's nice to sit outside at a picnic table with a view of Mono Lake. The Mono Lake Visitor's Center and the South Tufa area are within a few minutes drive as well. The staff here was a bit indifferent, seeming preferring to lounge in the reception area talking to friends rather than working too much...Sortof a "Here's your key...don't break anything" greeting.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rosa Mae Room, which is a cottage in the second row, so not directly on the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyhoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed for three nights in this hotel in a very nice little cabin. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We were also happy to finally have enough space for all our luggage after having stayed in much smaller rooms during our trip. The property is really nice with flowers and a little creek and the main building, which was brought from ghost town Bodie and restored, is charming. We got a very warm welcome on our arrival. The restaurant is also very nice, they serve healthy, also vegetarian food, which is very hard to find elsewhere in the area. So overall we had a pleasant stay. We only have two negative points to mention. The property is located right next to the highway and it was really, really noisy in our cabin. For us it literally felt like sleeping on the highway. Also the aircon in the bathroom was really noisy, so sometime we felt like escaping the cabin in order to relax. It should however be the other way round. Both of us apparently are pretty sensitive to noises, so if you are not, I would definitely recommend to go to this place, because everything else is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fini01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gun Barrel City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The lodge looked old and the room was not as we were expecting for the price we paid ($155.00) for one night. No T.V. microwave or elegant furnishing and no A.C. as we could see in the room. I could not figure out how to turn it on if we had one at all. We got in late and did not bother checking with the manager about it. The bed was hard and UNCOMFORTIBLE. We have traveled many miles and this was the worse room we had the whole trip of 12,500 miles for the price. Would not stay there again, nor tell people about staying there.

Room Tip: Room near road, a lot of road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lee Vining hotels

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a really fine vegetarian dinner. The proprietress was very thoughtful and efficient. The room was clean, spacious and tastefully furnished. The grounds are well kept up. Only negative is the location facing highway 395 - the traffic dies down at night, but still hear cars zipping by occasionally.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sn-boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The place was really cute. It was located right next to the highway which means it can be loud in the morning as traffic starts, but you feel that the owners made a real effort in creating a nice, homey place. We stayed there for a night after visiting yosemite national park. Great location and not far. Dinner was excellent, they value organic and local ingredients which i appreciated. Food was a bit pricey though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Tioga Lodge is a mixed bag. On the con side it is not in walking distance of town and there are few amenities in the room. On the pro site it has nice staff and great food at the restaurant. There is onsite kayak rental if you ask that they should advertise more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricaABayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
2.7 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.7 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
19.0 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
24.1 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
18.9 mi away
Ruby Inn
Ruby Inn
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake

Property: Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
Address: 54411 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tioga Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing