We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok - if you have no other choice”
Review of Lake View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake View Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived, we felt like back in 70ties... The room was old-fashioned. No fridge or microwave. But at least, it was clean. The staff could have been nicer. Oh, there was no lake view, of course ;-)
Totally overpriced, but for one night ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Lake View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 603 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were pleased when we walked into the lobby because it smelled good but they lost me when they would not let me use their restroom and made me wait until after checkin to use the bathroom in our room. Because of the altitude, I had been drinking a lot of water and could understand their hesitance if I looked like I had been camping out in the woods for a week. I had on Chico's clothes and jewelry so this didn't make sense to me. Our room smelled like old carpet and was hot and they only had an AC unit in the living room so that was annoying. The only thing it had going for it was it was clean and close to Yosemite but it was the worst room we have stayed in for the last two weeks mainly using Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronna58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Lake View Lodge is one of a very few places to stay in town, and perhaps the best.
If you got used to 4 or even 5 star hotels you’d be disappointed with old and primitive amenities, though they have cottages which are slightly more upscale compared to the basic suites.

Last time my wife and I stayed there in August 2013. The beds seem to be recently replaced, and despite being rather cheap they were very comfortable, which is most important. Shower pressure was excellent and the soft water saturated with soda from nearby lake is very pleasant. After all, the primary use of the hotels in this town is just rest/sleep between the adventures outdoor.
Lake View Lodge suites this purpose well, and so I recommend it.

If you plan to spend most of the day in the hotel, then I'd recommend to take cottage.

Note that the hotel gets full and pricy in peak summer months.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here on our way through to Vegas after spending the day in Yosemite Park and gave us the chance to explore Mono Lake and Mammoth Lakes before leaving for Vegas the next day, which also was an amazing experience as we drove right through Death Valley. The lodge is ideally located just at the end of Yosemite Park if coming east and right on the 395. The hotel was very very cheap for the area booked through booking.com. The hotel staff were so helpful and accommodating and the cabin was simple but comfy. Has a small kitchen with micro and toaster so can easily self cater. The mini market on site also is great (but as to be expected very expensive). There is a nice little coffee shop serving breakfast with a great little patio with super fast wifi. All in all a very pleasant stay so I highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location:
Lee Vining only consists of a few houses. It is a very good basis to explore Mono Lake, Devil’s Postpile Monument and the Eastern part of Yosemite National Park (e.g. Tuolumne Meadows).
Lakeview Lodge is directly at Hwy-395 next to a convenience store, tourist information and tourist shops.

Service:
The garden around the motel is very nice and offers good opportunities to sit down with a book.
The Garden House coffee looked nice, too, but we didn’t check it out.
Don’t be fooled by the facility map on their website. I expected access to a guest laundry. When I asked at reception, I was told that the laundry is only for staff. There is a commercial laundry close by, but it didn’t make the best impression.
Wi-fi didn’t work optimal in the cottage.

Cozy Cottage:
We were greeted by a friendly wooden bear on the veranda of our little cottage. The cottage itself seems to be quite new. On the first look the interior is very nice, too. If you look closer, you get the impression that the owners want to make money with the least possible effort. The furniture consists of at least 3 different styles and seems to be put together. Most furniture is a bit worn, especially in the bathroom. The towels were partly worn to threats and should be replaced. Going to bed, we discovered a small hole in the blanket, too.
The kitchen was well equipped with pots and dishes. Unfortunately, there was no salt, pepper or herbs. I asked at the reception for some salt because cooking noodles without salt is really – yuck! The lady was very friendly and helpful but couldn’t provide any. At least we received some matches to ignite the gas stove.

Summary:
There are not many alternatives in Lee Vining. I guess this is the reason why they can demand such a ridiculous price for not much service. We paid 119 USD per night without breakfast. In contrast to that: we paid less for a terrific B&B with great breakfast on the western side of Yosemite which I rated 5!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean, with helpful staff. The rooms are large and have microwave and fridge, which is great. The views from the room of the Mono Lake is great. It is really close to Yosemite eastern gate. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neil91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a few days touring through Yosemite, and decided to spend some time on the east side of the part, focusing on Tioga Pass.

Our group included 2 pairs of adults and 2 kids, so we rented the 51T cottage which had 3 bed rooms, and was very spacious and fitted our extended group, even though it required a bit of refreshing...

The other smaller cottages next to where we stayed seemed to be really nice as well (seemed to be newer)

There was no Internet service except in the reception building, but we had good coverage with our mobile phones (LTE...)

There is a really nice market just next to the lodge with everything you would ever need, so you can plan on either cooking yourself or just buying snacks... There is also a restaurant down the street, but we never tried it.

Room Tip: Cottage 51T has 2 double bed rooms and another bed room with 2 single beds
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
255 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
206 reviews
13.3 mi away
Double Eagle Resort and Spa
23.2 mi away
Juniper Springs Resort
Juniper Springs Resort
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Lodge

Address: 51285 Highway 395, Post Office Box 345, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range: $126 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lake View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lake View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View Hotel Lee Vining
Lake View Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing