We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of El Mono Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Mono Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here one night in the queen room. It was cozy, well kept and comfortable. The best thing was the breakfast sandwich from the cafe, my husband ordered another one after eating the first. Yum. Anyways, great stay for the price and location. Will return!

Room Tip: Plan ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiejean10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    149
    56
    25
    14
See reviews for
73
148
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

If all you want is a bed for a night's rest, this is the place. No phone, no fridge, no TV. Just a clean and comfortable ( but a bit soft) bed. The room was small and had a soothing color scheme of neutrals.
Lee Vining which is where this hotel is located is a town with several motels - nothing fancy or built up here. El Mono has a great little coffee house in the front of the building that makes homemade scones and very good coffee. The front porch is inviting. The location is perfect for visiting Mono Lake and Bodie.
We had a perfectly nice stay here - but just to remind you if you want a private bathroom ask for it as many rooms have shared baths.

Room Tip: If you want a private bath you must request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanita30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, England
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed 2 nights because of disruption from the Yosemite fires and wished we could have stayed longer. We loved the Lee Vining area, Mono Lake and eastern Yosemite via the Tioga Pass. It's pretty inexpensive, so we shared a shower/toilet which were just fine. The room was small but bright, cheery and comfortable with some good touches. No TV-hooray, but instead hummingbirds and plenty of other birds to watch on the feeders. We found all of the staff helpful and good humoured whilst the coffee and breakfast sandwiches and cakes were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really liked this place - the aesthetics of the room, cheerful pumpkins all over the exterior (it's October!), best shared showers of any I've experienced in other places, and really nice soap/lotion/shampoo. Staff were really helpful & offered to put some food I had in their refrigerator. And yes their coffee is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Decent prices. Something was not right along the way. First night the room, second night the absolutely freezing temperature in the room. Great coffee and very charming Halloween decorated coffee house. Staff - quite uncommunicative and creating atmosphere as if they didn't care. Mixed feelings!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrakowMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

On the downside (if you need it), WiFi in our room wouldn't work on either of our iOS devices.
BTW the best place to eat in the area is what's referred to just as 'the Mobil'--the Mobil gas station on Tioga Rd just before you come to 395.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laslo-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soquel
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A wonderful funky place. 11 very different rooms (we have tried 4 so far), beautiful garden (perfect for drinking your latte from the coffee shop which is part of the property, or an evening glass of wine), very friendly and helpful staff, and you can get breakfast next morning and sit out on the front porch in the early sun.

Room Tip: The upstairs pair of rooms are much larger and newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRBrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
240 reviews
13.3 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,319 reviews
21.5 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
186 reviews
22.4 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Motel

Property: El Mono Motel
Address: 51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
El Mono Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing