We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice vibe, nice price...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Mono Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Mono Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
East Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice vibe, nice price...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of a Yosemite vacation. Our plans were disrupted a bit by Hurricane Irene on the East Coast, so we made this reservation last-minute and were thrilled with the find. We stayed in a double-bed room that had a sink but no ensuite, so we used the shared showers and toilets. The rooms are nicely furnished, and you get a sense that people *care* about the place, despite the modest price. The coffee at the coffee shop was great, and we had a nice outdoor breakfast on a patio table in the backyard. I'd happily come back here any time!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    149
    55
    25
    14
See reviews for
73
147
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The rooms weren't as bad as I thought. I was a little hesitant about the shared bathrooms and showers, but they it went pretty well. The front desk people were nice (there's a cute guy that works there, another plus). They have a cute dog! And the bakery was delicious. I had the Pumpkin Gingerbread, and it was really good! I love the sunflowers and the stars at night are amazing! Were I'm from, we don't have that many stars.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjrouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, Ca.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The El Mono is a small motel in Lee Vining. It is a no frills kind of place, but very quaint, clean and peaceful. There is a beautiful garden with seating right outside of your room and a wonderful cafe, Latte Da, is attached to the motel. The rooms don't have a phone or TV, but have photos of local scenery and comfortable beds. It is a wonderful, quiet place to stay and I highly recommend it. I have enjoyed staying there many times and have always had a nice time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountaingal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Had read all the previous reviews on TripAdvisor and decided on this little place to stay on road trip from Vegas to Yosemite/San Fran. Small, quaint but comfortable stay. As previously recommended, the coffee in the morning is great - 'specially with mountain views at back and Mono Lake at front! Very busy place in the small coffee shop/ reception area! Staff very friendly and cheerful! The home-made cookies are a must for any road-trip too! Oh - and as previously stated - you MUST go to the Mobil Gas Station to eat in the evening!!! (half-mile drive just at start of road to Tioga Pass)

Room Tip: We were in rooms 1 (with bathrm) and 2 (w/out bathrm) - both OK and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaCJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

I've stayed here twice, and each time, I have enjoyed my stay. And I can't understand why. There is no AC in the place, even though Lee Vining can get quite hot. There are other things that need repair, and the place looks old. But for some reason, it doesn't bother me. The place is very charming, with an attached coffee shop, complete with hipster wannabes hanging out drinking their soy latte and writing their big novel on their i-computers.

The room we had came with a full bathroom, but they only have a couple of these rooms. The other few rooms are sans bathroom, and share a common shower facility. We haven't stayed in those rooms, but I'm sure they are fine. So...the room had some problems. As I said, no AC, only a fan. The toilet seat was loose, and the water in the shower would go from ice cold to scalding hot in an instant. In fact, at times, the hot completely goes out, and you are in ice cold water. The room we had was adjacent to the coffee shop, so we could hear drawers and chairs through the walls. But it closed at 8, and most of the employees leave by 9:30, so it becomes quiet. There is no TV, only a radio on the room.

But again, for all these issues, I still like coming here. I think Lee Vining is a pretty cool little town along highway 395. Maybe that's part of it, but the El Mono is another big part of why I like coming here. Also, the pastries in the coffee shop are very good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

If you love that Calm of the sierra then this is an excellent place to be. Mono lake is breath taking and the mountains seem to embrace you . although the rooms are small they are cozy Its nice to have no TV I was able to take in the beauty that surrounded and relax with my book , I loved the Latte Da Coffee Café its wonderful organic coffee and food along with the friendly staff made this quick stop well worth it .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiegraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We got into town late, and finding this about all that was available we were ripped for $100 a night for a room so small you had to walk sideways around the bed with your nose to the wall. There was no TV, the WIFI did not work well, the climate control was a old fashioned radiator with no AC.

Don't go. Not worth the bucks.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrsjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
13.3 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
21.5 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
12.5 mi away
June Lake Villager
June Lake Villager
#3 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mono Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mono Motel

Property: El Mono Motel
Address: 51 Highway 395, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
El Mono Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing