We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind Experience”
Review of Tioga Pass Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tioga Pass Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
North Fork, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of a Kind Experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Staying at Tioga Pass Resort is like trekking back in time. The historic lodge and cabins are nestled within a majestic setting on the Eastern side of the Sierra Nevada crest. Our small log cabin (built in 1919 and recently rennovated) was cozy, clean, quiet, and comfortable. We went there to relax, hike, fish, and enjoy the scenery . We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. We hiked nearly every day and caught many trout. The cabins are rustic but have the basic conveniences needed to spend a very enjoyable week in the high Sierra. We plan to return next summer with our kids and grandkids.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed in room 4 in the "motel," which is a small building on the property with four rooms and a shared shower. The staff were all very friendly, and helpful with suggestions about nearby hiking opportunities. The room was small but adequate and cozy. The inroom bathroom was very basic -- minimally adequate. No phone or TV, so a great place if you want to "get away from it all," not good for those with short attention spans and a need to stay wired. Decent on-premised restaurant (loved the vegetarian sandwich, even though I am not a vegetarian), and if you ask the night before, they'll make take-out lunch that you can pick up the next morning. Cozy main room in the main lodge, with decent store for necessities and souvenirs. Wonderful location for access to Yosemite/Tuolumne Meadows and the trailhead at Saddlebag Lake (the 5-mile 20 lakes loop is one of the most stunning hikes I've ever enjoyed, and a fantastic conditioning hike for those looking for a relatively easy hike to acclimatize to 10,000 feet of elevation). While the rooms are barebones, I was entirely comfortablean totally loved my stay, and look forward to going back in the future for more exploration of the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SFNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Tioga Pass high country! One of the unspoiled gems of the highest regions of the Sierras! Tioga Pass Resort (TPR) provides wonderful accomodations for the outdoor enthusiast who is looking for great hospitality, great food (cafe) and rustic but clean and comfortable and classy accomodations! Don't expect chocolate on the pillows...but do expect great people who work hard to make your stay a pleasure!

Staying at TPR provides close access to high county trail heads, lakes and mountain peaks, and spectacular scenery! No phones, no TV's, but comfortable, quiet, clean, relaxing acomodations seldom found anywhere as beautiful as Tioga Pass!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiogaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is what I wrote to the staff after staying there:
Hi - just want to let you know we had a wonderful time there - loved the room, the FOOD (incredible!), and the warm hospitality. Hiked to the mine - rivals some of the best Sierra hikes! Thanks again, so much, for accommodating us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDNaturelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2008

ADVICE! This is a place for those who love the outdoors. These are the ONLY cabins this close to the eastern (in my opinion, the best) side of Yosemite. If you are there to enjoy the wilderness, hike, fish, kayak, climb, etc, then this place is spectacular. If you are a day tripper off to explore the valley and are looking for hotel-like service, you probably won't have a good experience.

That being said - I had one of the best vacations of my life here. You can hike right from your cabin into some of the most beautiful scenery in the world. Drive a little way and you have access to even more great hiking. Drinking my tea while watching the sun rise from our deck was just ...sigh. And our evening walks along the nearby meadows and small lakes were just lovely. Lake kayaking is excellent as you have so much scenery and the water is so clear. Try Lake Tenaya and bring your binocs to watch for climbers on the nearby mountain. Frying the fish the boys caught was great fun. And we had no mice! Oh and the folks who work there are mighty fine indeed. Many of them live there year round and love the wilderness as much as we do.

Hikers/bikers/yakers/climbers/outdor enthusiasts will love this place. Especially if you want to stay somewhere warmer than your tent, has hot showers, and a stove to cook your meals. I love TPR and will be going back.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — Steep driveway
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ransueSacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Rustic it is, but no bang for the bucks. Two hundred dollars for one night is overcharging for a bare old cabin. The price should be half the price they are charging for the cabins and rooms. For the money, there should be a least free coffee or cocoa in the room, homemade cookies and bottled water. Just two dollars of their cost for those freebies would have soften the blow to us. Staff wasn't too friendly at check in/out or in the dining room. Big disappointment. Such a shame they are doing this to visitors to the beautiful area of Yosemite

  • Liked — rustic surroundings
  • Disliked — poor service, poor attitudes and highway robbery prices for that type of rooms/cabins.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kellie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,582 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

I just spent this past Labor Day Weekend with my wife at the Tioga Pass Resort next to the Tioga Pass entrance to Yosemite. As mentioned in other reviews this is not a resort, but a collection of modern cabins. There are ten cabins, which each can sleep four people comfortably, and include kitchenettes, bathrooms and showers and other amenities.

My wife and I, however, choose to stay in one of the four individual rooms available, which hold two people, and share a common shower. Each room is about 10 feet by 16 feet, and includes a full size bed, a closet sized bathroom with sink and toilet (about 3 feet by 5 feet) ,and two windows. The rooms have attractive wood paneling and wood flooring, and are extremely clean and relatively new on the inside -much superior to Yosemite Curry village's wooden cabins. The mattress on the bed was very firm and relatively new, and came with three good sized pillows. The room had a portable space heater which can be adjusted to keep the place warm on chilly nights. There is one overhead light, one table light, and one bed light, each light sufficiently strong for reading. There are two wooden chairs and a small wooden table. No closet for clothes, but there is a rack to hang up jackets and shirts.

This place is not for kids. There is no swimming pool, nor TV. There is no maid service -we were given four body towels to share between the two of us for the three nights we were there. No trash emptied, but the bed was remade every day. No shampoo provided and there is no microwave oven.

The only place to eat is in the restaurant in the main building next to the highway. The main building also has a sitting area complete with two stuffed sitting chairs, one soft, a fireplace, and two sets of wooden tables and chairs. This is in a room which looks like some hunter's lodge, with real wooden walls fashioned out of timbers, and missing only head trophies.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
8.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
585 reviews
8.2 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
243 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
797 reviews
21.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,354 reviews
13.3 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#3 of 7 in June Lake
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tioga Pass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tioga Pass Resort

Property: Tioga Pass Resort
Address: Inyo National Forest, One mile east of the summit of Tioga Pass, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tioga Pass Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing