We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I will stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yosemite Gateway Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Independence, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I will stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My out of state cousin and I met in Lee Vining and spent 3 nights. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and everything worked properly. The staff was just fine in spite of the fact that they must deal with so many travelers and tourists.... some of whom have no manners. In a small tourist town with only 4 motels this motel is plenty satisfactory. --- Elaine

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    72
    72
    27
    34
See reviews for
57
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading all the reviews of the hotels in Lee Vining. Yes, it's not cheap but so are all the hotels there. Yes, it's dated, same as others in town. Stayed in room 9. So we had our own balcony. Nice view of the lake, but not that close as I had hoped. Room is clean enough. good TV channels, important as there is nothing much to do at night. Check in was smooth n we just left the key in the checkout box since we left early. Bottomline, don't expect 5 Starhotel service.

Room Tip: Room 9 is the only one with own balcony if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Awful motel. The picture we'd seen looked lovely but the reality was very different. We arrived and given our room keys. The room was very dated and not particularly clean. We had a shared balcony with the neighbouring rooms. The mattress had a protector on it that was plastic, it was noisy and hot to sleep on, the bed was also very hard. We had booked two nights but both agreed we didnt want to spend a second night and left early the next morning!
Not cheap and really not worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My sister and I had a one night stay (room 20) and thought the room was great. Didn't need air conditioning as it wasn't that hot, the room was clean and beds were very comfortable. Maybe a bit expensive but not for Lee Vining.

Great restaurant just across the road, Nicely's, went there for dinner and breakfast!

Mono lake is beautiful, recommend you take the Ranger tour, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Room 20 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midpines, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My parents and I came to the hotel really late in the evening. the room was wonderful a/c did its job beautifully. tv box didnt work they fixed that by the time we came back from mammoth that day. When my dad went to see what was wrong with the phones he got "oh they are working on it" no appology. and the map said vending machine which it did not have one and of course how late we arrived nothing was open

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If I could I'd make it 3 1/2 stars. I see a number of bad reviews...I can only speak of my own experiences from two stays. Both times, my rooms were clean, and the woman checking me in was friendly. One trip I had a late check-in and she was helpful, and one time I lost my key out hiking. I expected a ridiculous charge, but she just smiled and said, 'it happens.'

As far as the noise, yes, some rooms face the road, but in my two trips there, the traffic pretty much dies after dark. And since I'm out photographing sunset at the tufas, I'm usually one of the only cars out there at that time. Most of the rooms face the lake are quiet. Most have a decent view of the lake. Someone mentioned a tree, but I'd guess that only partially blocks a room or two. I'm guessing most, if not all, the other hotels in town, are also on this road and have to deal with traffic noise to some extent.

Also, here's my opinion on why I don't consider it over priced like some reviews; some people seem to be comparing it to hotels somewhere else; I'm choosing to factor in the location and other factors, such as the fact that all the hotels in town are old, and there are only a few, so choices are limited. The town is next to Mono Lake and Yosemite...that has to be a factor, meaning a hotel of its age, caliber, etc. is going to cost more than if the hotel was in some other non-destination locale. Sure, it'd be nice if this hotel was cheaper or newer, but it seems in line with the other few hotels in the area. You're paying for location and convenience, not having to drive up from some other towns.

All in all, I'd stay here again, but I'm also open to trying out one of the other hotels if I could get similar prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal_PTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yreka, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

WOW! This place is so over-priced. I was expecting old but clean. That is exactly what I got. But I never expected no air conditioning... this was the worst nights' sleep I have had in a long time. I resent paying that price to sweat all night and not sleep for it. The beds are hard... you have to sleep with your windows open which makes it loud everytime your neighbors have a conversation. The staff was rude and didn't bother to tell me they would not e available after 4:30. I would NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepyon8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
3.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
21.6 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
21.5 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bridgeport
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 stars 918 reviews
12.5 mi away
Heidelberg Inn
Heidelberg Inn
#4 of 7 in June Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
13.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Resort
Whispering Pines Resort
#7 of 7 in June Lake
3.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Gateway Motel

Property: Yosemite Gateway Motel
Address: 51340 Highway 395, PO Box 250, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Yosemite Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Gateway Hotel Lee Vining
Yosemite Gateway Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing