We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Lee Vining - grossly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Extremely dissapointing -jjust because of it's proximity to Yosemite there is an effective premium of probably $100 per night - we paid $194 & would expect to have paid $75 in most other locations - had we not booked in advance we would not have stopped. Look at the photos - the main highway is less than 3mtrs away so the trucks sound as though they are coming in, & we were in Room 5, below & behind the road with a view of Lake Mono - just - as there is a big pine right outside so you see it through the branches. Our impression & experience was much as Jeremy 138. Stop in Bishop & get up early if you want to spend all day doing Tioga Road & hiking off it.

Room Tip: All of the rooms will suffer severe traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Yosemite Gateway Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our arrival: Reception was unfriendly, the paint was all peeling, our room was literally straight off the road, the room was small for the price and the veranda looked dreadful -it had been 'safety enhanced' with rusty wire sheep fencing! However, everything in the room worked well, the shower was good and the information brochure was excellent, with lots of useful information written by a knowledgeable local (eg: suggesting by far the best shoreline spot to watch a Mono Lake sunset)
Not worth the money, however.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had the best view of mono lake and beautiful sunrise from our bedroom window. Room was clean, no air conditioning but you don't need it with windows opened. We stayed there for 1 night in late June and we were comfortable with blanket on and 40 degrees at night. Watch out the shower. It was powerful. Diner and grocery store across the street. Convenient location but still an hour and 45 minutes from Yosemite Valley.

Room Tip: Room 11 has the best view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spend here one night. The motel looks a bit creepy from the outside. Well ot does need a bit of paint. Before taking the room we checked 2 other motels close by, by price and quality, but this one was nicer compared to others. The room was very nice and cozy. Most of the rooms have a very nice view over the lake. You can also sit outside of your room and enjoy the view. The room did not have a frigde or air/co. But the air/co was not needed in June, i think. I enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just got back from Mono lake and stayed two nights at the gateway hotel. The beds are firm and comfortable and the room was clean. This is not the Ritz Carlton, but if your looking for a place to stay, The Gateway is fine. Take the Tioga pass road through yosemite to see some awesome scenery. No worries.


Mac

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank slimmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Unfriendly reception and dirty rooms. That's a 100% no-no! The terrace with view on the lake was OK but honestly this is just not worth it.
Do they forget they are in the hospitality-service business? lol
I wish there was a good chain hotel coming in this town. Sad to say but true!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frederickra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My wife and I spent a glorious day in Yosemite and traveled over the Tioga Pass and into the town of Lee Vining. It was 10 p.m. and everything was closed except a few motels. We had read the reviews about "bugs" in several motels and had second thoughts, but tried this place anyway. Bottom line--I don't believe the few bad reviews! Our room with twin queen beds was very clean, everything worked fine (heat, fan, hot water, etc.) and we were entirely satisfied with this place. It overlooks Mono Lake at sunrise and is right across the street from a vintage family-run restaurant that opens at 7:00 a.m. A sign in our room explained that "midges" show up in very large numbers throughout the lake area in the fall and hang out for about ten days. They are smaller than mosquitoes, do not bite or sting, but can be annoying. These may be the "bugs" that another reviewer talked about. Our mattresses were firm and restful and had zipped sanitation enclosures. I would stay here again with no hesitation. It is good value for the money and is within a reasonable drive of Yosemite, Mammoth Lakes, the June Lake Loop, Bodie, and other very cool places besides Mono Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank moonhowlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.1 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
603 reviews
21.5 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,440 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
206 reviews
13.2 mi away
Whispering Pines Motel
Whispering Pines Motel
#7 of 7 in June Lake
90 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
#1 of 2 in Lee Vining
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Gateway Motel

Address: 51340 Highway 395, PO Box 250, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lee Vining
Price Range: $131 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yosemite Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite Gateway Hotel Lee Vining
Yosemite Gateway Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing