We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected...”
Review of Murphey's Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lee Vining
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Murphey's Motel
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Made last minute reservations and was expecting it to be an "okay" motel, but was proven wrong! The place is a bit old but it was SUPER clean. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The bathroom was exceptionally spotless!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
There are newer reviews for Murphey's Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 339 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are planning a Yosemite trip or other trips in the area. We wanted a place near the 120 entrance to Yosemite so my dad suggested to look in Lee Vining. This is the only location that is dog friendly and we took our 12 year old Pomeranian. The owners are super friendly and helpful. There is a great deck in front we ate dinner out on one night. One afternoon my mom and I sat and had coffees and read magazines. The rooms are very spacious. I usually am a snob, I stay at 5 star hotels. Knowing this was a Yosemite trip and I wasn't going to really find my type of place I was a little scared. But honestly, this place felt very family oriented and I had everything I needed. We will for sure be back the next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This motel is on the main strip of Lee Vining and somewhat overlooks Mono Lake. Since there aren't many options in this area, the price was relatively high, but comparable to other motels in the area. They close their office at 8 p.m. so you have to check in before this! We had to cut our one day Yosemite stop a bit short to ensure we made it to the motel before being locked out. Also, don't lose your key or accidentally lock the door the wrong way or you will be locked out all night (I heeded the warning!). Staff was professional, but not warm in their welcome.

The property is clean and charming on the outside with an outside patio area. The rooms were clean, basic and fine for a motel. TV worked, but was old. The "free wifi" was pretty much non-existent when we tried it. There was a small refrigerator in the room and free ice access. Several restaurant options were within a short walk. I always carry earplugs for a good night's sleep and that helped with the noise of people walking back and forth and/or up and down the wooden stairs. A hair dryer was available as were a few soaps and shampoo. Linens were clean.

Although it was too busy to try out our one night here, there is a great place at the Mobil Gas Station (Tioga Gas Mart) called THE WHOA NELLI DELI that is super popular and serves gourmet meals out of their diner/store/station. We ate at Bodie Mikes BBQ which was great.

I would recommend it and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose second floor, but you probably won't have a choice.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The best aspects of this motel are the location and the size of the rooms. It is an older property, but our room was very adequate - we had an unusual configuration of one queen bed and one twin, which worked for us. The television was small, but that didn't really matter to us. We stayed in Lee Vining to go to Yosemite, so this motel worked for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just about everything was average -- from the welcome to the room & amenities. The price ($126) however seemed high for what we got. I wouldn't stay again, especially since there are plenty of alternatives in Lee Vining. If you do end up having to stay here, ask for an upstairs room -- this is a wooden structure and in the dowstairs rooms you hear every footstep above you!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Plus: clean, spacious, fridge, no room noise from adjacent rooms and friendly staff. Minuses: worn mattress and road noise. Bring ear plugs and book a room upstairs or in the back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauramcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here to overnight before heading through Yosemite. It was clean, pretty basic. Our rate with taxes was $125, which I felt was a little steep, but middle of the road price for the area. There was a refrigerator and microwave. The front desk was a little abrupt, but we checked in and didn’t need anything after that. They said it was not staffed after 10:00pm. Mono lake’s south tufa is a 20 minute drive and there are free daily guided nature walks at 10:00am and 1:30pm that are worth the park entry fee of $3 a person. There are also bird watching tours and star gazing tours, not sure on exact times, but only on certain days.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lee Vining
0.2 mi away
Lake View Lodge
Lake View Lodge
#2 of 4 in Lee Vining
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yosemite Gateway Motel
Yosemite Gateway Motel
#4 of 4 in Lee Vining
255 reviews
21.7 mi away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
840 reviews
21.4 mi away
Walker River Lodge
Walker River Lodge
#2 of 5 in Bridgeport
206 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
Tioga Lodge at Mono Lake
#1 of 2 in Lee Vining
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphey's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphey's Motel

Address: 51493 Highway 395, P. O. Box 57, Lee Vining, CA 93541
Location: United States > California > Lee Vining
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lee Vining
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphey’s Motel is a family owned and operated establishment in Lee Vining, California. We are located in the Eastern High Sierra, just 14 miles from the Eastern entrance to Yosemite National Park and minutes from Mono Lake. Our motel is open year round and caters to travelers seeking to enjoy the many wonders close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Murphey`s Hotel Lee Vining

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing