We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Market Value Ice Cream”
Review of Mono Cone

Mono Cone
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lee Vining
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
PA
Level Contributor
574 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Market Value Ice Cream”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Quality ice cream and a California price. Great Drive-In food. Kids will be happy. When visiting Mammoth Area and Mono area, just expect to leave with a lighter wallet ... then you will be happy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Awesome burgers and my favorite, FRIED PICKLES! Love this place! They have really good shakes as well!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Casey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best burgers and shakes on hwy 395!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We have visited Lee Vining every September for years. One of our favorite places to eat is Mono Cone. Even though they are closed for winter starting October, if you are in the area over Spring and Summer, treat yourself!! Highly recommend the jalapeño burger!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Remlapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good ice cream but pricey and iffy service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

This place is pretty expensive in my opinion. It was $4 for a regular old vanilla soft serve, size large. It's $3 for a small and almost $7 for a waffle cone soft serve. If you want sprinkles, it's .75 more. Shakes were about $5. The selection was quite poor seeing as all they had was vanilla. They had an odd way of breaking it to us. We said "Could he have a large half and half?" and the woman gave us a dead-eyed "No" and only elaborated when we asked why.

We were hoping that they'd offer to drizzle some chocolate or something on it to make up for only having one flavor, but alas they did not (unless we wanted to pay more). At least the vanilla was nice and creamy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaitlinK1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Short Mono Cone Story”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On the way to Burning Man with 4 other people, I insisted we stop here for lunch. One of my companions asked me "you can afford to eat in fancy restaurants, why do you care about a burger place?" Several hours later, we were wolfing down their excellent chow and she said "Oh, now I get it."

The End.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bronxite58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mono Cone also viewed

 
Lee Vining, CA
 

Been to Mono Cone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing