We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Love this Spectacular Drive

The Tioga Road is the highest highway pass in the Sierras and the views are incredible. Allow... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Evelyn C
,
Byhalia, Mississippi
One of the most scenic drives in the USA

The drive on Tioga Road is easily one of the most breathtaking in the USA. From East to West, you... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jeremiah Z
,
Hudson, Wisconsin
Read all 343 reviews
  
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
218
27
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
27
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yosemite valley tenaya lake take your time olmsted point beautiful drive enter yosemite national park speed limit high sierras mono lake great scenic your eyes lembert dome jaw dropping cathedral peak pothole dome clouds rest
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 247 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Tioga Road is the highest highway pass in the Sierras and the views are incredible. Allow plenty of time for the road because it is twisty and slow going in some parts (but worth the effort). Make sure to stop at Olmstead Point and Tanaye Lake for gorgeous scenery.

Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This road is only open in warmer weather and eventually closes until spring around Oct-Nov which then eliminates this area as an entry point to Yosemite. One can enter or exit at Lee Vining and then explore the remainder of the park to the south and east.

Thank tornillo2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The drive on Tioga Road is easily one of the most breathtaking in the USA. From East to West, you sharply rise up into the Sierra Nevada mountains pass scenic Ellery and Tioga Lakes into Yosemite NP. In the park, the road levels out for awhile as you pass through the scenic Tuolumne Meadows and past Tenaya Lake and Olmstead Point. After this, the road becomes more wind-y and it eventually makes it's way down towards the end near the Tuolumne Grove of Sequoias. There are so many great hiking opportunities that depart from Tioga Road that one could spend weeks in the area in not see everything there is to see. For my money, I prefer the scenery and hiking along Tioga Road over Yosemite Valley itself. It's way less crowded, and the hiking affords much more, imo. The road is usually open mid-May to early November. Don't miss this part of Yosemite NP on your visit!

Thank Jeremiah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This excellent, scenic and well maintained road provides a breath taking entry into Yosemite National Park.

Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

The road from Lee Vining to Yosemite Valley is one magnificent view after another. There are plenty of pull-offs for taking photos of the surrounding peaks, which is quite useful as looking at the scenery rather than the road could lead to one big drop. Either up it or down it makes for a great drive.

Thank phil52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

If you're headed into Yosemite (or through), I can't recommend Tioga Road enough... The views are incredible and constantly changing. You'll have views of the High Sierras, meadows, alpine lakes, and more. Well worth the drive!

Thank jmkru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

The pass is not open year round so plan your trip. If you drive from Lee Vining "the back side of the Sierra's" you'll come down into Yosemite Valley. Along the way you'll pass lakes, meadows, valleys, hiking spots and beautiful view points. Take your time and enjoy the views.

Thank GRS-SJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

We drove this way on our way to yosemite valley ,fantastic views ,brilliant scenery lots of viewing points and stopping places

Thank GJCOX1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

We just finished driving from Lee Vining to Fresno through Yosemite in a 40’ Tiffin Phaeton with tow car. No problems with the tunnels (we were nervous before we left for this trip) and no problems on the winding road. We did pull over every time we saw a place so cars could pass us, but often we were alone without a “tail”. Lovely this time of year. Of course, the views are spectacular and we had lunch in the coach at one of the roadside pull offs to really enjoy them. Hope this is helpful and calming for others with an RV.

1  Thank h0mefree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018

We drove from El Portal up to the Tioga Pass, and I spent the entire journey enthralled at the never ending spectacular views. Initially we worried that if we stopped at every pull out for the view that we would not make it to every planned item on our visit list. However I must impart that we stopped at almost every one throughout the day, and it was well worth the effort. We had two close but comfortable encounters with bears (one eating a large carcass around a hundred yards off of the road). I could spend hours describing the lakes and valleys, the endless meadows and the craggy rock faces, but would prefer you take the time to take this drive yourself. Of the multitude of options for things to do here, simply driving from one end to the other is not high on people’s lists, but it is journey that should not be missed.

Thank wmerry2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews