We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trick someone else into driving” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tioga Road

Tioga Road
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Lee Vining
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This road, leading to Yosemite's high country, winds through one of the highest mountain passes in the state.
Nashville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trick someone else into driving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Wow, what a view. My only regret was that I happened to be driving through the pass with a big group of people who made sure to let me know what I was missing. On our way back through I made sure that I was not the driver and was amazed at how beautiful the pass was.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    42
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RIO DE JANEIRO
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Altough snowed at night, the road was open and we could see so many scenic points through the road. Excellent road to pass trhough Yosemite Park, is the east entrance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CASSIA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Jaw dropping scenery (snow on peaks, alpine lakes, granite domes, rivers, meadows), wonderful hiking opportunities, wildlife, skies full of stars. What's not to like! Everyone's walking around with big grins.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful scenic route into Yosemite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A "not to be missed" road trip if your planning to visit Yosemite...The route is closed during winter so plan your visit accordingly...you'll be disappointed if you don't.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hair raising ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The views from this drive are amazing! If you are in the area, take the drive up to Yosemite, it only takes around 30 mins. Well worth it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Photorod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tioga Road also viewed

 
California, United States
Yosemite National Park, CA
 

Been to Tioga Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing