We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on your way to LA or the new Tejon Outlets!”

Mauricio's Grill & Cantina
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Lebec
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Visalia, CA
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great stop on your way to LA or the new Tejon Outlets!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stopped to charge our Tesla and were starving! Across the street was a new mexican restaurant so we decided to try it out! They make guacamole table side which is pretty cool. The chips and salsa were excellent! The food can be a little on the "bland" side for mexican food, however I would imagine most of the clientele couldn't handle "real" mexican heat! The service was fast and the food overall was really good. Great place to stop if you don't want to eat any of the myriad of mediocre fast food in the area! There is a Chipolte nearby, but after using the restrooms we decided to leave, the place was absolutely filthy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice sit-down alternative to the other choices in Lebec”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were driving up the 5 and had intended to eat at a specific quick-food restaurant but the line was literally coming out the door, so we decided to try this place since we were in the mood for Mexican. The staff was friendly and the restaurant was new and clean. The bar area looked nice for watching sports and there are also booths to eat at on the other side of the restaurant. The food was average though. Not the worst food I've eaten, but it lacked something. But if you're traveling through (which I'm guessing most people do in Lebec!) and want to sit in a nice spot and be waited on, this restaurant would work for you. They also offer a kid's menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok for a stop while traveling”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Not the best, but definately not the worst. We went here for dinner tonight. The restaurant just opened two months ago, so maybe word hasn't gotten out yet. There was one other couple who came right after we did, and 2 others who came in and sat at the bar. Food was ok, and better than fast food,which we don't eat. I had the vegetarian enchilada's - came with beans and white rice. Served hot and did have some flavor, although they did taste like they had been frozen. Service was good, and the waiter attentive. I would probably eat here again, only because it's convenient to the hotel we usually stay at. There is also a full service bar with Happy Hour nightly from 3-7.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Good food. Worth the slightly high price.”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

I had the Camarones A La Diabla....... Mmm-mmm good.
Complex chili flavor, not as "Diablo (hot/spicy) as I like but... the right amount of onions, and a generous amount of tender shrimp. This is one of my all-time favorite Mexican food dishes which I sample everywhere I travel whenever it's on the menu. You'll see many, many Mexican food restaurant reviews of mine about this dish.
I would order this again here in a heartbeat. It was served with spanish rice (tender and lightly seasoned), a small amount of refried beans (with a topping of mild cheese), and a warm pile of very crisp-tender chips & tasty salsa.

The service was spot-on (though it was only 5pm and the place was empty). Easy to find, lots of open parking, right off the highway.

I thought the prices on the menu were a little high for Mexican food though. Mine was #20.99,,, but,,, there was a good amount of tender shrimp, so, no real complaint here.

They've been open for just a few months. They have a really nice looking cocktail bar alongside the completely open dinning room- very nice. Tucked in with the Best Western, this area is basically a traveler's pit-stop (gas stations, hotels, food) so I have to wonder how well the bar will do. The restaurant though.......... worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny_OI812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Cda
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“New Restaurant in Lebec”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western in Lebec, CA, and in the same parking area a new Mexican Restaurant had just opened up. Mauricio's Grill was new and it showed as you walked in. The staff were very attentive and there was lots of room for seating. While we are used to better prices in Arizona, the food was very good after a long, stressful drive. This restaurant is much preferred over the many fast food eateries in the area, and our dinner was quite enjoyable. While we ate at a table, there is also a bar area with tv's for that important game after work. Nice, new, and enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cannuk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mauricio's Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing