We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“freeway treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Liberty Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lebec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2011

with many best western motels showing their age, over priced and run by less then caring management this one is a great exception.
newly remodeled, the room was spacious and very clean.
management really made us feel they were glad to have us stay there.
their prices were inline on the moderate side. very comfortable beds and what i especially enjoyed was how quiet it was. i was concerned that being a part of a truck stop environment there would be excessive noise and i am a very light sleeper. i was pleasantly surprised that i was able to get a great night's sleep.

Room Tip: ask for aarp or aaa discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricrest3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 213 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2010

No complaints. Room was spacious and comfortable, flat screen tv, coffee and microwave, extremely friendly staff. I did not have a reservation. Just got tired driving and pulled off I-5 when I saw a 'lodgings next stop' sign. This happened to be the place. I paid $85

My room was right next to the stairs on the second floor, and yes, I could hear people in the lobby (Celtics/Lakers game was on in the dining room), but not in any way that bothered me. Also: There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi, free wifi, free HBO, free breakfast. (Not the best, but coffee was good and you can make your own waffles)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stopped at the Best Western Liberty Inn on our way to Phoenix. We had been on the road for 24 hours and decided to stop. Good location, at the end of the I-5, with gas stations and restaurants nearby. We didn't notice the walls to be particularly thin, as previous reviewers have commented on. I guess we were too tired to notice, having been on the road for so long. The hotel was attractive, staff was friendly and welcoming, and we were able to get a nice breakfast at the Iron Skillet next door before leaving. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. Typical Best Western hospitality, and expectations were met.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VegasSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

While returning to San Diego, we chose to stay overnight at this facility, rather than try to drive over the Grapevine in bad weather in the dark. We called ahead of time to reserve a room, and our reservation was ready. The room was adequate--fine for overnight sleeping. Bed slightly firmer than I like, but lots of pillows. Plenty of room for the three of us. The bathroom was definitely minimalist. Like other reviewers, the walls are thin, can hear everything from the hall way (don't think there were other people in the adjacent rooms). And being right off the interstate, there is definite rumbling from the tractor-trailer rigs.
Did not take advantage of the breakfast, as we really needed to get on the road in the morning. Did notice as we were checking in that there were old pastries still left out on the counter. Would not have touched them in the am!

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We were willing to deal with a fan that sounded like a small helicopter in distress (we had to use it or we would have been up all night from the noise). We were willing to deal with screaming babies (twins) next door (very poorly insulated walls/hallways). But when I woke up to find someone else's foot dirt at the bottom of my bed...that was the straw that broke this mother's back! They had a big to do about dragging the head of the cleaning staff into the room to look. What is she going to say - yeah I don't bother putting on clean sheets on occasion? She then swore she had changed the sheets herself. To their credit...$25 was taken off of our bill. But it put us off of Best Western all together. It seems to be hit and mostly miss with this company. We stayed at one in Rice Hill, Orange/Centre Drive by Disneyland, Island Palms (San Diego), and then this one. The only one I would go back to is the one a few miles off from Disney (only issue was a very uncomfortable pull out for the kids...so much so that we had to get a cot and then pay an extra $10 so our kids could get a decent night's sleep)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilliwackmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and toddler in November after Thanksgiving. The room was above the lobby and the walls were so thin we could hear all the conversations the hotel staff had over the phone. The room itself was adequate. The breakfast spread was impressive with a good variety including cereal, danishes, bread and bagels for toasting, oatmeal packets, hot drinks, juice, and whole fruit. There were even some hard boiled eggs on a chilled platter which is more than what most continental breakfasts offer. I noticed that the hardboiled eggs were peeled, however, which meant that someone had to have peeled them, and I hope they had clean hands when they did that. I also noticed there were no common-use tongs to pick up the danishes/bread or eggs with, so people would just reach in and grab them, and hopefully not touch the food they were not taking. I saw one kid reach in for a danish, then change his mind, and grab another one, so I think they should provide tongs. I would recommend this place for a short stay since it is convenient and reasonable when traveling along the 5; just beware of the food hygiene.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

All in all, I prefer the chain hotel a few miles up the road to the south, where we stayed last time. Staying on the north side of the Grapevine is incredibly convenient, as you leave in the morning, headed north, with no traffic and a fast ride. But this hotel just doesn't deserve to be a Best Western. The rooms are very large. But the amenities are minimal for a first-class motel -- no easy chair, no Kleenex (!), low-quality sheets, a too-firm mattress, and the continental breakfast is undistinguished.

Luck of the draw, the young man who checked us in (a local college student) went out of his way to be helpful -- even offered to carry our bags, and directed me to the nearest convenience store. So I rate the service very high indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lebec
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Lebec
14.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frazier Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Motel 6 Lebec
Motel 6 Lebec
#4 of 4 in Lebec
83 reviews
23.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
209 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#33 of 63 in Bakersfield
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Liberty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Liberty Inn

Address: 5521 Dennis McCarthy Dr, Lebec, CA 93243-9721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lebec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lebec
Price Range: $126 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Liberty Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover this Lebec, California hotel located a short drive from Tejon Ranch and Six Flags Magic Mountain and offers a complimentary full breakfast.Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn will appreciate the exceptional value, friendly service-oriented staff and variety of amenities offered to make any stay comfortable and memorable. This Lebec, California hotel is located where the air is fresh and crisp and the area attractions are just a short drive away.Each well-appointed room at the BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn features free high-speed Internet access and cable satellite television. Guests are invited to enjoy a complimentary full breakfast each morning. Other hotel amenities include an indoor swimming pool; spa and sauna open year round.The BEST WESTERN Liberty Inn is ideally situated 10 miles from Tejon Ranch. Families will enjoy this Lebec hotel's proximity to Six Flags Magic Mountain, Disneyland, Hollywood and Universal Studios. Yosemite National Park is also two hours south of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Liberty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liberty Hotel Lebec
Best Western Lebec
Lebec Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing