We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”
Review of Wheels Cafe & Pub

Wheels Cafe & Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

Food is ok, they have vegetarian options and can adapt their menu for you. Not all the workers are nice. Would be nice if they have fruits for making natural juices

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank I8543VYdanielag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2018

We were driving south on highway 101 back to San Francisco after visiting the Avenue of the Giants. We were all hungry for breakfast and we stopped at the Wheels Cafe. It is right on the highway so you can't miss it. The food was good but the service was excellent. We had a server named Iris who was friendly and attentive. She went out of her way to be sure that our breakfasts were to our liking. She definitely does an very good job of making sure that her customers and completely satisfied with their meals. The egg dishes were delicious and I suggest you stop in to have breakfast if you are passing through Laytonville. Thanks again Iris.You were great and made us feel very welcome.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cineteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Terrible. My meatloaf was burnt. My vegetables were burnt. The salad bar was ok but the cottage cheese tasted close to its use by date. My wife's coleslaw was just plain bad.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank V2885JXkevinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

since moving to sourthern oregon, we frequently travel 101 to and from the bay area. we're always looking for a different place to eat - one that's friendly, clean, good and reasonable. not that easy to find. but, i think we found one!

we've driven past Wheels Cafe & Pub several times, and finally, the timing was right. we stopped to have BLTs. mine w/avocado and s side of fruit. hubby's with a side of fries. everything was EXcellent!! my wheat, his sourdough, toasted perfectly. the bacon was excellent - thick, well cooked, non-greasy. lettuce and tomatoes were fresh. silly, how a simple BLT can be SO good and tasty.

service was great. restaurant was clean. restroom was fresh and clean. the salad bar looked terrific. at the counter was a pastry case with items that looked to die for! unfortunately, we didn't leave room for a treat. but there's 'next time'!!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

If you are driving in northern California on US 101, Wheels is a good spot for supper. It has the advantage of being one of the few places open at night. We stopped or a Friday night @ 8PM and was glad we did.
Ordered a dinner which included the salad bar, very well stocked for a small cafe and pub. The shrimp pasta was fair, and the chicken fried stack above average. What it laced in decor was made up in the friendly waitress. The waiter not so much.
If your near Laytonville you have a decent place for a meal, if so included a brew.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheels Cafe & Pub also viewed

Laytonville, Mendocino County
Laytonville, Mendocino County
 
Laytonville, Mendocino County
Laytonville, Mendocino County
 
Laytonville, Mendocino County
Laytonville, Mendocino County
 

Been to Wheels Cafe & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing