We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cocktails”
Review of Boomers Saloon

Boomers Saloon
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The cocktails are good, the food terrible, the workers are old and have not a bartender vibe, they are always at the phone and never talk to you. The place is very nice but needs another energy

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank I8543VYdanielag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 19 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2020

Let's put it this way—if drinking is your thing, Boomer's is your place. If eating is your thing, get thee to La Casona or even Wheels before you end up at Boomer's. The place has been around for decades, and it kinda looks it. It's got pool tables, a lively bar, personable staff, and a nice old-timey vibe. The "dining room" is in one corner, with about eight or nine tables. They're grouped in front of a fireplace, which is a nice touch, and winter is one of the best times to go to Boomer's. The problem is that the food is not that great and is overpriced. A side salad costs $5 and you could cover it with a coffee cup (that's a bit of an exaggeration but not much). Fish and chips is OK, but Wheels is better. They have specials—I recommend the turkey, which is a complete TG-style dinner with mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce. This sort of thing they do well.
By all means, avoid the "buffet" breakfasts that they serve on biker weekends. You get a dollop of scrambled eggs, one slice of bacon (the server sneered when we asked for a second), watery toast. For that I believe we paid $10. I might have excused it all had it not been for the sneer.
But I don't want to give the wrong impression. Mostly the staff is great, and if you want to meet Laytonvilleans, who are a smart, eclectic, and opinionated bunch, sit at the bar and have at it. And maybe get the burger.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Linnea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Had lunch. The Cobb salad was excellent. Chili dog very generous portion. Good basic eats. Service excellent. Bar interior but light and well maintained. Good place for road trip stop.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Pop-upPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

Food was amazing! We had burgers and fries! Burger was cooked to perfection and the taste was amazing. We had beer that was very cold. Wait staff was attentive and friendly! Glad we stopped.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank LaRaeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2019 via mobile

Stopped on our way through on vacation. The lunch menu is limited but still plenty to pick from. We got an appetizer combo platter (3 items). We opted for beer battered fish, wings (teriyaki sauce on the side) and cream cheese jalapeño poppers. The food was hot and fresh. The bartender was super friendly.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Cbrusty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boomers Saloon also viewed

Laytonville, Mendocino County
Laytonville, Mendocino County
 
Laytonville, Mendocino County
Laytonville, Mendocino County
 
Laytonville, Mendocino County
Laytonville, Mendocino County
 

Been to Boomers Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing