We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better than a transient hotel...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No better than a transient hotel...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The flight to LAX had been delayed for many hours and we finally arrived well after midnight. We proceeded to the Days Inn in Lawndale, CA which had been rated 3 Stars and received numerous awards as a decent middle of the road place to stay. We had reservations for 10 days, no less. A significant revenue for this hotel.
Our first impression, checking in through a "night window", left us wondering if the area had "problems", but we went along given the long day of travel.
The room was situated on the second floor. We found the elevator nearby, in a state of dubious cleanliness and making it's own symphony of sounds and noises! Elevators in hotels are always a good indicator of how well a place is cared for. So strike number two for this place! This is looking less than promising at this point.., but the best was yet to come!!! We finally arrived in the room and what an assault on the senses it was - the permeating nicotine, the moldy smell , the dark decor, the noisy fan, just a little heaven! We resolved to stay put as it was now nearly 04:00 am. But we would be leaving, first thing in the morning, xxling our 10 day stay. Upon further investigation of our room, we found a "stash of popcorn" under the bed enhanced with gum on the carpet - there it was- free food and sustenance for our trouble- haha!!! It wasn't quite this funny initially though. Adding insult to injury, the sheets and the towels proved to be truly interchangeable because they were of the same "thickness", can't get warm with that or dry yourself off. Just no joy here! By 07:00 and without using the shower, preferring my Eau de Boeing cologne, from the fligh earlier, we visited the reception to announce our imminent departure. The young man made the effort of offering to change our room but we had lost all confidence in the place, its' ratings and the wonderful awards some org. bestowed on it. We settled and left.
In closing, the place looks and feels more like a transient hotel than a 3 star decent middle of the road place. I would NOT recommend the place to anyone. We moved on to another area called Calabassas and were satisfied with what we found for less money... Review to come shortly!

Room Tip: Much better can be had in the other directions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TTTABEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    58
    44
    36
    39
See reviews for
61
42
23
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, always available, close to shopping freeways and restaurants. PRIVATE & DISCREET. Frequent traveler. First choice when I'm in town. Safe. Kid & Small pet friendly. Recommend to ALL of my friends & family

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saveaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I never stay in the LA area and didn't know what to expect but the hotel was clean and seemed to be in an okay area. I think it was a good value for the price compared to other LA hotels. Also, it was very convenient and close to the freeway...but not too close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I used to live in the LA area and wanted a place to stay close to the airport but at a value. This location was awesome and I would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed for one night and everything was well,we saw some negative and positive reviews but you get what you pay for,this is not a five star hotel but the money you pay for is what you get.the staff is super nice and very attentive,definitely will stay here again if we happen to come to la,and yes rooms are nice and clean although the motel looks little old but who cares when everything else went smooth.

Room Tip: Need car to go around,few restaurants within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawndale
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites LAX/Lawndale
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crystal Inn Suites & Spas - LAX
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Cockatoo Near LAX Airport
2.5 mi away
Crimson Hotel
Crimson Hotel
#8 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
2.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach

Property: Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach
Address: 15636 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, Lawndale, CA 90260 (Formerly Days Inn Airport South Bay LAX)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Los Angeles LAX/ Redondo and Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Airport South Bay Lax Hotel Lawndale
Days Inn Lawndale
Lawndale Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing