We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convienent for LAX” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Convienent for LAX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We only stayed one night after a long flight, the hotel was just 15 minutes from the car hire pick up and easy to find off the freeway. The room was a nice size and well presented. The members of staff I interacted with were friendly and pleasent. Overall a typical Best Western Hotel that provided a good nights sleep followed by a nice buffet breakfast to set u up for the start of our vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    94
    78
    29
    30
See reviews for
83
102
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel was is a typical Bestwestern, looks good on the outside, in a pretty good location for my business, reasonably priced, comfortable bed, quiet room with an exercise facility and pool. GREAT front desk staff, very friendly, knowledgeable of the area and restaurants and takes care of small problems PROMPTLY.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBH, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. We strive to extend excellent service to go with our great product. By telling us what you liked about your stay you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback.

Thank you again for taking time to complete the survey. We hope you will return and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Noel V. AZURIN
Customer Care Department
Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Without a guide, the TV/control is totally SCREWED. Any channel you press gets a snowy screen. Had to use the channel up and down for the whole stay. Even the displayed TV station had two systems of numbering. You need an interpreter! First time I've missed breakfast because it ended early @9:30.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank photous_passing_by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBH, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Please note that our provider upgraded their system recently and only allow stations that broadcasted digitally to be included in the list. There is an updated TV stations list on the compendium/blue binder on the work desk.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 310-973-0998.

Thank you.

Noel V. AZURIN
Customer Care Department
Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawndale hotels

Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. There was an issue with noise coming from outside the hotel. I mentioned it to the front desk and left for a little while. After I came back to my room it was obvious that an employee from the hotel went into my room without my permission, while I was gone. Nothing was missing, so I assume that it was to identify the noise. It was very unusual that they didn't ask permission to enter the room.
I was switched to a different room due to the noise. The new room had un-flushed paper/cloth left in the toilet. There was a piece of paper placed across the toilet seat saying that it had been sanitized, despite not being flushed or clean. The hotel was absolutely not worth the price. I would recommend staying some place else.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frquentravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBH, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give a review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. We would like to mention that there was a party being held outside of the hotel and the noise was coming from that direction. Nobody from the hotel staff entered your room. We value your business and will be using your feedback to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

what a lovely bunch of people work at this hotel led by Keith and his team including Tara on reception and Rick also the two Martines and all the cleaners. The room is spacious and has comfortable beds and plump pillows. the shower is powerfu and everywhere spotlessly clean.WE booked this hotel through ebookers in the UK as part of a package.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBH, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Donna,
Thank you for taking time to give a review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. Our aim is to extend excellent, friendly service so that all our guests will attain superior experience during the stay. We are glad we exceeded your expectations, and we value the feedback you gave. We await your next trip with us. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We wanted a place that was close to LAX but at a reasonable price and better neighborhood than Century Blvd. We had a pleasant (but not outstanding) 2 night stay here -- and a good price.

Pros -
- Pretty much a straight shot to LAX either by I-405 or via surface roads - your choice without too much fuss either way
- Neighborhood was okay -- not nearly as seedy as some places closer to LAX
- Reasonable price - with free parking. We did not try the continental breakfast but went down the road a bit to catch a Denny's\
- Clean - Although the lobby & hallways were a bit more "fresh" than the rooms
- Rooms were situated away from traffic noise

Cons -
- Room 335 was clean but a bit worn
- Walls a bit thin -- we were on the top floor but I imagine lower floors would pick up floor noise as well
- We picked this hotel from AAA - which had it listed as a '3 diamond' -- but we would consider it to be a 2 diamond (clean but basic).

Room Tip: Room 335 was located to at the top and to the rear of the building - which makes it pretty quiet. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NomDePlume00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBH, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit a review of your recent stay at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. Our hotel is indeed ideally located and close to LAX airport. We do try to maintain cleanliness at our property and keep our maintenance program ongoing to give our rooms a fresh look which includes the concerns you had. We value your feedback and use this to help us extend to our guests a superior experience when they stay with us. We await your next booking with us. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Had to be in the area for several days picking up and traveling with multiple clients arriving and departing from LAX. Was so relieved to walk into this place. Welcoming lobby, friendly staff, all cloaked in a very unassuming building. During my 3 day stay I had meetings in various hotels and restaurants in the surrounding area and am so grateful I stayed here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NocBluPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBH, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are so glad that you found your way to the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel. The hotel's location is indeed ideal being at the heart of the south bay and so close to LAX. Thank you for taking the time to give a review of your recent stay with us and having a superior experience at that. On your next visit please do not forget to avail of our amenities such as breakfast, high-speed internet access and if you fly in a complimentary shuttle to and from LAX.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawndale
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Lax/Lawndale
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western PLUS Gardena Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airpark Hotel
BEST WESTERN Airpark Hotel
#5 of 32 in Inglewood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel
Address: 15000 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, CA 90260-1503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California located midway between Disneyland and Universal Studios offers comfortable and affordable accommodations including a complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet access, free airport shuttle service, a swimming pool and an exercise facility. The Best Western South Bay Hotel provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television, ample desk space and a refrigerator. Every morning guests at this Los Angeles area hotel are greeted with a complimentary continental breakfast. After a busy day, guests can enjoy a dip in the swimming pool or a workout at the on-site fitness center. Lawndale, California Hotel Location. The hotel is conveniently located 2 to 5 miles from Southern California beaches, midway between Disneyland(R) and Universal Studios(R). Come experience the hospitality and professional service at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California. Visitors to the Los Angeles Area find well-appointed accommodations at this upgraded, Lawndale hotel, only two miles from the beach. This Best Western hotel offers easy access to all the great attractions in the L.A. area including the Hollywood Racetrack and Casino, South Coast Botanical Gardens, the Los Angeles Zoo, Little Tokyo and China Town. Travelers will also find the hotel near the University of California and the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawndale
Lawndale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing