We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it very much. They have a shuttle to LAX too. Manhattan Beach is about 10 miles down the road.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Ca
Level Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“We liked it very much. They have a shuttle to LAX too. Manhattan Beach is about 10 miles down the road.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Wanted a place close but not too close to LAX. The price was reasonable, quiet, clean and staff very friendly and helpful. The lobby furniture was from Granny's attic but very comfortable and looked brand new in the pictures. On the way to to the rooms, I noticed scrapes and damage to walls and got a bit nervous about the rooms. Not a 3 diamond , AAA look. However, the rooms were quiet, well appointed, ours roomy and had 32 LCD TV.The King room was small and had an old TV. Not as nice as ours. The beds were comfortable. We all slept well. The pool clean and hot tub too. The hotel restaurant was great , as was the complimentary cont.' breakfast. Parking was also a plus. We all enjoyed ourselves.
I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 3rd. floor, top floor rooms quiet and nice. Hak's Italian Restaurant great prices. too much food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank betsybubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    98
    86
    30
    32
See reviews for
91
106
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The stay was great, was in LA for a week and of course wanted to find somewhere cheap. The price front desk gave me was really good. Rooms were nice and clean, free breakfast was a huge plus along with the free shuttle to LAX. The staff were also friendly and genuinely helpful, don't have anything negative to tell you. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a non-hassle and comfortable stay for a cheap price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I was stuck in LA unexpectedly for 24 hours after the usual awful service and customer communication from AA after missing a connecting flight and being stuck grounded for 8 hours. I spoke with Cynthia on the front desk at close to midnight. She sorted out my room and those for 2 other stuck passengers efficiently and quickly. Rooms were clean and spacious. I got what I thought was a fair price for our rooms and most importantly it was so pleasent to deal with a stress free, decent person after such a poor experience with the airline and airport officials. Top marks Cynthia!

Room Tip: Speak with Cynthia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregHongKong16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Where do I start? Could it be the van driver driving 90 mph at 1am? Or could it be the gang initiation and verbal abuse happening next door at 230am? Or, could it be the different van driver taking us to the gas station at 7am prior to an 85 mph death race to the airport this morning.

I must agree that after turning white noise on the tv and passing out waiting for someone to burst into our room to kill us, the bed wasn't bad and the pillows were nice (there are the positives).

When I returned to the airport this morning, I went to the United service desk. When I told the rep where we were sent for the night, she said "nasty."

I'm not a snob, but would not put my family in a hotel like this, why should UA?

Stay away.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevelieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsouthbayca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

1) The company in charge of the van service, the airline and the hotel management were notified of the unsafe speed taken by the van drivers.

2) Management was notified of the gang initiation you reported and your feeling of being unsafe.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay. We do take our guest reviews seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lawndale hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I booked this room for my family who was coming in from out of town but ended up staying here myself. I stayed here with my mom and 1 1/2 yr old daughter. The hotel overall had a old hotel look that has had an upgrade. The beds where comfortable and the linens where not old. The room had a mini frig. but no microwave. My daughter ran around in her socks and her socks where clean. We didn't get a chance to use the fitness room or the pool. The breakfast the next morning was pretty standard. It included 2 waffle makers. I was a bit dissapointed that all they had for fruit was canned pineapple.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Trip Advisor you failed me big time on this hotel. Was flying out very early in the morning, and because of your positive reviews, I booked this hotel.When we drove up, and parked, I started getting nervous, as it looked like it could be a Motel 6 kind of place. Walking in to the lobby,I felt like bolting right then, but my husband who had driven for three hours was wanting to stay. Against my gut level feeling, I asked to see the room, and am I ever glad I did!!! Here comes the good part. I go up in the smelly elevator to the third floor, and there in the hall is this man sitting , with his socks off, on the cell, drinking a quart of beer!!!! It gets better, His friend is walking the hall on his phone , also drinking a can of beer. The rooms had towels under the unoccupied rooms, with the windows open. That did it for me, I went down stairs and told the very nice desk clerk, that we were leaving and finding another place. He totally understood. I think he saw the horror on my face!!!!

I would have rather stayed up all night, than to have stayed at this place.We did find a very nice hotel, and lesson learned for me, is you only get what you pay for. Comfort, and safety will always come first after this experience. Peace of mind is worth the few extra dollars

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoginiCa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwsouthbayca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry things did not work out as you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Your receipt was shared with the management and suggestions were made to make our valued guests feel safer here.

Please know that we do take our guest reviews seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS South Bay Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wandering River, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We needed a place to stay for a night and tired of driven, and stopped here. Front desk was the best with cutting a decent rate and advise on a resaraunt. By the way just down the street is a italian place, Franks I think. The best. Great price, great service, owner even walks you out. Back to the hotel, well bed was good and room fairly clean. May be a little noisy for some as main drag outside window, but I enjoyed it to watch the action. (accident at intersection with guy taking off down 1 way). Free breakfast in morning was good for free. Boiled eggs waffles and fruit. All in all good place for the price, with nice lookin pool that we never used.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bayliner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawndale
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites - Lax/Lawndale
1.6 mi away
Best Western Redondo Beach Galleria Inn
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Gardena Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Airpark Hotel
Best Western Airpark Hotel
#5 of 32 in Inglewood
460 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel
Address: 15000 Hawthorne Blvd, Lawndale, CA 90260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lawndale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lawndale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California located midway between Disneyland and Universal Studios offers comfortable and affordable accommodations including a complimentary breakfast, free high-speed internet access, free airport shuttle service, a swimming pool and an exercise facility. The Best Western South Bay Hotel provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. Each spacious, well-appointed room is fully equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, cable satellite television, ample desk space and a refrigerator. Every morning guests at this Los Angeles area hotel are greeted with a complimentary continental breakfast. After a busy day, guests can enjoy a dip in the swimming pool or a workout at the on-site fitness center. Lawndale, California Hotel Location. The hotel is conveniently located 2 to 5 miles from Southern California beaches, midway between Disneyland(R) and Universal Studios(R). Come experience the hospitality and professional service at the Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel in Lawndale, California. Visitors to the Los Angeles Area find well-appointed accommodations at this upgraded, Lawndale hotel, only two miles from the beach. This Best Western hotel offers easy access to all the great attractions in the L.A. area including the Hollywood Racetrack and Casino, South Coast Botanical Gardens, the Los Angeles Zoo, Little Tokyo and China Town. Travelers will also find the hotel near the University of California and the Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus South Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lawndale
Lawndale Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing