We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow... Snooty Front Desk Help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkspur
Certificate of Excellence
From Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow... Snooty Front Desk Help”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

First off, let me say that the room was nice, but predictable. It's your basic Marriot in a nice location. I heard a bit of traffic noise from the upper floor room, but all in all ... a comfortable and very corporate inn.

Now for my story. Walked into the hotel after the Giants playoff game. We were not dressed well as we were attending a Giants game, but definitely did not look like rag-a-muffins. The front office clerk (name unknown, but her name tag said she was from Petaluma, CA) looked us up and down and basically made us feel like hicks. I don't drink, so no alcohol was involved. Anyway, I booked a room and I felt as if she needed to get approval from corporate headquarters to allow people in jeans and t-shirts a place to stay for the night. She even made a comment when my credit card was approved... something along the lines of, "Well, that's a surprise!" The other desk clerk was much friendlier, but Miss Petaluma was not a pleasure to deal with... won't be staying here again as the hotel is much ado about nothing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeetarMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    142
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
108
88
20
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I loved this Marriott. We traveled here for a wedding in the area so the hotel was selected for us. What a great surprise. Well appointed, fresh, and lovely staff. Our room was on the first floor so we had a sliding door that opened onto the courtyard. There was a beautiful patio area with furniture and a gas/glass fire pit to lounge around. The look and feel of a much higher class hotel. It made a wonderful area to sit and visit with family/friends.

There was not a free breakfast with a delightful cafe was open all day with a great menu and food.

I would stay here even if I were going to San Francisco. Larkspur is a beautiful little community with a waterfront market and shops. Many young family were out enjoying the lovely atmosphere. Lots of cute little restaurants to choose from. It was a quick 15 minute drive over the Golden Gate bridge to the city and fisherman's wharf etc.

highly recommended

Room Tip: We loved the first floor room facing into the courtyard. We happened to be half way between the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

1 night business stay. 3rd floor - room 305. Small but nice balcony overlooking west side of hotel. Nice sunset. Easy access to the ferry - within walking distance - even has a wonderful pedestrian bridge. Room was very quiet, functional and efficient. Bed was comfy. Room had a long desk with pull out roller type work service. Couch and TV. Front desk staff helpful with check-in and out and early morning were quick with recommendations for my pre-breakfast "still dark outside" run routes that they considered safe. There is a very nice series of shops and resturants right across the street. The courtyard was very well done - very inviting. Breakfast staff was pleasant, quick and provided very nice service. I hope we win the business so I can stay at this location! I would stay here on my own dime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretL750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We always stay at this lovely clean, upscale Courtyard by Marriott, as our children live in Marin County. But as the hotel is just across the street from the ferry to San Francisco, it is a quiet and convenient (and depending on time of year, reasonable) alternative for high priced San Francisco hotels. The staff is extremely friendly. We stay two or three times a year, and are greeted by name when we arrive. Rooms are clean and quiet. Nicer rooms have small balconies.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
302 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for buisness and in all the buisness and famaily trips I have made, I have never stayed here before. It close to San Francisco and close to the wine country for a day trip. I ate in the Bistro and was very suprised how good the food was, even with a limited menue. Many guests were eating there, because of the ease and certainly the "front desk" advertising did not help. The wines servered were fresh and the staff very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor open up into the courtyard and pool. There is also an indoor pool as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaDawg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wing_girl01
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very disappointing for a Marriot. The bed was as hard as a rock with a mattress pad that was no thicker than a tablecloth and cheap pillows that are impossible to get comfortable on. At 3AM I finally used the comforter from one bed as a cushion on the other just to try to fall asleep before a body limb went numb or started hurting. At 4AM I opted to have a stuffy room as opposed to being awakened by the cheap wall unit AC rattling on every time I was ready to doze off. Then at 6AM all the hallway noise from other guests getting ready for their days started up. I literally had no sleep and I typically sleep in hotels just fine. As the final straw, I was just about to wash my tired, puffy face in the morning and realized I was staring into a mildew stained washcloth.

Room Tip: a good room would be at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wing_girl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spahl495, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We truly appreciate your concerns and will share them with our staff. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any challenges you experienced at our hotel. Your comfort is our top priority, we are very sorry that you did not experience a restful stay.
Our hotel will be undergoing a complete room renovation in the next couple of months. This includes brand new mattresses. We hope you will consider returning when the renovation is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
243 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I enjoyed staying in this courtyard location. The staff welcomed us warmly. The ferry is walking distance. It's easy access to Golden Gate Bridge and Sausalito and Petaluma to the north. The room size is quite big.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicaindonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larkspur
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
4.2 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County

Property: Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Address: 2500 Larkspur Landing Cir, Larkspur, CA 94939-1831 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Larkspur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Larkspur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Larkspur Landing San Francisco Bay Area Hotel Larkspur
Courtyard Larkspur
Larkspur Courtyard
Larkspur Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing